1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

all games crash!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Easy Rhino, Oct 14, 2007.

  1. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    im not sure what is going on. every 3d game i play crashes on me. it is not a heat issues. my cpu never gets above 55 and the gpu never above 70. the game crashes and windows wants to send an error.this happens with all games including test drive unlimited, battlefield 2 and company of heroes. any ideas? im running XP so maybe i should go Vista.
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Is it only games that crash?
  3. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    hmm try lowering your gpu and mem that could be the problem
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    its not a driver issue is it?
  5. newconroer

    newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,996 (1.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    |im running XP so maybe i should go Vista.|


    lol....isn't it the other way around.
  6. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    vista works fine for games,cod4,ut3 all games run fine on my machine.
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    it is every game and it is only games. i can run the atitool haystack thing for hours and no crash. i have the latest drivers for the gpu and ive got the latest x2 drivers from amd for the cpu.
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,183 (3.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,399
    have you tried running your card stock and trying? is your card overheating?
  9. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    Try to reinstall the games, but remember to back up your saves!
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Psu maybe
  11. 3991vhtes

    3991vhtes New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    My house.
    I doubt that, DaMulta

    if it were the PSU, the whole system would be unstable, and crash frequently.
  12. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    Well I have had a psu problem in the past where the system only crashed with games, but it got worse after a while.
  13. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    hmm this lloks like a software problem can you go to start-> run ->%SystemRoot%\system32\eventvwr.msc /s system and see whats crash your games but remember this is a little advance so it might doesn't help you at all
  14. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    4,778 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    566
    Location:
    New York
    try reinstalling DX9c.
  15. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    here is testdrive...


    Faulting application testdriveunlimited.exe, version 1.1.45.1, faulting module testdriveunlimited.exe, version 1.1.45.1, fault address 0x000a4ace.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.


    and here is company of heroes...

    Faulting application reliccoh.exe, version 1.71.0.1674, faulting module reliccoh.exe, version 1.71.0.1674, fault address 0x003447be.

    For more information, see Help and Support Center at http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
  16. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    there are backups or pirate ???? cause from what i see its a running problem and you might have a virus adware...
  17. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    these would be....eh....how you say....not legit...however, they were obtained from a trusted source....say....usenet...but i own battlefield 2 and it does it to that as well
  18. von kain New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2006
    Messages:
    782 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    49
    Location:
    athens/greece
    try to find another ehmmm err fixed .exe my guess is that it a virus or the exe's code
  19. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtX™

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,145 (2.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,649
    you have the amd dual core optimizer and not the cool and quiet drivers correct?
  20. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,411 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,233
    yea
  21. Yin

    Yin

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    542 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    i would say check ur direct x
    and just wondering when you download say something does it work?
    for example a zip file (small one) does it extract?
    i had a similar problem
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    One word comes to mind!

    Memtest. It is possibly RAM related, if it is not that then it is totally software related. I recommend a full reinstall of the OS.
  23. Woah Mama! New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Messages:
    497 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    22
    Location:
    Australia
    Exact same thing happened to me. Turned out to be my video card. Do you mean the games crash back to desktop or the entire system locks up?

    If you have a spare card around just try it for awhile and I've got the feeling you'll not experience a single crash.
  24. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    May help you Easy Rhino. But check into my thread, same problem.Linky!

    As of now I get no crashes at ALL! What I did was found that my card was overheating a tad and when itcrashed it corrupted some of the windows files.
  25. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    have you ran memtest yet?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page