1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Am I running Hot?

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Wastedslayer, May 30, 2008.

  1. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I have an E8400 at stock settings right now and a nirvana NV120 cooler on the thing and it idles in the bios at 40C in windows I sit at 50C and fluctuate, am I running hot I sure feel like it, I used some MX2 thermal grease it semmed watery could that be the problem?

    Let me know,
    Wasted
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    unfortunately i dont know the cooler you are using to give any temp estimates. Ambient temps will really help or hinder you too.

    As long as its under 60C it should be ok... what are you measuring temps with? I'd really suggest using realtemp.
  3. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    "am i running hot?" Thats what she said!... Anyways 50C IDLE in windows you say? thats much too hot, make sure its properly seated. Check the voltage thats running through it with CPU-Z to make sure nothing is crossed in the Bios. Your temps should probably be a good 20C colder than that.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    yeah use CPU-Z to see what the clocks are, and then find out the voltages for us in the bios.

    Please use realtemp to see the temps however, i have a feeling you may be using software thats reading it wrong.
  5. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    Depends if your sensors are working okay. If you're using coretemp, switch to real temp as it uses the more realistic tjunction of 95C. But even with a 10C drop, idling at 40C is a bit high for an e8400@3ghz using an AF7.

    Also, if your mx2 was atery, make sure you store thermal paste correctly. It should always be pointing down so that you do not get separation at the point of ejection.
  6. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I just bought the MX2, CPUZ says o god something isnt right its adjusting the multiplier and speed of the processor, says 1.424v. Lemme check the bios make sure its disabled
  7. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,008 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    you could always use the TPU review to get an idea of what you think temps should be http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/Zerotherm/Nirvana120Premium/5.html
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I cant figure out what is making the processor throttle speedstep is disabled what else all should be disabled on an evga 750i?
  9. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I think i got it, yeah you have to disable C1E or whatever is is as well, seems to have fixed my one issue. Lets check the temps now
  10. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    The best thing to do is to get a good cooler and purchase Arctic Silver 5 compound and combine them together and also get a case with atleast a front fan and a rear fan in it. My case has 6 fans in mine so that's excellent.
  11. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Ok first of all J-Man the Nirvana NV120 is one of the best coolers out it beat out the Tuniq Tower second of all I have an Antec 900, and third of all the Arctic Silver MX2 is the successor to AS5, its been said to lower temps further and last longer. Thanks for the advice? though.
  12. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    back on topic realtemp says 34/35C for my core temps at 4Ghz overclock but in my bios is says 40ish which is right?
  13. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    under 100% load realtemp reports 55Cish but my question still is is it right, I dont understand the whole test sensor thing, anyone take a moment to explain?
  14. ZenEffect New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2008
    Messages:
    622 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    1.4v for stock speed is... how should i put this....

    1.4v you should be 4ghz+ right now. vcore is way too high for current speed.
  15. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Zen read 2 posts up, Im oc'd to 4Ghz right now, after i fixed the throttling issue which cause me ALOT of grief i OC'd right to 4Ghz with a 2Ghz FSB
  16. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Yea everything is checking out ok now. Your temps are fine :)
  17. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Phew thank you guys for the help 4Ghz feels so good :) at only 1.4v (1.45 but with vDroop)
  18. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,000 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    203
    Just don't go over 1.4v if you want your chip to last. The smaller process can't handle as much voltage.
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,983 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,390
    realtemp is correct over the bios.

    The bios kinda guesses, and its an average between the two cores. Realtemp is designed for 45nm chips, and shows both cores - your mobo doesnt.

    I agree too, the 45nm chips are known to die over 1.4v so keep that as the max (after droop)
  20. Wastedslayer

    Wastedslayer

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2005
    Messages:
    830 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Ok thanks for the advice guys

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page