1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

ahci or raid

Discussion in 'Storage' started by nburkhalter, May 2, 2011.

  1. nburkhalter New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok here is the context. I just ordered a new laptop for work, an Alienware M17x, after I received it I replaced the original Hdd with a Plextor 128GB SSD, to run the OS, and programs, and added a 500GB Seagate hy-bread drive for data storage. I also upgraded to 16 GB of RAM. I have discovered that the machine well being a monster for internal work plays dead when i try to move files from my computer to my server (server 2008R2 virtualized) I end up running at speeds of a whopping 17 kbs. So in my searching i have discovered that the system is setup to run on raid configuration my thought is i should actually be using ahci as i as using the drives for 2 separate applications. Am i correct on this or does anyone have any other ideas?

    Thanks
    nburkhalter
  2. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Shouldn't make a difference.

    I'd look at your virtualized server. There has been times in the past where I've experienced dreadful performance with network performance in certain situations, like host to VM, but not VM to host for instance.

    What is setup like?
  3. nburkhalter New Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My new system is the only one having the issue we are running at least 15 win 7 systems no problem, so i highly doubt that the vm is the issue.
    nburkhalter
  4. Jizzler

    Jizzler

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2007
    Messages:
    3,404 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    Location:
    Geneva, FL, USA
    Were you able to locate the problem?

    RAID = AHCI, but with the ability to use RAID modes. In nearly all cases, I choose RAID mode even if I have a single disc initially so that the system is ready in case of future RAID needs.

    If there was a problem due to it, I'd would imagine that all disk performance would be poor as well.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page