1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

After 4 years...its upgrade time!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by happita, Nov 15, 2011.

  1. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Got my system in early 2008 and it has served me well over the years. Now I'm looking to upgrade to a Sandy Bridge + MB combo.
    My only concern is the data I have on my HDD.
    I'm selling my MB to somebody on here, so it will render the rest of my system useless. I'm going to sell the CPU and RAM later.
    My question is, will I need to do a fresh install of Windows 7 64-bit? Or will all I need to do is drop my HDD in the new setup and it will boot up fine?
    I'm scared I might lose some very important data, and that's a big no-no. Any thoughts or suggestions?

    Last but not least, I need a CPU + MB + RAM to not go over $350....I can POSSIBLY stretch it to $400 if need be.


    MY NEEDS:
    2500k/2600k
    8GB DDR3
    P67/Z68 MB
    Crossfire/SLI not a concern
    Able to support FULL SPEED SATA 6Gb/s SSD based on Sandforce controllers
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2011
  2. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    fresh install.

    it is possible to swap drives. it rarely works. in the more than 20 times i have tried it has simply worked once, every other time there were issues with drivers, etc. The small amount of time you think you'll save isn't worth it, and an external drive or second internal is the safer way to backup data than on your os hard drive. You can get an externall hdd case and a good hdd for less than $60, and then just copy your files to it, and do a fresh install.
     
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,594 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,222
    Backup your data and make a fresh install. That's what I would do anyway.
     
  4. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Ok. I will probably just go ahead and backup the data on an external right now.

    So, any suggestions or deals on good CPU + MB combos? What about RAM in regards to SB, what speed and timings should I get?
     
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Works fine in Win7, I and a lot of others have done it multiple times and have had no issues when doing it. So it is upto you, if you were running XP I would say no way in hell can you do that with F**** it all up but in Win7 it's really not an issue. Shut down, swap out hardware, power on, windows loads the chipset drivers (recommended to load the latest ones after this though) and voila
     
  6. BlackOmega

    BlackOmega

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2009
    Messages:
    624 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Michigan, USA
    Yep, fresh install will be a must. The only way you can get away with not having to do that is swapping a hard drive to a virtually identical motherboard.
    So if you're going from an LGA 775 rig to a SB rig, nothing is going to work, if you can even get into the OS, it'll probably crash as soon as it tries to load the drivers.

    Backup all your critical data, and start anew.
     
    happita says thanks.
  7. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    I do not agree. you can take the chance if you want but i have had problems with windows 7 as well, especially going from different board series.

    you may think it works fine NdM but i can GUARANTEE you your machine is not performing optimally. a more specific number of how many times you've accomplished this problem free would be cool. vague "lots of people lots of times" comments make me uneasy ;)

    there is also the consideration of license - a licensed version will have to be activated. if it is oem that will fail, if it was already activated too many times it will fail, and then your copy will no longer be genuine and will be unusable as an os drive until formatting, though your data will still be there.

    i promise you guys, i am not a by the book tech - i take chances and go for the easy route provided it's not too risky - from experience swapping drives works much less often than it fails, and if you want to risk everything on that have fun ;)
     
    happita says thanks.
  8. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Ok guys. I got it, I have to backup everything important.

    Onto what I want now.


    I'm not looking to go over the $350 mark, I do some mild overclocking, I got my e8400 to 3.4GHz with stock voltage/cooling. With SB I will most definitely ramp that up a bit more. Probably get it to 4.5GHz at the most, probably more like 4.2GHz 24/7 stable.

    Still undecided whether or not I want a 2500k or 2600k and motherboard-wise, I know I want a Z68, but I don't know from what brand. Help me out :)
     
  9. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    from what i've read other people say, 2500k is the sweet spot for gaming especially. i've been out of circulation since i got my i7, so i really can't help on new models and prices. there are tons of guys here who can though. if you don't get an answer right now bump it again with an update a little later today to get more views. now is a quiet time. :)
     
  10. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,633 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,392
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    I have a C2D E8600@ ~4.3 24/7. I'm still holding out for Ivy.

    When I do, it'll be a complete, fresh OS install. Just switching MB's can be a major problem beacause of peripheral hardware and drivers loaded.
     
  11. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    I think I know how my pc runs better than you my friend and there is absolutely no issues with it, so unless you have something to back up your guarantee then it's no more than words on the internet. Again it's your preference, however I have done it many times and there is no issue, nor is there any issue with having to reactivate it.

    I am not saying he should do this, I am saying there is no issue in doing it, whether he does it or you want to start doing it is upto you, but it works flawlessly everytime I have.

    No wonder, are you still rocking XP Sasqui? it's a no no for anything other than 7, believe me I have tried :roll:
     
  12. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    745 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    In almost 4 years you never did a fresh install?
    Wow your rig is probally slow as shit, i do a fresh install every 3 to 4 months
    I don't like slow os, and i also have a ssd
    Just grap a 2500k a nice p67 mobo and some corsair or ripsjaws 8gb 1600mhz 1,5v c8/c9 ram also get a small ssd like 60-80 gig and use your current drive as a storage drive
     
  13. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    again vague numbers. every time, many times. that doesn't inspire confidence, and that's the main reason i question. that and the fact that i know it doesn't always work by experience.

    i'm not trying to get into a chest beating match, i AM saying i do this professionally, and have tried with over 20 machines, probably many more. at least 6-8 being windows 7 machines. much more often than not it fails. and even when it works, the system has chipset drivers installed that aren't for that hardware, and that at the least lowers efficiency, and at the most can cause serious conflicts.

    and i'm saying there is issue, it's not opinion but experience. you are saying you have never experienced a problem swapping a w7 install, i am saying i have. assuming we are both telling the truth, you simply haven't experienced a problem YET. to say there are no issues is dangerous as you are giving information out that CAN cause problems and you are proclaiming confidence that it can't. that is wrong. sorry.
     
