1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AGP - Radeon HD 3850 - w00t

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Completely Bonkers, Jan 1, 2008.

  1. Completely Bonkers New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    2,580 (0.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    516
  2. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    be interesting to see how an agp one benches compared to whatever pci-e-XXXX we are on now..

    trog
  3. jamupnorth

    jamupnorth New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    280 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    What driver can be used with this card ?

    i don't think the radeon 7.12 supports agp ?
  4. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    i must buy :D
  5. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    And sir, your the one man here, that has waited, and waited for as long as I can remember, to get this card... I'm glad you don't have to wait anymore!!! Now, how much money....:confused:
    I believe thats where they are going to :nutkick:
  6. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    me?
  7. -=CrAnSwIcK=- New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2005
    Messages:
    74 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i ran my 3850 with the HT bus width at x8 up and down and i scored a mere 150 points lower in 3Dmark06...PCI-e frequency is only 33mhz faster than AGP...i can't see it being a HUGE bottle neck...mostly i would say only the CPU's that were comon when AGP was the standard would be to blame the most for any noticeable bottleneck...then again, i've never ran a 3850 on PCI-e 2.0 spec either :p
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,525 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,922
    I wouldn't buy this card untill there is a known working driver for it... Also, if you are using a NF3 chipset I wouldn't count on using this card with it and use Vista.
  9. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    I wouldn't buy this card.
    Too much of a bottleneck from most CPU's which use AGP motherboards.

    The Bottleneck of a P4 would be too much IMO.
    3850 AGP would possibly = 939 PCI-E motherboard and 3850 PCI-E
  10. KainXS

    KainXS

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2007
    Messages:
    5,600 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    501
    theres also the problem that this card will have a railto on the pcb which can result in alot of hot cards that are incompatible with many custom cooling solutions.

    remember the X1950XT AGP and the 7950GT AGP:banghead:
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,525 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,922
    I disagree, this would be the perfect card for anyone running a s939 agp board with a X2 processor. 3850 AGP if drivers are up to snuff does = 939 pci-e or possibly even an AM2 with a 3850.(excluding B.E.'s and anything that easily clocks over 3.2ghz.) The only problem is most people with decent s939 agp boards are using nForce 3. There are some ati and intel chipset agp boards out there,and then you have the far more common VIA. With VIA it's pointless because there's no AGP lock on the board. Without that your not going to be able to overclock the rest of your system to keep up with the card. Let's kill the maket together and buy Pci-e motherboards. :laugh: Ok, but if this card works for you, good luck!
  12. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    dont think that it wuld be good for a 939 system coz the agp boards are pretty crap ones hmmn the cpus on 939 can do fine with a 3850 but its that most are pci ex

    this card is only good for those that have a really top spec agp system and want to keep it this will possibly be the last agp card out

    agp is only good for those wanting to get more out of an old system
    id use a hd2xxx in my old system just for the media capability
  13. Xolair New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    298 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Finland.
    Heh, perhaps I should change from my current PCI-E card to one of these... 4x PCI-E might actually be slower than 8x AGP, or is it? :D
  14. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand

    How much more would this card be than the PCI-E version though?
    Remember the price difference between the PCI-E and AGP X1950pros?

    BTW K8T800pro VIA chipset does have a 'working' AGP lock.
    Well mine works anyway but the K8T800 does not.:shadedshu
  15. a-l-e-x New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2008
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    My 7950GT AGP works fine! :p I have a core2quad 6600 and 7950GT AGP and score around 5500 3DMarks06 with everything at stock. I wonder if the 3850 AGP would get me over 10,000?
  16. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    anny one found more hd3850 agp's for sale?
  17. trog100 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    4,420 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    237
    i think 4 x pci-e equals 8 x agp.. nothing maxed out 8 x agp when it was current pretty much like nothing maxes out 16 x pci-e now..

    trog
  18. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    C2Q + 7950GT? System specs please? I find that rather hard to believe... no chipset supports Kentsfield + AGP...
  19. Xaser04

    Xaser04

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    734 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
  20. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
  21. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    its true thx to asrock

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page