1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Albatron K8SLI

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Jul 4, 2005.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,647 (3.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,387
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2005
  2. Unregistered Guest

    K8sli supposed 3 pin Power LED

    Hi I know it is only a small issue but on the albatron website for the K8Sli, it states that the 'board has "1 x 3 pin Power LED header" (http://www.albatron.com.tw/english/it/mb/specification.asp?pro_id=190)
    However on tryin to install the mobo into my new case I discovered a distinct lack of said 3 pin power LED header. Going crazy trying to find it I found this enlarged picture of it (http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Albatron/K8SLI/images/board_fullsize.jpg) which shows no 3 pin header

    however the Albatron PX925XE Pro-R does have a 3 pin LED header and this is clearly visible in this picture (http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Albatron/PX925XE/images/board_fullsize.jpg)

    What happened to the 3pin power led header for the k8sli???

    and more importantly what is the best way to connect the case's 3 pin connector to the k8sli's 2 pin power led header?

    thanks
    josh
  3. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    Interesting.. it does have a 2 pin..

    Perhaps if you have some old parts laying around, grab a 2 pin header, and change the wires? :) Ive got tons around, so it would ne np for me..
  4. Unregistered Guest

    I'm thinking of buying one of these paired up with a X2 4400+ but according to the website the motherboard requires a bios update to support dual core. Would I even be able to run the chip on the motherboard without the bios update, so I can flash the bios (and the backup bios later if its all good)?
  5. Vidko

    Vidko New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello! I am new in this forum as you can see:D

    If anyone is using this mobo i would be very grateful for any tips regarding my problem.

    The spacifications on the official page say that only radeon x300 is not supported.
    Well the problem is that i tried with a radeon x600 and it still didn't work!!
    I am in a process of buying a new graphic card and i want to be 100% sure which cards are supported, so any of you who have this board and are using a radeon with it please post a reply!!

    Thanks!
  6. exiledconnections New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    albatron k8sli 939 x2 bios update

    hello i bought this board a year ago and just got around to installing it i put an amd athlon x2 64 4200 processor in it and the bios doesn't reconize it and it turns out i don't have the abs card either does anyone know where i can find one or a way to flash the bios update with out the card please help
  7. Vidko

    Vidko New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What is you current BIOS version? I too was intending to do a bios update but sadly i foud out that the last version ( official version ) , that is 1.12, was already on the board?
    Anyway it is possible to update without the card!
  8. exiledconnections New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    albatron k8sli 939 x2 bios update

    its r1.00 i belive
  9. Vidko

    Vidko New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Then i suggest you visit this LINK
    , download the latest bios and upgrade it:)
  10. exiledconnections New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    albatron k8sli bios update

    i did that and all it does is flash some ms dos stuff and tell me im missing a file in my temp folder
  11. exiledconnections New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    albatron k8sli 939 x2 bios update

    when i select run as it says a temprary file is needed for the intialization could not be created or could not be written to. makesure that the directory path exists and disk space is available
  12. Vidko

    Vidko New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I hope u ure doing it the right way! :)
    I suggest u read this yust in case, maybe it will help you...LiINK
  13. exiledconnections New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    albatron k8sli bios update

    got it to work this round thanks alot ^_^
  14. Vidko

    Vidko New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Np!;) And does your dual core work now with the new bios?
  15. exiledconnections New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    albatron k8sli 939 x2 bios update

    yeah even shows both cores in the task manager yay was thinkin about just buying a new board because of that
  16. Vidko

    Vidko New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2007
    Messages:
    18 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Nice! Every new information is welcome:)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page