1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Alternative for NVIDIA Tesla?

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by maijaron, Jun 22, 2013.

  1. maijaron New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Guys, i am using a business intelligence software doing having analytic calculations for number crunching. It supports Nvidia Tesla to speed up the performance on behalf of GPU power. Can anybody tell me if I only have the choice to buy the expensive NVIDIA Tesla models? Or can i use any nvidia graphics cards instead, even though its not officially supported? :confused:
     
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,191
    It depends on how the software works. If it just leverages OpenCL or DirectCompute to use the GPU, then it should work on any GPU that supports OpenCL/DirectCompute, which would be any modern GPU. But if it specifically looks for a Tesla GPU and uses some kind of special instruction set only available for Tesla, then you'll have to use Tesla.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,897 (13.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,306
    It would help to know what actual software you're using and/or some support information on it.
     
  4. maijaron New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thank you guys. the software is Jedox palo. and they are supporting Tesla to calculate multi dimensional OLAP tables. for that they are using CUDA. But there is no word if they are using specifically tesla instructions or general GPU power. Officially they are only asking for Tesla and no other graphics cards :wtf:

    But honestly, the price is killing.
     
  5. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    If it's CUDA then you can run it on any CUDA device, it's uncrippled.

    For example the K20x has a compute rating of 3.5 for CUDA, the TITAN has 3.5 too.

    https://developer.nvidia.com/cuda-gpus

    If it's OpenCL... well all I can say is good luck.
     
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2013
  6. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,651 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Location:
    Mexico
    What if you ask their support line?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,129 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,191
    http://www.jedox.com/community/palo-forum/index.php?page=Thread&threadID=3728

    I just found this thread, it looks like the program detect the GPU on startup and only will enable CUDA acceleration if it detects a Tesla card. Other CUDA cards don't seem to work. It also sounds to me like CUDA acceleration is very early in support, so maybe they are only supporting Tesla right now to get the kinks worked out and will expand to more CUDA cards later on, but only they'd know for sure.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  8. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    632 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    But they'll probably end up doing what Autodesk does, and only enable support for the "professional" cards, not the consumer ones.

    One could turn a Titan into a Tesla by modifying it's hardware ID by replacing some resistors, but don't quote me on that.
     
  9. maijaron New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2013
    Messages:
    16 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thats really helpful. I was checking back with the support and they are really only activating the feature for any tesla card. Thats the worst that could happen :/

    you mentioned a graphics card hack to change the label? are there any details on that? is it "safe" to do it?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page