1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

amd 1090t

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by martthefart1111, May 16, 2013.

  1. martthefart1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi all what would be a good upgrade for this cpu amd 1090t only amd platforms plz:rockout:
  2. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    What kind of Motherboard do you have? (exact model)
  3. martthefart1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    gig 990xa ud3 v1 tyvm 4 reply
  4. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
  5. martthefart1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    but whats a good upgrade ? plz
  6. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Are you looking to upgrade from the 1090t?
  7. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Fx-8350

    This is what he said
  8. martthefart1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes plz what what would be a good upgrade:rockout:
  9. CrackerJack

    CrackerJack

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2007
    Messages:
    2,702 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    448
    Location:
    East TN
    IMO 8120, mine runs nice and cool and can easily do 4.0 with barely any heat gain
  10. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    An FX 6300 or 8350.

    Depends on your budget.
  11. martthefart1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so a 8350 would be a good upgrade, tyvm guys gals:rockout:
  12. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    There is no need to double confirm what members suggest.:slap: YES

    You will probably have to flash the boards bios if you upgrade
  13. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Yeah. It's the flagship of the FX series right now.

    Personally I have the FX 6300 and it is a beast.

    OC'd on air from 3.5 to 4.2 @ 1.3 volts :)

    Also, it's quite a bit cheaper than the 8350.

    But, if money is not an issue? get the 8350.

    Good luck and let us know how your upgrade goes, or if you have any questions after you get it up and running :toast:
  14. martthefart1111 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2012
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ok tyvm any good cheap uk sites?
  15. Eric_Cartman

    Eric_Cartman

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    577 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    43
    I'd go with the FX-8320.

    It is usually about $25 cheaper than the 8350, but overclocks to just about the same clock speed.
  16. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,318 (7.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,775
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Not really. Both 8350's I've had hit 4.8 no problem, however the last three 8320's my brothers friends and LAN party friends have barely managed to scratch towards 4.6 on a good day., some not 24/7 stable.
  17. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    Correct, 8350's are binned chips and generally overclock higher
  18. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    That difference is going to be pretty negligible, and a $25 saving while still having a very nice OC. He said they overclock to just about the same, not to the exact same. The 8350 should OC 200mhz higher on average, thats why it comes with the price premium.
  19. drdeathx

    drdeathx

    Joined:
    May 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,132 (1.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    479
    Location:
    Chicago burbs
    There is no guarantee either way. Some chips are just better chips. I pulled over 5Ghz on a 8350
  20. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,320 (5.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Of course there isn't, I've seen a few reviews for 8350's where they only managed 4.7. And seen some 8320 reviews where they hit 4.7 - 4.8. The 8350's are going to be binned higher, but some will be better than others, and some 8320's might get a lucky bin as well. Either way, 4.5 to 4.6 seems to be pretty average for a 8320 OC, which for a $25 savings I would say is more than respectable.
  21. techtard

    techtard

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    930 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    I'd say the FX-6350 or FX-8320 would be good upgrades. I decided to save some money and got a 8320 instead of an FX-8350 and am rocking and rolling at 5.0ghz.
    Just make sure you have good cooling if you really want to push a heavy overclock.
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    Lower the temps and raise the voltage bet you can get similar clocks on an 8320.
  23. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,775 (4.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,304
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Nope, your bios is good to go. That board shipped with a compatible bios from the start.
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page