1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AM3 discussion

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 1Kurgan1, Dec 15, 2008.

  1. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Like many others here I am looking to upgrade to a Phenom II when they release. But the one question I find myself stuck on is, get the 940 or wait for the 945? And until today I didn't really look into it much, figured the 945 would come with a slight bump up (100 - 200mhz) over the 940.

    But now I'm seeing it's suppose to come at 3.0, the exact same as the 940. I see it has a higher steeping number, I havent ever really delved into CPU info to find out exactly what that means. But I assume it's just a more refined version much like the 9x50's were over the B2 9x00's.

    Now the question is, why would they step it up like that if the current stepping doesn't have an issue. And does anyone here think the gains of the 945 will be pretty decent compared to the 940 (talking about OC'ing).
  2. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Don't know but I am looking at the Phenom II X3 720 Black Edition. The 945 is AM3 and 940 is AM2+ tho. The AM2+ one will not do DDR3.
  3. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,499
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    The die shrink is allowing improvements to be implemented. I for one am excited about Phenom II, but I will prob wait for the AM3 chips.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    yea, as shadowfold sed 940 is AM2+ and 945 is AM3. The question you have ask yourself is does it make sense to wait for AM3 and DDR3 or stick with AM2+ and DDR2 for now. This is why i'm reluctant to jump on the AM2+ Phenoms, its not really a future proof investment, IMHO. If you already have an AMD board that will support AM2+ Phenom then by all means go ahead and get it. If you dont i'd wait till the summer for proper DDR3 boards and AM3 chips.
  5. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    Remember tho, AM3 CPU's work on most AM2+ boards. Pretty much all SB700/SB750 work.
  6. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    thnx, i forgot to mention that :)

    seeing that the OP already has a board that will work with P2 940 it makes sense.
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    That's the best part too :D I have DDR3 phobia. I just don't like it.
  8. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    why not?
  9. Bytor

    Bytor New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,051 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    I myself can't wait for it to release either... I'm not waiting for AM3, but going to grab a AM2 940 BE and drop it in my sig rig...
  10. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Ah didn't know the 940's didn't support DDR3. The 945 will still drop into a AM2+ rig though right? I had heard that AM3 and AM2+ was backwards compatible, just then couldn't use DDR3.

    Think the 940 might be the proc for me then, not really looking to drop a ton of money on ram anytime soon and this brand new mobo and videocard need to get a proc thats worthy of rounding off my rig.
  11. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I need 4gb. I am not willing to pay 150$ for something that I just got for 55$.
  12. MadClown

    MadClown New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,362 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    Location:
    NY, the state were you cant defend yourself
    ill be using my current AM2+ board if and when i get a P2(sounds like pentium 2 lol)
  13. G-wiz

    G-wiz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2008
    Messages:
    65 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Florida
    yea i'm waiting for the phenom II X4 too.
  14. KBD New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,477 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    279
    Location:
    The Rotten Big Apple
    i hear ya, hopefully DDR3 will become more mainstream and less expensive in 6+ months
  15. wolverineI New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2007
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    So Cal
    According to Amd rep,Deneb am2+ has ddr3 onboard controller also.The am3 version is simply more optimized. In other words Deneb am2+ will work in am3 boards.
    ShadowFold says thanks.
  16. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Interesting, wonder what the performance difference would be if there even is one.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page