1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AM3 Motherboards with SLI support?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by TechnicalFreak, Jan 25, 2011.

  1. Are there any AM3 mobo's with SLI support out there? If "yes", what brand and models are there??
     
  2. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,318 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    yes 980a SLI, i believe MSI and ASUS do one
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,829 (13.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,202
  4. xBruce88x

    xBruce88x

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,423 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    588
    More than 25k PPD
  5. sniviler New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Messages:
    110 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Bong island , NY
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,318 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    The MSI 880A Fuzion 770 has Lucid already

    edit: posted before me :)
     
  7. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Sli hack and any 790/890gx/fx mobo
     
  8. Red_Machine

    Red_Machine

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,733 (1.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Location:
    Marlow, ENGLAND
    My mobo (the Asus M4N98TD EVO with nForce 980a SLI chipset) does. It cost me a little over £90.
     
  9. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i have dealt with the 980/780/750a chipsets and 790FX/GX was a better chipset even with the sli hack people were getting better results on sli with them
     
  10. This "SLI hack", is it done by software or BIOS mod; or is it the hardware that needs to be modified?
     
  11. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Completely software and there is a huge thread on it here
     
  12. xbonez New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    315
    Location:
    Philly, PA (US)
    And its completely and easily reversible. I had done it on my MSI 790FX-GD70, and then reversed it later once I was back to a single card.
     
  13. Ok, thanks for all the replies. Thing is, I don't know what to get in March. Either upgrade system with an AMD based mobo and processor OR get a completely new i5 system for 699$ (6999SEK).

    The intel based system has all that I could need and also the mobo there has support for SLI. I was thinking of getting 4Gb more memory for either the AMD or Intel based system so that I have 8Gb in system memory (I'm using CS5, Photoshop/Illustrator/Indesign etc.). I need more power than I currently have.
     
  14. rolandwally83 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page