1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

All source games crash on start up

Discussion in 'Games' started by Sir B. Fannybottom, Sep 11, 2012.

  1. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,244
    Every time I try to play a source game, the logo plays then after that its just a black screen with the blue circle spinning. I've tried deleting all source games and that didn't help at all.
     
  2. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2,156 (1.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,138
    Have you tried the newest driver set and/or set drivers to defaults ?
     
  3. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,244
    I'm on the newest drivers for everything, and I'm not overclocked at all.
     
  4. Iceni

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2011
    Messages:
    474 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    coventry UK
    Have you looked at your firewall settings to see if somehow some of your games have lost internet permissions, Try running in a windowed mode as well and seeing if anything pops up in windows.
     
  5. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,244
    I can only see hl2.exe and all of those are allowed.
     
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
  7. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,244
    Binge says thanks.
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,081 (12.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,526
    Go into bios and disable onboard sound. Try launching a Source game without sound and see if it crashes.
     
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,352 (6.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,480
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    have you tried reinstalling Steam? My friend had the same issue, and Valve said to reinstall steam.
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,934
    ya sort of sounds like the same deal with punkbuster at times.

    verification process becomes corrupt
     
  11. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,040 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,609
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Could be a lot of things, but it seems out of date drivers isn't one of them.

    - Do you have all the latest Windows updates installed?
    - Do non-Steam games work? If they do, then close Steam, delete clientregistry.blob in the Steam install folder and try again. This can fix tons of issues
     
  12. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,244
    Thanks for all the help guys, it turns out 12.8 catalyst drivers just fucked up the game, I went back to 12.6 and it works fine.
     
  13. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,040 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,609
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    So, your drivers were too up to date? Kinda ironic, isn't it? :p
     
    Sir B. Fannybottom says thanks.
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,820 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,934
    Time to Report to AMD for that issue.

    Normally i ensure chipset drivers are the latest along with Direct X besides the GC
     
    qubit says thanks.
  15. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    10,040 (3.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,609
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Good point.
     
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,081 (12.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,526
    Running the 12.8's with Source games fine. Which card are you using?
     
  17. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,828 (9.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,277
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Same here erocker. hell 12.8 work better than any other AMD driver than I have used since 11.11C
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,791 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    541
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    12.8 are working fine with me, but I just can't get into the Control Centre, so there is something wrong with my instalation. I also get an display driver error if I restart my PC. Something about corrupt ATI.dll or something, then it tells me to re-install it for full functionality. Anyhow I am waiting for the CCC 12.9 :D

    But for now all Steam games are running great.
     
  19. Sir B. Fannybottom

    Sir B. Fannybottom

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,980 (2.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,244
    Sapphire 6870 running at stock clocks.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page