1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AirLive WMU-6500FS 3.5" Turbo-G Wireless HD + Downloader

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by Darksaber, Jul 24, 2007.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2007
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,105 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,167
    Is there a place to plug in the 40mm fan on the PCB, or do you have to use the molex connector provided for the hard drive for the fan too?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    815
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    The power cable can be unplugged from the PCB, so you could just replace it with one with two molex connectors and connect a fan that way.

    cheers
    DS
     
  4. Grings

    Grings New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,303 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    187
    Location:
    Blighty
    i saw asus's version of this and think its a great idea, i hate leaving one of my pc's on all the time running bittorrent, looks like it could be worth waiting for the technology to mature some more yet though (cooler running, and some kind of intergration with a bt client
     
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Think I spotted a typo. Isn't the wireless standard 802.11g, not 801.11g?

    Good review, btw.
     
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2007
  6. Dr_D_Doom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    where does one buy this amazing piece of awesomeness?

    Maybe Power Up will sell me their used one ;P
     
  7. KrisW New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Very good review, but can you tell me guys, where I can buy this product. I've searched the net, but none of the e-shops doesn't sell it.

    do you know any links to shops? Please help, I've just need to have it :)
     
  8. Dr_D_Doom New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    where to buy online

    I contacted the company and they gave me this link www.21byte.de for online purchases.


    enjoy
    doom
     
  9. KrisW New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thx Doom, I've just bought it. Page is only in Germen, so you need to know a bit of German to buy it :)
    I can't wait to receive the parcel.
     
  10. KrisW New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I've setup the Airlive, but there is one major problem - download assistant doesn't work in bit torrent. I mean, when I want to upload a link there is "page cannot be found", the status option is not working either. I've upgraded the firmware, but nothing happend, still can't upload the links for torents. Do you know how to fix it?
     
  11. xty New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai
    I got it one month ago but still sitting there on my desk with a brand new 500 GB SATA HD.
    I was about to throw away this box for some issues (useless manual, configuring wireless network was not easy, limited file systems support, useless disk utility, and lack of support from AirLive) ....until I saw this review.

    I saw "ntfs" in one of the picture above. Are you sure that it support NTFS? Because the manual doesn't say anything about it. If yes, THAT IS REALLY COOL AND THAT'S WHAT I'M LOOKING FOR!!! :respect:


    I haven't tried myself to make partitions out of the box. I thought I could use the built-in Disk Utility / FDISK. But NOOOO!!! It supports (also according to manual) only EXT2 file system and FAT32 (which until now I don't know how to use that piece-of-junk mkdosfs.exe downloaded from the site. I assume to run into the box's DOS/command line mode somehow, but how???). Tried asking the support, but no help :mad:

    Maybe I could have make partition and format it out of the box. But what if I don't have a normal HD enclosure and a PC? If they think making ONE PARTITION OF 500GB WITH EXT2 FILE SYSTEM is Ok, they got to be kidding me!!!
     
  12. xty New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dubai
    I've made some tests... it does NOT support NTFS !!!. The photos above are misleading!

    After partitioning & formatting with NTFS in a regular SATA enclosure, and then put it back to AirLive box, I can't copy any file to the drive (access violation). When I checked through FTP, it sets the partitions to read only (r-xr-xr-x). I can't seem to change/chmod either.

    I thought it's because the Guest mode. I tried to change to Authorization mode, but it asked the drive to have Private partition (means back to square one as if I use the built-in FDISK utility), which I don't want.

    Then I make FAT32 partitions (using Partition Magic), now I can copy any file without problems.

    At least I can use it now, but certainly I wouldn't buy again.
     
  13. spanish_biker79 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

    Hi m8, can you create several partitions (EXT2 and FAT32) with the built-in tools? If not, I think I must create one partition of 500GB with EXT2. Why wouldn't you create that?
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,105 (6.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,167
    It can read ntfs, but not write ntfs. The picture showing ntfs is just the screen showing what partitions are on the drive. Obviously, the reviewer put an ntfs drive in the enclosure for testing.

    The specs on the first page of the review clearly state what file systems are supported.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page