  14. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Who ever said I never reformatted? Dam, my computer would be slower than molasses :laugh:
    I just want a new setup because I have a buyer who wants my x38 Maximus Formula. And I think its about time anyway, 4 years without any major upgrades except my video card is a long time(at least to me). When the money starts coming in, SSD will be the next step, I will leave my video card last for the final kaboom!

    There is definitely an advantage over the P67 from the Z68. I just don't know/remember what. But I do want a Z68 for sure if someone cares to refresh my memory :D


    Edit: Lets keep this on topic guys, I don't want this turning into a discussion on "oh yea?, I did it plenty of times"..."oh yea, prove it!"....kind of thing. Stay focused on me :D
    I also updated the OP, so check it out.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2011
    arnoo1 says thanks.
  15. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    dont think your going to be able to get SB with $350-400 :wtf:

    mb+ram+2600k is like around $550 2500k $450
     
  16. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    745 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    The difference between p67 and z68 is minor, on z68 you have ssd caching and you can you use the igp and oc your cpu, on p67 you cant use a igp but u can oc, and some other minor things i don't even know and i have a z68 board xd

    Also a 2600k is useless unless your edit video's and stuff
     
    happita says thanks.
  17. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Wow! Totally disagree on the forefront of a fresh install. All it takes is a motherboard cd and make safe mode your first boot. MIGHT need to reactivate Windows anyways. Have done this a couple times with an existing install, Intel ->AMD no less.

    @Dom

    Not if happita is wise and visits a micro center xD

    @Digibucc

    Was previously on a 2 year old install of Win 7(this has seen am2+ s775, s1155, am3), thinking I needed to reinstall because I was having an issue at first with the board swap(790x->970), here I did not and it was myself being careless with some bios settings.
     
    Last edited: Nov 15, 2011
  18. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    What do you mean vague numbers? I tell you what my man, how many times have you installed Windows over the last 2 years? if you can come up with anything but vague numbers I will pat you on the back.

    now I am sorry who is being vague.

    Again, this is my experience yes, if you can't comprehend that in my posts that is not my fault.

    When you start telling me IT WILL CAUSE YOU SERIOUS ISSUES and telling me how my PC must be running, I will respond, you never said maybe, or in my experience, which you should have. You declared your statement to be gospel, which I am sorry it's not.

    And I accept your apology.
     
  19. Thrackan

    Thrackan

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    3,482 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    656
    I see you are considering going the SSD route. In that case, a reinstall is already recommended just to profit from all the benefits an SSD has to offer.

    Short answer to your question is: It can be done, but I would not recommend it.

    Long answer:
    A full install is recommended because:
    - Full install will make sure Win 7 uses the right settings for your components.
    - Also, a fresh install will improve the "new PC experience" (imho)
    - A fresh install eliminates the bloat of unnecessary programs and startup items you may have accumulated over the past 4 years

    The other option is not guaranteed to work, but has its advantages too:
    - You do not have to backup your data (well, you always should, but that's not the point here)
    - Saves install time for both Win7 and programs/games

    So, ask yourself the following questions to make a decision:
    - Can I make, and do I want to make, the time for a full install?
    - Do I want to risk not being able to simply move my HDD, and having to do the reinstall anyway?
    - Do I have a backup plan if moving the HDD does not work?
    - Am I going to get an SSD?
     
  20. DOM

    DOM

    Joined:
    May 30, 2006
    Messages:
    7,552 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    828
    Location:
    TX, USA
    I ran a w7 install on p45-x58-p67-z68 in raid lol switched between p45-x58 a few times when benching the x58

    Finally did a new install when I deleted the partition on accident with the kids pics :( but got them back:)
     
  21. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Happita, It will be hard setuping up a SB for under 350$ :( Someone on the BST section has a 2600K for like 280$ used, I would start there then look for a used Z68 board. Ram is cheap so newegg has great setups for that!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. digibucc

    digibucc

    Joined:
    May 21, 2009
    Messages:
    4,922 (2.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    i said it would not perform optimally, i did not say it would cause you serious issues, i said it could.

    me warning against is safer, you promoting it without acknowledging the potential hazards is irresponsible. just because you have not experienced them does not mean they don't happen. do you not realize that your pushing of the idea so positively could cause problems and even data loss for people?

    @ nmd & jr

    i did not say it happens every time. i said it does happen, and is not worth the risk to me. but i also said you could have fun and try it if it's worth the risk to you.

    how anyone can think swapping an installation from one set of hardware to another CANNOT cause any problems, is beyond me. just because it worked the time you tried it, doesn't mean it always will. it has worked for me too, just not often enough to merit doing it.

    either way i'm done. good luck happita.
     
    JrRacinFan says thanks.
  23. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Actually, that is the exact route I was thinking of taking. There's 1 about 15 minutes from my house. They had an amazing deal a few days ago where they took off $60 off ANY 2500k + P67/Z68 combo. I WISH my buyer was interested in my x38 while the sale was going on :banghead: oh well.
     
  24. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Really have to agree about a SB setup with CPU/MB/RAM for under $ 350 being unlikely, a 2500k alone is most of your budget and then looking for 8 GB of DDR3 RAM (I assume you want good quality RAM) as well as a Z68 MB I would say you are looking at a minimum of "about" $400 depending on whether or not you find any good deals.
     
  25. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Ok, maybe I can shave off a few bucks by going the non-k route.

    The only difference from a non-k and k variant is the unlocked multiplier, yes?

    If so, how easy is it to overclock with a locked multiplier to let's say 4GHz with a 2500 or 2600? Having an unlocked CPU isn't going to break the deal for me.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page