1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

All AM2 Owners: Need advice MOBO for 5400+BE Chip

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by pepsi71ocean, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    Hey all,


    I'm looking to make am AMD build. this is just for playing games, and surfing the web. I have an Intel Rig at my house and i'm looking to help AMD out. That and i want to just have a second computer for the hell of it. So im calling on all AMD oweners to help out with their suggestions.

    Here is the cpu 5400+ BE

    I'm looking for a mobo that will allow the chip to hit 3.4 ish. And higher if possible, just for and AMD rig bragging rights. It will be a time build as i'm not in a big rush, but im going to build it in stages. I have a case, and dvd drives and what not left over from a previous computer that i will use for a case, dvd drives, floppies etic.

    thanks for your time guys!
  2. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    That's a good chip, but i doubt you'll get it to 3.4 on air, if you want above 3.4, i'd get 6400 BE, i've seen people taking them to 3.5. As for mobo, those 790GX boards look sweet, also Asus or DFI 790FX boards are good, but if i was buying i'd get a 790GX w/ SB750.
  3. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    do you have a newegg link for that mobo?
  4. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,072 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
  6. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    im sticking with the one chip, unless i can find the 6400+BE on the egg, although i guess 3GHz on a 5400+BE would be suffice.
  7. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    you can take 5400+ BE to 3.2, which good for that chip. its basically the same chip as my fx-62 just with smaller cache and i have mine at 3.0 w/ Zalman 9500. It looks like 6400 BE is no longer sold at egg or many other stores, but you can still find it around and plus there is ebay. they do have the regulat non-BE 6400 at tigerdirect for 149.99.
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2008
  8. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    i was thinking of a S1284, or a S1283 for a cooler, i have my Q6600 under a S1284 at 3.6Ghz stable. I know amd's run hot, but my Quad runs hot as well. I agree 3.2Ghz should be a really good overlclock, ive though about dropping my quad down lower than 3.6 as well.

    So many choices for a mobo, i'll have to go for a look on all of them, unless you have any suggestions im thinking a DFI board, but im still tosses about a choice.
  9. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
  10. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    Does DFI plan to release a 790GX series board?
  11. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,003 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    you will want a larger cache cpu it really helps with AMDs, i have a x2 5000+BE its got l2 512 per cpu so you wnat a 1mb cache per cpu

    those chips with E on them are really good too
  12. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
  13. nanohead New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Yeah, I called motherboard pro (which is has some kind of good relationship with DFI) and they said the 790GX DFI LP JR boards should be in sometime in early september. Not sure if I can wait that long (i'm already getting chest pains cuz I want a SB750 :rockout: ). I hope its sooner than that, but that was what they said last week.

    DFI definitely takes their time. I have the 790FX-M2R for my gamer rig, and it is solid as a battle tank. I'll definitely buy their SB750 version when they start shipping.

    I may just buy the Gigabyte 790GX board
  14. nanohead New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Heck, I ran a 5000BE at 3.2 all day long on air in a Gigabyte 780G S2H board. I gotta believe that those 5400s are worth an extra 200mhz.
  15. panchoman

    panchoman Sold my stars!

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    9,595 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,200
    get a biostar board. they are totally kick ass :rockout: use the chipset that you think will work the best for you.
  16. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    As for advice I would wait on the Motherboards for another month....Look up the ASUS M3A79-T this is a M3A32-MVP with the SB750 and it will not have on board graphics,:toast:

    It will do crossfire at X16 on the 2 blue ports and not x8 like the cheap low end 790GX;)
  17. nanohead New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2007
    Messages:
    122 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Unless you want to power a submarine nuclear plant, whether its x16 or x8, doesnt matter. Exactly the same performance. In fact, dual x8 seem to be faster much of the time. This has been measured by lots of folks. x16 is just for show
  18. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,005 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    453
    Location:
    Venus, Texas
    I 3rd the cache thing. Go for an AMD dualy that has 2mb L2. Last year in november i bought an ECS 5600+ AM2 combo from Frys with some DDR2. It was a mistake cause it acted just like my 4200+ except it was 2.8 stock compared to my OC. Im sure you can find a regular 6000+ that will OC to 3.4 thats cheaper than the standard 6400+.
  19. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    If u want 790FX chipset i would urge you to think otherwise, unless u can find one that has SB700 on it... i doubt they made 790FX + SB700 combination....
    SB600 is a crap, and it heats like crazy, definately not for overclocking, and it's buggy all the time... also the drivers are crappy too :)

    I myself own the DFI 790FX-M2RS and i'm very,very happy with it... if you can't wait for 790GX go for this one, or you can prolly get the better one 790FX-M2R which is awesome for overclocking...

    As for the 6400+ BE that people mention, can't shed any light on that one until tommorow - the fabulous day that i get my HR-01 Plus from thermalright... altho i did get 3.33Ghz (215x15.5) on stock cooler at default voltages... seemed to runn pretty good with idle temps only 1-2C higher than 3.2GHz

    Also the 790FX-M2RS (M2R) has 3x PCIe slots (16x/16x/4x) so u can actually do 3-way CF on it... wich i will probably test on monday (3870+3870+3850) and post some results in the forum :D
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    get a biostar TA790GX best board out right now for oc'ing your dualie and it is possible to get 3.4ghz on it i got it on my 5000BE

    [​IMG]

    suicide run on air but stable under water, that was done with a MSI K9A2 platinum 790FX board with that "shitty" SB600 ;)
  21. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    Hmmm maybe it's just my SB600, but i got random crap from it... drivers uninstalling by itself.. but that just might be the XP version i got :D
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    mine work just fine infact im on the SB600 section of my board now and its never had an issue
  23. miloshs

    miloshs New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    364 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Serbia
    Hmm, might be just the XP... i'm planning a reinstall very soon, so i'll see if that helps...
    Now that i think of it, my PC worked just fine on my 1st system install, the problems came later - a week later
  24. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    ARH Why do you guys not understand the 790GX is the lower end chip.AMD has said the 790FX is top of the line.That M3A79-T has the SB750 chip instead of the old SB600 that is on mine.That chip(sb750) lets the Phenoms use the ACC function in AOD.
  25. pepsi71ocean New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,471 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    125
    Location:
    The Peoples Republic of New South Jersey
    Hey im back, thanks for all the feed back. I will look around for a 6000+, the l2 cache thing does come to mind now.

    I though that the GX would be newer than the FX series, and on board graphics would be a no so wanted thing, so i'll wait about the board for now. I think i'll wait till September for those DFI's to come out. and see what coustomer reviews say.

    Thanks for the info, will be back on this subject in a month or so!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page