1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

All's Well That Haswell?

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 9, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,531 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,640
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    i7-2700K is more like $350~$370. So i7-3820 could be $384. It has a locked BClk multiplier, but you can OC using BClk, the old fashioned way.
     
    radrok says thanks.
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,989 (2.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    This, and the fact that you get probably more features than a 2600k/2700k setup, especially the option to upgrade later to a 6 core system :)
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    I agree, I'm not advising anyone to upgrade right now. If anything, when Sandybridge-E comes out, it should lower prices slightly on Sandybridge.

    I thought the BCLK was still pretty limited, like Sandybridge. However, Intel has included BCLK multipliers that affect only the CPU speed. There are only two BCLK multipliers, x1.25 and x1.66. Making the effective BCLK 125 or 166 +/-5%. You aren't free to just adjust the BCLK to whatever you want "the old fashioned way".

    So if you look a the i7-3820 with a clock speed of 3.6GHz, or a multiplier of 36. Lets say I'm aiming for 4.0GHz. I have to raise the BCLK, so I bump it to the next available option of 125. That puts it at 4.5GHz, so then you have to lower the multiplier to 32, which gives you 4.0GHz. Now of course, overclocking isn't a matter of just picking a target, I'm just giving how you get to a certain clock. Where this system becomes a hassle is when you are trying to find your max overclock. Instead of just raising one figure(be it multiplier or BCLK) you now have to fool around with balancing two to find the clock that works best for you.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    933 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    136
    Location:
    Australia
    Theres just no point saying 1155 is a better option than 2011 when we havent even seen benchmarks yet.

    It only has to be 10-15% faster than socket 1155 to be a success and for enthusiasts to choose socket 2011 over socket 1155.

    Anything over 15% performance will be a bonus and they will sell like hotcakes to the enthusiast crowd.

    The platform is coming out next week so how about we wait for benchmarks before writing off the platform?
     
  5. Enmity New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    454 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    New Zealand
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Didn't tomshardware do something also? Though I can't say TH is the most reliable source lol
     
  7. paulprochnow New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    New Motherboards

    Intel does want you to buy a new motherboard every two years.
     
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8,859 (4.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,405
    Yes, not only does the permit them to have the best performance and the best features, in also gives them more sales. It's WIN WIN WIN for intel, WIN WIN LOSE for use (ie: more win then lose)
     
  9. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,382 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    more like a new motherboard and CPU, intel doesnt impress me at all.
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Ok, so the numbers are in, and the conclusion? 2011 processors have almost no performance advantage over 1155 in games and most other apps. The only exception being rendering apps that take advantage of the 6-cores(the 4-core model isn't out yet). Oh, and the cheapest 2011 processor is $550... Yeah, I'm not recommending 2011 to anyone unless they really need 6-cores for something.

    AMD's doing the same thing with FM2 so big deal.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,382 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    Dont Doubt FM2 will last longer than the constant board changes Intel is forcing on their users.
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Its replacing FM1 after less than a year and a half...so...yeah...
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,382 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    apparently FM2 is supposed to be the next Major Socket That replaces AM3, but In mean time they should have 1 or 2 more CPUs for AM3+ that will be on FM2, sort of like how opterons where then aswell
     
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    If you mean they will have a few AM3+ CPUs that will work with the FM2 socket, you are wrong. FM2 will be completely incompatible with FM1 and AM3+.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,382 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    u didnt understand what i meant, ok think about the Opteron of the time, it came in 1 way, 2 way and 8 way- 1 way was compatible with 939. I suspect that the fix bulldozer arch or w/e is next will come in both AM3+ and FM2 and then after that first or second batch of FM2 AM3+ will be phased out, considering the FM2 is supposed to handle both CPUs and APUs.
     
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Oh, yeah, I see what you mean. Yeah, AFAIK, that is what they are supposed to do. Release a few FM2 processors on AM3+. But then that kind of makes we wonder why even release FM2? Why not stick with AM3+ if the processors will work with AM3+?

    But that is Intel's strategy, and I like it. They aren't holding back designs and sacrificing performance to maintain compatibility. They just go balls out, design a processor the way they want, then design the platform around it. That is why people with 1366 have been able to keep their platforms for 3 years now, and can continue to use their platforms for at least another year. And AMD has yet to really even catch up to 1366. So you keep being not impressed with Intel, I'm quite impressed with the fact that a platform they put out over 3 years ago is still outperforming AMD's platform released a few weeks ago. I'm not impressed with AMD, but plenty impressed with Intel.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,382 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    its to get those final sales of AM3+ out n then phase out AM3/AM3+ and go fully FM2 for all desktop performance, budget and Mainstream systems. Recall 939 having the opteron- that CPU Lineup was locked but could overclock further than even the AMD FX Series. What would be pretty cool is if the APU has an FPU already but then when u put in a discreet vid card the vid controller becomes a fulltime FPU for the APU. I suspect FM2 to implement PCI Express 3.0 and Quad Channel DDR3/4 Memory Capability. I wouldnt doubt the CPU becomes totally the APU in the future.

    For my Brothers machine which has an AsRock 970 Extreme 4 with a Phenom II X2 555 BE with 8 gigs Ripjaws 8CL and 6770 Vid Card. Windows 7 HP 64 (CPU Unlocked to the X4 B55/955 BE Status) it Performs effin fast already (Built in August/September). I will drop in the Fastest and final AM3+ CPU Produced and then max the ram out after upgrading 7 to Pro, then he probably wont have another upgrade till say 7-10 years down the road. this was going from an Old P4 2.4Ghz machine
     
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    Yeah, I remember 939, I remember it replacing 754 in under a year, and then itself being replaced with AM2 in under 2 years.

    As I said, Intel users with 1366, or even 1156, are set for just as long as a AM3+ user.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,382 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    Ya the major caveat of putting a ddr Controller on the CPU means a socket change, AMD could of gotten away with sticking with DDR way longer and just moved to DDR3 when time was right. But On another note, it would be worthy for FM2 to eventually implement a DDR3 and DDR 4 controller in later Life on the CPUs then move to DDR 4 completely while stayin with FM2 but put a warning on the CPU and Motherboards that the machine must USE DDR4 or the system will not boot. At the Time of 754 AMD didnt see it necessary to have Dual Channel DDR because it was overly faster than the fastest Athlon XP with Dual channel anyway.
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,919 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,020
    The memory controller was already on the CPU with 754, the memory slots were already wired to the CPU, so moving to Dual-Channel would not have needed a socket change, just a controller change on the CPU itself. And if you used an older CPU you got single channel, and a newer you got dual. Even still, I don't see why it is OK for AMD to replace a socket in under a year because they lacked foresight, but not OK in your eyes for Intel to replace the socket every 2 years to keep the progress of technology unhindered.

    If AMD really wanted to maintain compatibility, if it was really a concern of theirs, they would have left the DDR controller on the Athlon 64 architecture and just added a DDR2 controller for AM2 sockets and keep support for 939. AMD only uses the compatibility thing because they have to because they are behind on performance. If they were ahead, they'd be changing out sockets like crazy, just like they did when they were ahead.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page