1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Am i going to lose my mind over this M$ crap again

Discussion in 'General Software' started by RuskiSnajper, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    [​IMG]

    Sometimes i feel throwing the computer out of the window
     
  2. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,217 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,116
    Location:
    Newport Beach, CA
  3. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe

    what makes you think i didn't tried all of that , including other trilion google hits ... this bug is apeshit crazy.

    plus , ... do you really think im going to use CMD all the time this happens , i rather throw the PC out of the window right now.


    speaking of OS , does linux allow nuking any file any time any where?
     
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,117 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,177
    Stop blaming everything on Microsoft.

    If explorer has locked the file for some reason, then you can't make changes to it(move/delete/etc it). You haven't given any real useful information. What are you trying to do to the file? What were you doing to the file before doing what you are doing now. Have you tried to rebooting? The file is an EXE, so if the exe is running and was started under the explorer process(most programs are started under explorer) it will say that it is open in explorer.

    Reboot the system and try deleting the file. If that doesn't work fire up Killbox and use that to delete the file.

    Not if the file is in use like this one is.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    rename and delete don't work

    EVERY FILE ON DESKTOP !

    It's been a year with this, reboot is the only fix temporary fix ... leaving the PC running a few days/hours it comes back randomly
     
  6. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    why not ... then linux is no better than win then, lame

    this file is not in bleeping USE . it just got created(downloaded) A $)"/%)%/ SECONDS AGO
     
  7. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    Just open Task Manager and end the explorer.exe process and run it egain via "New Task".
     
  8. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,741 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    384
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    What an incredibly mature comment. Go sit in the corner till you can learn to use a computer like a real techie and quit complaining.
     
  9. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,117 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,177
    Because files in use are locked and can't be deleted, deleting files that are in use would lead to extremely bad things.

    Obviously the file is in use, or it wouldn't be giving that error. You might not know how it became in use, but it is in use and locked by explorer for some reason. This can be a symptom of malware if it is doing it to all files on the desktop.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  10. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    :D:rockout::respect:

    Too bad i already tried this ! It fixed deletion but not renaming.

    sigh
     
  11. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    359
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    Chill out download combofix from bleepingcomputer put in the root of your windows drive, run as administrator say yes to prompts.

    If it turns up nothing try these, all from command line which you love so much

    SFC /scannow
    Chkdsk /f
    If it keeps up its not windows there's something jacked up on your computer or you changed/turned off/deleted that is causing it.

    Next step reformat it.
     
  12. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,321 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    what antivirus yo using?
     
  13. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    nod32 4.0

    break it up guys , i know what im doing, it's a freaking m$ bug , ive seen the behavior of this, it just pops up randomly
     
  14. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,579 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Not saying it's a pebkac issue or anything, but could it be an app that you commonly use? Automatic defrag? Any sort of indexing or automatic backup program? A locker or some sorta security app? Could WEI running it's default scheduled task cause that?

    It's just that I get the impression it doesn't happen to everyone so I'm guessing Windows could be conflicting with an app. that you have.
     
  15. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
  16. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    6,092 (3.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,415
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    so if you sure its a bug ask microsoft or wait the patch
     
  17. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    People are complaining for a very long time it still didn't come



    indexing is not, i got it disabled for half a year and i enabled it back a few days ago , and this bug was always present
     
  18. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    that's because im not in a good mood at 00:30 with this stuff coming up


    half a year ... it's been enough
     
  19. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,252 (2.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,172
    Location:
    Oregon
    half a year wow I would have formated after 2 hours
     
    Bo$$ says thanks.
  20. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,321 (2.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    I was just asking, as i dont have that issue and im running WIndows 7 X64 too.

    do you allow windows updates?
     
  21. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    MS doesn't patch user experience bugs. They wait for the next windows release, and they'll only listen to suggestions on fixes for a small window leading up to the release. My blood boils just thinking about it and all the little random shit like this I have to deal with because of it.
     
    RuskiSnajper says thanks.
  22. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    leave the PC running for a few days ... but yeah this could be avoided by simply restarting often ... heck i don't even know the sympotoms , i didn't analyzed it that much.


    but the time when it happens it's really random


    Now i got the locker running , it detected 3 instances of explorer , but i only had one explorer process (i have folders in another process i think)

    It will go away when i disable the process

    I will come back after i enabled it and just as i select the file, it will get used again , same problem again.


    Clicking right without slecting first, and then renaming doesn't make a difference
     
  23. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    they only fix stuff which nobody needs, or it's not important at all , that's because they bring up new crap every release, they design the new OS which nobody has asked for it, ... mostly i have never seen MS fixing actual user experience bugs, they just fill windows with useless features ,already disabled half of the services and other stuff


    there's one sad thing for linux, anything on there must be open-source , games with their engines will never be released there open source, so they have to change their thinking if they EVER want to get linux more useful to SOMEHOW make a competition against this annoying mainstream crap that microsoft got into. Windows 8 will be A300$VistaPatch#2


    What i know for sure if you asked me right now, im not buying windows 8 - it'll be another vista, in people's minds, some fanboys will buy it, or newcomers, but in terms of support it won't be so bad just because it's so similar to vista, the drivers probably won't be so hard to do since win7 got support quite quickly as we know vista is NT 6.0 , Win7 is NT 6.1 , and let me guess if Win8 isn't NT 6.2 or 6.3 whatever
     
    Last edited: Jun 19, 2011
  24. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,432 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    615
    do the 3 instances of explorer also show up in the task manager? try right clicking them and go to "open file location" and see if they're all in the same spot or not. if they're in anywhere but c:\windows then you got some scanning to do.
     
    More than 25k PPD
  25. RuskiSnajper

    RuskiSnajper

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    231
    Location:
    slovenia , europe
    they all closed when i closed the one explorer that was in task manager ...
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page