1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

All drives created equal? confused, please help.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Tearathal, Jan 16, 2007.

  1. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is my first computer build, and I am to the point where I have to insert my optical drive into the external 5.25 drive bay.

    Now, I decided I would just use the drive from my 3 year old Dell. So I mounted the brackets onto the sides of the drive, and now when I go to slide the drive into the drive bay, It won't fit, and judging by how easily it fit into the dell case, I'm confused as to how I am going to get this thing in. Are all drives made the same size, or am I doing something wrong ? :)

    Case
    http://www.amazon.com/dp/B000BPRGKG/?tag=tec06d-20
  2. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    welcome to tpu:D

    all 5.25" drives are the same size.do you need the rails for the p160 then? was they used in the dell?
  3. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Don't use the rails from the dell case. They are attached onto the side. Take them off by gently prying with a screwdriver. These are what dell does to lock the drives in place.
  4. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    The P160 came with its own rails, and with the P160's railes mounted onto the Dell's drives I can't seem to get it to go in
  5. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Then you are doing something wrong...
  6. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    haha, I see, Ive done this before on my Dell to change drives and it was quick and simple, Ill just take my time and try again :)

    One more thing, I did a test boot before and didnt hear any "case speaker beeps" and realized that the tiny little speaker pins arent plugged in, but I searched my case and can't find anything that would plug into them either heh
  7. Snake05

    Snake05 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    531 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    54
    Location:
    Little Rock, AR
    What case do you have? I imagine it's possible that it doesn't have one, most do though, they're probably just hiding.
  8. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    The mobo should have a plug in on it for the case speaker, Im assuming thats what you are referring to?
  9. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  10. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I see the 4 orange color coded pins on the mobo, but I cant find the matching plugs from the front display plate
  11. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.64/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Thats a nice case, almost looks like the superlanboy in a weird way.
  12. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Why can't I get the damn drive to go in! lol

    I took out my power supply to gain access to the drive bays, and when I try to slide my drive into one of the spots it wont fit! XD
  13. bruins004 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Messages:
    2,480 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    75
    Check to make sure Dell didnt put anything on the side of the drivers so it could fit their case.

    Also, just an FYI, a friend of mine had a really old DVD drive (when they first came out).
    He now has this drive in his new computer and it burn dual layer DVDs.
    All he did was a firmware upgrade.
    It seems the only difference between a new DVD Drive that can write Dual Layer and older ones that can't is the firmware.
  14. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I tried insereting this damn drive hundreds of times lol no dice.

    I'm pretty sure I have the rails mounted correctly, then I try to push it into the drive bays from the big opening in the back and it wont go in
  15. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This shouldn't be this hard lol
  16. Mediocre

    Mediocre New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,240 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77

    Tearathal - All my BIOS speakers have come with my motherboards. So if this is a transplant from a Dell, you're gonna have to get the speaker out of the old case or get a new speaker.


    As for you're 5.25" drive... Seems like you're going to have to give up the tool-less idea and get some screws. Those damn clips never line the drive up right anyway...

    'Ocre
  17. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Screws all the way. THE BEST WAY.
  18. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    OK jesus, lol even without rails or screws I can't seem to fit the darn drive into the space where it is supposed to go. Frustrating
  19. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Calm down, take a deep breath, and TAKE A PICTURE!!!
  20. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hehe let me go get the camera, picture of drive alone, inside of bays, attempting to stick it into bays, sound good? XD
  21. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Sounds good. :D
  22. Tearathal New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    116 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  23. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Im looking right now... brb
  24. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    LOLz. Push them in from the front... make sure the metal protect on the case is removed too.
  25. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,513 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,142
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    Yeah push them in from the front, THEN they will clip in effortlessly.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page