1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Alternate Frame Rendering

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by OrbitzXT, Oct 13, 2009.

  1. OrbitzXT

    OrbitzXT New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,969 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    New York City
    I have a 4870X2 that isn't always supported by some games, and it was recommended to me to set it so its alternating frames. I was told that when a game doesn't support Crossfire or SLI this is the best thing to do. Anywho, for the life of me I can't figure out how to set "Alternate Frame Rendering" with my 4870X2. I might be overlooking it but I don't see a setting in CCC, and am using the latest 9.9 drivers for Windows 7.
     
  2. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,822 (3.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,481
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    No, you're not missing anything. Unfortunately, it's not possible to set AFR modes in the CCC, even with twin 3850X2 cards like I have. You can on the nvidia control panel and it has more 3D setting options, too.

    Wassup ATI? :wtf:

    You might want to try googling for CCC hacks that might allow you to adjust AFR.
     
  3. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,890 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Singapore
    Not sure, but I think that your best bet is ati ray tools
     
  4. REVHEAD New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2005
    Messages:
    300 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    Location:
    Sydney/ Australia
    Go into Catylist AI

    Standard uses the Default ATI game profile, and Advanced uses AFR this has allways been the case since the old Days of using crossfire with a dongle. Hope this helps.
     
  5. kn00tcn

    kn00tcn

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    692 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    121
    Location:
    Toronto
    yes, advanced should do AFR if there is no profile

    but issues can still arise if the game is coded unusually
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page