1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Afox 7850 LP

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Outback Bronze, Sep 20, 2012.

  1. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    528 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Hi guys. So i dogged myself a beefy afox low profile 7850 for my htpc. Problem is its getting extremely hot inside my miniscule case. Now im thinking about bios flashing the card to reduce the load stock voltage. Do you guys think there will be any dangers involved?
    Ive taken some pictures for you to have a look at. Also notice the "Subvendor" is undefined.

    [​IMG]
    Idle
    [​IMG]
    Load
    [​IMG]

    Seems to me the stock load voltage is vey high. Ive already download a few 7850 bios that seem to be reference but im undecided on which one. Some advice will be handy. Thanks.
     
  2. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    528 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Update. I am unable to bios flash due to diffrent device id.

    Has anybody here had any joy in undervolting there 7850s via 3rd party apps? Coz i am unable to do so.

    I have tried msi ab, asus gpu tweak, sapphire trixx and his turbo all to no avail.

    I really need to undervolt to keep my temps at bay. Thanks.
     
  3. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    520
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    70° isn't that bad. However, it might be more than that. If you click on that down arrow on GPU-z that is right beside the temp reading you will see max temp.

    I don't get worried until over 85°. I'm guessing that fan speed at 81% doesn't sound too good.
     
  4. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,920 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,600
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Considered using MSi Afterburner and trying to lower the voltage that way? As far as I know, AMD signs parts of the BIOSes as well, making the driver not load if you edit those parts of the BIOS. Software tweaking would be the way to go in my opinion, unless your card uses an unsupported voltage controller.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  5. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    528 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Yes i have tried msi and voltage control is unavailable.

    Also my temps have gone to 85 playing crysis. What im showing you there is the load voltage. It it too high for default voltage.
     
  6. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,180
    Location:
    Oregon
    Why don't you just go into CCC Overdrive and just under clock the card and turn the fan to 100%

    [​IMG]
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    [​IMG]

    Looks like it has a pretty good little cooler on it. Got any pics of the inside of the case?
     
  8. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,077 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    520
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    Another thing I would do, would be to change the stock TIM.
     
    m1dg3t says thanks.
  9. Outback Bronze

    Outback Bronze

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    528 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    At the Pub
    Its a HTPC case so its very small.

    I dont want to underclock it that would be taking away performance. Plus i already did to 750mhz and it didnt do much for temps.

    Im guessing there is not much support for it via 3rd party apps.

    I also read of people only using 1.0v at stock values. This would make it extremely cooler!

    Guess ill just have to wait for better support.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page