1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Alternative liquid cooling systems

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Zedicus, Mar 22, 2010.

1. Zedicus

Thanks Received:
    have any of you guys ever tried running a compressed system, like freon, r134a, or liquid c02?

how hard was it to build?
  2. dark2099

dark2099

Thanks Received:
    I think those types of cooling are usually referred to as either phase change units or various staged cascades, which if I remember correctly draw alot of power thus making them some what crazy for daily use. Also would require major insulation of most the components so they don't suffer any damage from condensation created. Not 100% on at that, and I'm sure people will correct me as needed. I have no real personal experience with either system though.
  3. Thrackan

Thrackan

Thanks Received:
    I've seen a 5 stage cascade a while ago, that was sick :D
  4. Zedicus

Thanks Received:
    well im not aiming for subzero, i was thinking a single loop with a refrigerant system should keep even an overclocked amd quad around 30-40c with out using too much excess power.
  5. brandonwh64

brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

Thanks Received:
    TEC is about the only low power thing besides water that you could use. anything that uses refrigerant would be atleast 3000BTUs and would take about 1300W
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Binge

Binge Overclocking Surrealism

Thanks Received:
    Why not just water-cool? You'd get those results.
  7. Trigger911

Trigger911 New Member

Thanks Received:
    I agree go water its much cheaper and you don't have to pay some one to refill your system.
  8. angelkiller

angelkiller

Thanks Received:
    I have no personal experience, but I've seen a good number of people do this so it's definitely possible and doable.