1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ai Overvoltage Or Overclocking Failure

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by swinemulefoot, Oct 18, 2006.

  1. swinemulefoot New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have an Asus p5wd2, 2 gig OCZ PC 6400, PENT,D 805 WATERCOOLED! My board is about two weeks old, i have had the system overclocked to 4.1 ghz since the day i installed everything! Temps where i live have dropped so i decided to up the v-core,(1.5375) last night along with FSB and memory mhz to 195. The second i hit f10 then enter my system shut down. I have now managed to get all the overclocking (all settings) back to auto! My system still shuts down after 1 min of running(not under any type of load) It seems as if its stuck on the (ai overvoltage and or overclocking failure) problem! But why? I removed Ram 1 stick at a time to eliminate that, I have a Kingwin 600 watt pwr supply , EVGA 7900 VIDEO CARD.
    Is my MOBO bad or my 805? Please help.
    :rockout:
  2. strick94u

    strick94u New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    71
    Location:
    Texas
    porbly killed that poor lil chip tomshardware should have left that cat in the bag
  3. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Did you clear your BIOS to reset everything back to stock?
  4. swinemulefoot New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yes all settings are back to default. Thanks.
  5. Aevum New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    640 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Madrid, Spain
    dont use those automatic overclocking systems some makers include in the boards,
    overclocking is an art that requires fine tunning,
  6. swinemulefoot New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I figured out what failed. My water pump stopped working and caused my cpu to fry.
    Thanks for all the input.:banghead: :rockout:
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,291 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,194
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    :cry: My condolences... I've forgotten to plug the waterpump in and left the system running. Thank GOD the system shutdown was enabled - all was fine after cooling off, but my heart was pumping when I realized what happened (duh).
  8. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Rip 805 :(
  9. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,291 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,194
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    ... and hopefully not the Asus p5wd2.
  10. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    yeah. see children? this is EXACTLY why Ket doesnt mix water cooling with electronics.
  11. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,291 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,194
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Chicken ;)
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Agreed:roll:
  13. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    more i value my hardware :p and if i was to move from air id do it properly - sub zero temps :D
  14. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,117 (5.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Phase FTW
  15. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,291 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,194
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Well it's a philosphy... in general, people just think "water and computers" don't mix. I've had great luck, results and geeky fun.

    And I should add that I've almost fried two things with air cooling:

    1. An RX9800 when the fan didn't spin up (bad connection)
    2. A Cyrix PR200+, when I moved a wire and it blocked the fan

    So THERE :D
  16. swinemulefoot New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My p5wd2 still seems to be alive at this point, thank god.
    I would also like to thank DANGER DEN for there great support, they already responded about my pump failing (mag 2) and have offered to upgrade me to the new (d5)!:rockout:
    Intel already e-mailed the rma to warranty my cpu.
    I love to water-cool, first problem ever!
  17. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,291 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,194
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Most excellent, Smithers - happy endings... hope you can push the 805 replacement as high as the old - 4.1 is way impressive for an $85 chip!
  18. swinemulefoot New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    21 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ME TOO!! I ve seen posts with cpuz stating 4.5 with the v-core @ 1.67. Never got mine that high.:respect:
  19. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,291 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,194
    Location:
    Manchester, NH

    Unfortunately, it's 20% skill and 80% luck!
  20. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    lol :D i dont use water cos ive seen quality air vs top quality water, water just doesnt warrent the £££ for what little extra it gives, so ill stick to my "cheap" air, thats almost silent and much lighter on the wallet :D
  21. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,291 (2.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,194
    Location:
    Manchester, NH

    Chicken! :D I admit if I didn't get my rig so cheap, I'd have never gotten it, but now I'm hooked. Whenever I get new HW, I run in air mode first (to make sure it's all good) - then strap on the waterblock (CPU/GPU). Temp differences have never failed to amaze me - and ITS QUIET!!! (Shhh...)
  22. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    water just doesnt appeal to me :p i just cant justify the extra cost to performance ratio.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page