1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AM3+ANDAM3 sockets pic

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by H82LUZ73, May 13, 2011.

  1. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Any of you guys that think your current mobo from ASUS,MSI ,Gigabyte will take a BD chip ,You need to look at this pic between the sockets ,Notice the pinhole space on the AM3B Black socket is much wider.http://hothardware.com/News/Mud-In-The-Water-Asus-Claims-Existing-Boards-AM3-Compatible/This just for some of you guys that will run out and buy a BD chip FX and try to put t in your current boards that have the white socket.I can see AMD and the mobo manufactures have a increase of RMA`s in middle June.
  2. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,543 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    510
    Location:
    Australia
    It wont matter, people who "try" to put a AM3+ CPU into there old mobo wil find it just wont fit lol
  3. St.Alia-Of-The-Knife New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    195 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Montreal, Canada
    aw... crap
    but im sure some people will try to break that extra pin and try it
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,523 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,921
    Old news. Show me the backside of an AM3+ or Bulldozer CPU and we'll talk. The people running engineering samples on their AM3 boards with their beta Bulldozer bios' probablly think otherwise as well. ;)
    Last edited: May 15, 2011
  5. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario
    Funny all i see for sample pics and test pics are guys running a Gigabyte UD5 990fx board......Or a updated current board with AM3B on it.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,523 (13.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,921
    Really? Where? Not like it matters as everyone will know for sure in a couple weeks. ;)
  7. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,970 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Wyoming
    As I opened a thread HERE, and as I posted in the thread, Asus is claiming that several of their latest motherboards are AM3+ and Bulldozer ready.

    http://event.asus.com/2011/mb/AM3_PLUS_Ready/

    And I just checked on the Asus site, and sure enough, the 3017 bios is up and ready to test out.
    Crunching for Team TPU 2 Million points folded for TPU
  8. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,741 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,639
    Location:
    US
    Some MSI mobo's are said to be getting a bios update to so they support AM3+ ( including mine ) but i bet it's only some of the AM3+ chips though.

    BT posted it a few weeks ago.
  9. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,970 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Wyoming
    In reality, it should be all the 890 chip sets and up. I believe, as far as the research I have done, the 890 AMD chip sets were all prepared for AM3+ chips. I would imagine that the AM3+ development was well under way as these chip sets were being developed, and thus the chip set was made to accommodate the AM3+ chips.
    Crunching for Team TPU 2 Million points folded for TPU
  10. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    10,741 (4.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,639
    Location:
    US
    Well mines a 880

    Here's the post i was on about.
    http://www.techpowerup.com/forums/showthread.php?t=143748
  11. bucketface

    bucketface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    142 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
  12. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,970 (3.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,344
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Right. Not sure about the MSI boards, however I see that Asus is going to have a bios update for a few of their 880G chip sets.

    They are even showing some 760 chip sets:confused:
    Crunching for Team TPU 2 Million points folded for TPU
  13. H82LUZ73

    H82LUZ73

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,782 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    265
    Location:
    Cobourg,Ontario

    http://news.softpedia.com/newsImage/Gigabyte-AM3-Bulldozer-890FXA-UD5-Motherboard-Goes-For-Sale-in-Japan-2.jpg/


    Notice the old 3.0 version is right beside it.And this is the board for the beta bios....

    And here it clearly says ver 3.1 ready for bulldozer...

    http://lensfire.blogspot.com/2011/03/gigabyte-ga-ud5-890fxa-fx-motherboard.html

    Notice the board has AM3B socket like I have been saying they are updating current boards with the socket and using this Beta bios that everyone and their kids think is also for AM3 .


    Now read the cpu version is 1.59 and the board is 990fx ud5 in the screenshots.

    http://wccftech.com/2011/05/10/gigabyte-leaks-amd-bulldozer-details/

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page