1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Aliens vs. Predator: DX11 Hardware not found issue

Discussion in 'Games' started by Crusader, Feb 19, 2010.

  1. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Game's not detecting DX11 hardware, numerous people are having this issue. Apparently it's a ATI driver issue and rolling back to 9.11 fixes..? So I've heard at least, anyone know any truth to this?
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,678 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    subscribing to see what comes of this
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    There are numerous complaints with this game. Most of them (from what I can see) are from 64bit users. Coincidence? Not likely IMO.
  4. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Yeah now I'm getting almost constant crashing while accessing the Steam Overlay ingame. I really can't wait until the next OS when (from what I've heard) they completely excommunicate 32bit; 64bit only games ftw?
  5. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Is that an old games?

    Did you look for a game patch?
  6. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    ... It's the new AvP (also known as AvP2010) which was released a couple days ago, so no, there isn't any patches yet lol.
  7. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Then wait a little more... either for a new drivers (10.3) or a game patch will come soon enough hopefully...

    Unless someone can come up with a "fix" before then?

    You could run the game in DX10 or DX9 until a fix comes out...
  8. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I doubt there is a user fix for this game. The issues I've read are mostly coming from 64bit OS users. It may have something to do with the game's .exe going into low priority (from the complaints I've read) but IMO that would mean that the .exe would switch from normal to low priority while gaming.
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2010
  9. wahdangun

    wahdangun New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,512 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    114
    Location:
    indonesia ku tercinta
    WHAT ?? AVP already out!!!, please post a screen shot, i want to see DX 11 in action
  10. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal
    Apparently it's not 64bit OS related or windows 7 either , must be something with the game , i would said just play with the games in DX9 & wait for a patch to come out

    http://forums.sega.com/showthread.php?t=315396
  11. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    I don't think it has anything to do with DX11 or DX9 as users on both side are having issues. Over on the steam forums they are collaborating with each other that the common theme is 64bit OS. Which is were I am getting the information from. In any case as I've said before there is probably no user fix. They will have to patch it up.
  12. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    I am, still looks good, but I would like my AA and enhanced shadows now (yes you HAVE to be running DX11 to get AA :banghead:).


    No can do, read the name of the thread; AvP: DX11 hardware not found issue. Aka very few people can run it in DX11. Yes you can run the DX11 exe fine, but you won't get DX11 features and you'll get a rather unstable game.

    For regular screenshots though, go here. Those are from the demo, but I'm going to be posting some more from the full game from the Alien campaign.
  13. liviuttn

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Romania
    Avp2010

    My Avp 2010 works perfectly! I have ATI 5770 and 10.2 catalyst!Run flawlesy!
  14. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    828 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    Not one issue since I installed it. Running windows 7 64bit. ATI DX11.
  15. Stonesour767

    Stonesour767 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    182 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I wish I had a DX11 capable card, just for this game. All you lucky buggers get to view it in awesome-o dx11
  16. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    What Catalyst drivers are you running?

    :banghead:

    Most of us don't get to "view it in awesome-o dx11" even though we're running DX11 systems, that's the whole point of this thread... second person now, lol.


    Anyway, just finished all three campaigns on hard, graphics weren't anything to complain about with DX9, excluding the occasional object which really badly needed AA (DX11 only feature according to Rebellion, sigh).

    Has anyone confirmed 10.2 drivers fixing this issue yet?
  17. Saakki

    Saakki New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    301 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Finland
    Blimey ..i bought 4890 for bargain some days ago ..10.1 dx only ..oh well will see bout the 5xxx series :pimp:
  18. domy85

    domy85

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2008
    Messages:
    828 (0.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    62
    Location:
    Chicago
    10.2. Everyone talks about a fix with them, but I havnt had one issue.
  19. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Alright, I'm going to give them a try and see how well it goes.
  20. saikamaldoss

    saikamaldoss New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    197 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    India (Chennai)
    Try to run game exe in vista SP2 compatibility mode man :) all the best
  21. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Yeah 10.2 still shows up as "DX11 hardware not found", sigh. And how is running a DX11 game in Vista compat going to make it work? :s
    saikamaldoss says thanks.
  22. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,505
    Hey guys take a look at this and see if it helps or not.
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,678 (11.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,210
    tried updating directX?
  24. Crusader

    Crusader New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Messages:
    458 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Victoria, Australia
    Nice find, waiting for them to send me the email - just got it.



    Naturally. Mine's Feb 5th I believe, afaik that's the latest.
  25. saikamaldoss

    saikamaldoss New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    197 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    Location:
    India (Chennai)
    kurosagi01 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page