1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Amazing linux cluster in IKEA file cabinet!!!

Discussion in 'Cases, Modding & Electronics' started by Apocolypse007, Aug 27, 2008.

  1. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    I thought this was very interesting and worth a look!

    http://helmer.sfe.se/

    I can only dream of being able to afford building something of that magnitude.:rolleyes:
     
    7mm and Easy Rhino say thanks.
  2. blueskynis

    blueskynis New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    297 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    Serbia, Nis
    WoW Truly awesome :)
     
  3. kyle2020 Guest

    holy crap :eek: that is really crazy haha. How much did all that cost?! 48GB RAM? lmao!
     
  4. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    My guess is about $5,000-$6,000. Which is peanuts when you compare it to a top of the line mac pro ($13,00+) that everyone says is so great for rendering, even though it has fewer processors and less RAM than this creation. You could probably even get an alienware that would cost more. You're looking at way more than even the mac pro or alienware if you go for an IBM server or something similar. Very cost effective if you need that much power.
     
  5. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,189 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    823
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    that's an old article, but still feels good to look at that monster.
     
  6. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (3.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    That looks pretty cool. I wanna do that with my old PIIIs.
     
  7. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,434 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    that is a pretty awesome setup. i wonder what rendering that guy does. also, how are the HDDs setup. does each board have a HDD or is there some sort of external configuration.
     
  8. Lillebror New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    720 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    88
    Location:
    Denmark
    http://helmore.sfe.se/ - more pics
    And it only costed about 3500$ - Thats pretty cheap for a render farm! :twitch:
     
  9. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,670 (3.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,263
    And then you'd have almost as much computing power as you have now. :toast:
     
  10. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    And do all applications have the ability to run distributed on a cluster? I don't think so, which makes the mac pro faster.
    Of course, applications that do have this functionality, would prefer the cluster.
     
  11. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,434 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    i think his point is that everyone hypes the mac pro for rendering when for half the price you can build a cluster that is 5 times more powerful. obviously you wouldnt buy a mac pro just for rendering and obviously you wouldnt build a cluster for anything more than rendering and a few other tasks.
     
  12. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,281 (1.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    718
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    For the builder's purpose, the rendering of detailed graphics, the cluster is faster. I was also referring to the specific task of graphics rendering. The point is moot..... you just want to argue. :slap:
     
  13. wolf2009 Guest

    Now would windows run on such platform , How about video encoding in x264 codec on that platform (maybe with avidemux in Ubuntu ) ?
     
  14. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,434 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    :laugh:
     
  15. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,553 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Why not? MSCS and HPC do have a market share. Video encoding isn't the most logical use though. It's mostly rendering and scientific uses.
     
  16. theJesus

    theJesus

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    3,968 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Ohio
    That's quite impressive. I wonder how it compares to the Video Toaster.
     
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,966 (6.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,047
    Each board has its own HDD, essentally, each board/level is its own computer, they are all just linked via the network. If you look closely at the pictures, you will see a yellow SATA cable for each motherboard. It looks like he just put the HDD upside down on the PCI section of the motherboard.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  18. 7mm

    7mm

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    112 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    INDIA
    Wooow..., that is impressive work for sure. Specially with that HDD cloning process, which could test men's cool all the way. Nice work buddy, must've got deep pockets to build this mammoth. CHEERS!
     
  19. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,434 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,243
    so how do you get the processors to work in tandem?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page