1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Advice on

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by KissSh0t, Apr 28, 2012.

  1. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    DDR3 1800 / 1600 RAM

    Hi guys, I'm a little lost here while looking at some new RAM for my system.

    Firstly my motherboard is "ASUS M4N68T-M-V2", cheap little thing but it's pretty nice, it only has 2 ram slots, so I'm only looking at a dual channel kit for this.

    When I built this PC I purchased slower ram than the motherboard is capable of running, I have been running 4GB of G.Skill ram "G.Skill F3-10666CL9D-4GBNQ (2x2GB)", but I'm starting to see that 4GB isn't enough for what I do, Some gaming and Adobe Photoshop.

    Because I'm in the Land of Oz, not America, I'm looking at this Australian online store www.pccasegear.com

    So far I am looking at these two DDR3 1600MHz kits.

    G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL 8GB (2x4GB) - http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=186_538_913&products_id=13931

    G.Skill Ares F3-1600C9D-8GAO 8GB (2x4GB) - http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=186_538_913&products_id=19632

    I'm a bit confused as to the difference between the two other than the heatsink being different.

    Then I just noticed while looking at my Motherboard box that it can run "DDR3 1800+" is what the sticker says, So I have started looking for DDR3 1800 ram

    And so I am looking at this, Is this DDR3 1800 RAM?? It says DDR3-1866 is that the same as 1800? >> G.Skill F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL 8GB (2x4GB) http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=186_538_913&products_id=18602

    Also this is my motherboard, I found the Newegg link for it so you can see the specs ASUS M4N68T-M V2 AM3 NVIDIA Geforce 7025/nForce 63...

    Any sort of advice would be greatly appreciated, I'm looking to spend under $80 Australian for 8GB of ram, a dual channel kit.

    Also.. cwap.. I scrwed up the title OTL
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2012
  2. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    10,000 (7.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25,397
    Either of those kits you first listed will do fine for you.

    AMD CPU's don't really like high ram overclocks (you can burn out the memory controller on the CPU going much higher than 1333). They do respond well to lower latency (cas 7 or 8).

    An 8GB DDR3 1600 kit (2x4GB) @ 9-9-9-24T 1.5v set at 1333 and 8-8-8-24T 1.5v will run very well on an AMD system.

    My $0.02
     
    KissSh0t says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you very much for the response.. I have something to think about now : >
     
  4. Yo_Wattup New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Messages:
    790 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    If you were on an intel system I'd tell you to go with 1600 but AMD benefits from faster memory more so you should go with the fastest memory you can afford. A G.Skill ripjaws 1866mhz CL9 or 10 kit would do nicely.
     
  5. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    1866mhz chips I have to chose from are..

    G.Skill F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL 8GB (2x4GB) = $65.00
    and
    G.Skill Ares F3-1866C9D-8GAB 8GB (2x4GB) = $75.00

    What Norton said about AMD memory controller burning up has me unsure what to get.

    So I was looking at these 1600MHz kits.

    G.Skill Ripjaws F3-12800CL9D-8GBRL 8GB (2x4GB) = $59.00
    and
    G.Skill Ares F3-1600C9D-8GAO 8GB (2x4GB) = $59.00

    What is the difference between the Ares and the Ripjaws? is it just the heatsink design?
     
  6. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    586 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Grab those and save yourself $10, unless you require low-profile heatsinks. Only real difference is heatsinks. Timings are otherwise identical.

    G.Skill F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2012
    KissSh0t says thanks.
  7. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you for the reply and also the link to the review.
     
  8. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    586 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    The only scenario I can see, that would leave with with a 'burnt out' memory controller, would be if you attempted to increase the voltage too much, to reach a speed over 1333MHz, with chips that don't support a SPD greater than 1333MHz, at stock voltage. If anything were to go wrong, it would be general system stability, so make sure you stress test with Prime95, etc. If the user sticks under 1.5v to achieve 1866MHz (or 1600MHz), I would see it unlikely you'd be left with a paper weight.

    If KissSh0t feels uncomfortable attempting to reach 1866MHz, there is always the option of decreasing G.Skill F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL modules down to 1600Mhz and running them on tighter timings; I would imagine they could handle 8-8-8-24. Worse case they'd run at 9-9-9-24 @ 1600Mhz, but they'd still have a lower latency that 1333MHz @ 8-8-8-22 timings.
     
    cadaveca and KissSh0t say thanks.
  9. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Thank you for the reply, what Norton said had me a bit worried..

    I do not plan to overclock the memory, I just want to get some nice fast ram that will be better than what I already have.

    Thanks Naito, very informative.
     
