1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Alcpone's Official 3DMark '06 Compilation

Discussion in 'General Software' started by jbunch07, Sep 24, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,568 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,435
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Thats a nice score but if you dont mind me saying....it should be more?? I got higher than that with a 260 and a Yorkfield......have you tweaked Windows?
  2. Tatty_One

    Tatty_One Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    16,568 (5.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,435
    Location:
    Worcestershire, UK
    Quick question for someone please........I have never run Crossfire before and am just about to, with overclocking in Rivatuner does it overclock both cards at the same time if you get my meaning?
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    you can choose which card you want from the drop down list and then OC as you would a single card.
    Tatty_One says thanks.
  4. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    tweaked windows? I'm not sure I understand... I'm just running Vanilla Vista 64bit
  5. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Tweaking Windows as in, disabling unnecessary services, deleting unnecessary files. Moving your page file fr better performance, that sort of thing.

    y'might find this interesting if you want to know more.
  6. NinkobEi

    NinkobEi

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,045 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    do those winXP tweaks work with vista?
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    +1 :p I read their vista tweak section as well and most of it is totally bad :(

    :EDIT: Also if we all had cards like Tatty's 260 then nVidia be kings of the universe.
  8. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
  9. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    That doesn't work on Intel platforms. Been there, tried that.
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  10. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    thanks dude, I was not sure myself, would have been nice though :)
  11. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    What d'you mean by totally bad?
  12. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    to all of you i7 users....
    run 06 with C-state disabled....
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  13. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    The tweaks they offer aren't ALL great, and they don't have many for performance in 3D environments. I mean UAC, disabling extra processes, and other stuff like that I thought was common place. Everything like... changing registry entries can be potentially fatal to a benching PC as the tweaks will most likely cause instability when running intensive programs.

    They mention most of the tweaks are for PCs that are used in the office so they can boot/close faster and don't take too long to seek files. Those tweaks (when tested) dropped my 3D mark score by a couple thousand points. Not impressed :(

    I think Tatty was just bragging... I mean his GTX 260 was OCed (stable) to 800 on the core and 1600 on the shader core!!! I don't care... that beats a GTX280 hands down. I even recognize that there is not much of a difference between the cards themselves. It's amazing to see those clocks since mine would scream after pushing 730/15xx/1280

    Good recommendation Giorgos! I've already done that but it should help people who have not :)
  14. giorgos th.

    giorgos th. New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    117
    Location:
    Athens - Hellas
    first of all when you have a bench OS you do not have anything enabled....
    floppy,unnesessary sata,sound,ethernet etc etc.....
  15. dark2099

    dark2099

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    4,398 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    755
    Location:
    where everyone wants to be
    Add This

    Crossfire action.

    [​IMG]
  16. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    i'll get you dark.... EDIT: you covered your clocks in the screenshot dark...wtf?


    its a red vs green showdown


    [​IMG]
  17. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Add this

    20912
    Core i7 920 @ 3.8GHz
    SLI 8800GT @ 680/1000

    Vanilla Vista x64, not tweaked.

    [​IMG]
  18. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Good run Kid,
    tried brinding the cards up a bit more??
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,107
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    +1 on that. try 725 on the gpu core.
  20. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    2nd!

    I agree, I wouldn't be surprised if you could get 700MHz core tbh. Good luck!
  21. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    3DMark 2006 would crash if the GPU clock higher than 680/1000 (NVIDIA driver stopped working blah blah), but in Vantage it could run at 715/1000.

    I could run 3dmark 2006 @ 720/100 with the 169.xx drivers, but anything after that version is no go, same shit with Vantage -_-.
  22. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    I'm having the same problem with my rig, drivers stopped working etc etc. Maybe its time for me to get the new drivers.
  23. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,486 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Dang! Experimented with the new betas yet?
  24. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Not yet, but what I know is, with the 169.xx I could run tests at 720/100, but my GPU score never get any higher than ~10,050. With the new 177.xx or 180.xx, I could get to ~10,200 at 680/1000.

    Both were test with my old Phenom.
  25. Bytor

    Bytor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Please Update...

    On a single 3870x2...

    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page