  10. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,604 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,566
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I am using the G.Skill Ares in my x6 system and love it.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    10,000 (7.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25,397
    Faster ram is OK as you can always downclock and tighten the timings but I wouldn't go over DDR3 1600, Cas 8 or 9, 1.5v unless you plan on reusing the ram for a future upgrade

    Do a little research on ram speeds for your setup- the memory controller on a Phenom II (PII) is 1333Mhz... anything faster is overclocked and can stress the memory controller and performance with higher speed is not much of an improvement on these.

    A lower latency and a faster Northbridge (NB) frequency will improve your performance on a PII. There are some good threads here regarding overclocking a PII. A quick search should give you plenty of info (Phenom II overclockers club thread is a good place to start).
     
    ThE_MaD_ShOt says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,604 (4.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,566
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    What Norton said. I am running mine at 1333.
     
    Norton says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    586 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    To sum up my advice on the G.Skill F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL; basically I'm saying this will give you the option to run at 1866MHz, if not in your current system, but in a future rig. If you do go ahead with these, they should allow you to reach CL8 or CL9 timings @ 1600MHz or, if you're lucky, CL7 @ 1333MHz, at stock voltage. This would be my personal choice.

    From PCCG, and following Norton's advice, maybe look at this kit; G.Skill Ripjaws X F3-10666CL7D-8GBXH. Same speed as your current DDR3, but with tighter timings. If you want something with a little higher frequency , you could look at; G.Skill Ripjaws X F3-12800CL8D-8GBXM. This kit is more expensive, but is guaranteed to run CL8 @ 1600MHz. It all really depends on how happy you are at tweaking timings.

    Why G.Skill? Excellent prices, great compatibility, and lifetime warranty.

    Hope this helps.
     
    Norton says thanks.
  14. nleksan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Ohio
    In my experience, AMD CPUs seem to perform better with more RAM at the slower rated speed than less RAM at a higher speed. Meaning, I believe you would benefit more from 4x4GB or even 4x8GB DDR3 1600 than 2x4GB/4x2GB/4x4GB DDR3 1866/2133.
    More memory with the tightest timings you can manage would be my suggestion, and if you can get 16GB 1600 down the CL8 or even 7, it will perform much better than 2133 at CL11...
    Correct me if I am wrong, though, I am not an expert.
     
  15. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    586 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    KissSh0t originally posted he didn't want to spend more than $80AU, even the cheapest 16GB options cost $100+ for 1333MHz CL9, before moving onto 1600MHz CL9. Not sure about the AM3 platform, but I'd go faster, tighter timings, rather than more, slower memory.

    I've gone two G.Skill F3-14900CL9D-8GBXL kits for my Ivy Bridge rig; cost of $130 (PCCG).
     
  16. nleksan

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    239 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Ohio
    Sorry about that, I should have checked the prices in Australia!
     
  17. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    @ nleksan, 8GB would be the sweet spot for me, Due to my motherboard only having 2 ram slots I can't just buy two more of the same kit, I need to buy a new kit.

    The .TIFF files of my drawings in Adobe Photoshop are just exceeding 3GB in file size, while I can work on files that size currently, although a little slowly, doubling what I have will speed things up, 16GB is way too much overkill for what I want to do.

    Also I read that 1GB video card benefits from having more than 4GB ram, games like Battlefield 3, correct me if I am wrong though.

    After reading everyone's response I think I will go with the "G.Skill Ripjaws X F3-10666CL7D-8GBXH (2x4GB)" >> http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=186_912&products_id=16929

    They have 7-7-7-21 timing at 1333MHz, I figured seeing as my CPU is overclocked I had better keep the memory within spec of the CPU.

    Thanks everyone for all the responses, you have been very helpful ( ・ ◡ ・)ノ

    @ Naito, G.Skill is really nice ram, I would recommend it to anyone.

    Once I get my new ram kit I think I will take a picture of the inards of my little system so I can end the thread with a picture xD
     
  18. Norton

    Norton WCG-TPU Team Captain

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    10,000 (7.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25,397
    Nice kit :toast: Timings should do well with your system! Your motherboard max is 8GB so 16GB was out of spec for your system and likely your budget.

    You will definitely feel the difference in going from 4GB to 8GB in your day to day tasks and BF3 likes ram so adding more will improve your game performance as well.

    Good luck with the kit and post back when you get it installed to share how well it does in your rig.
     
    KissSh0t says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Naito

    Naito

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    586 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Looks like I misread too :/ Sorry about that.

    In my old Q9550 rig, I threw in an extra 2GB stick of DDR2 800, and I saw a noticeable difference in overall system performance. So yeah, going from 4GB, which Vista or 7 would fill up quite quickly, even on idle, to something like 8GB, should give you a nice performance boost.

    That would be awesome :cool:
     
    KissSh0t says thanks.
  20. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2012
    Messages:
    114 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Canada
    Just wanted to say I got the RAM Kit, and I am very happy with it so far.

    They are running perfectly fine at 1333MHz 7-7-7-21 @1T 1.5v

    I will have to take some pictures when I have my system turned off and open again~
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page