1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD 11.11a Catalyst Performance Driver

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by erocker, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,156 (12.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,683
    This is the new "Hotfix" performance driver from AMD.

    Features:

    Batman Arkham City
    improves DirectX 11 performance for single GPU and CrossFireX configurations

    Rage
    Delivers AMD CrossfireX performance scaling
    Resolves a number of image / stability issues seen with the title:
    Fix geometry corruption, sometimes seen in Bash TV entrance
    Fix issues with Low-memory conditions on 32bit systems.
    Fix issue with extreme corruption with missing textures on 32bit systems.
    Fix memory leaks when deleting/reusing sync objects.
    Fix hitching and pausing, especially noticeable on some Quad Core systems when doing races and Stanley Express runs.
    Fix some missing shadows

    Elder Scrolls Skyrim
    Improves performance on single GPU configurations
    Resolve corruption seen when enabling Multi-Sample Anti-Aliasing on the AMD Radeon HD 6970 Series

    Battlefield 3
    Resolves intermittent corruption seen when playing the game at specific camera angles

    Build Info:
    DriverVer=11/18/2011, 8.911.1.0000

    Download here (Win7 x64/x86): http://www2.ati.com/drivers/hotfix/catalyst_11.11_hotfixes/amd_catalyst_11.11a_windows_vista_7.exe

    *I have not tested these with Skyrim in CFX yet. There is no mention of a fix for it so I'm not very hopeful, but improvements are improvements! :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2011
    Ahhzz, N-Gen, Frogger and 6 others say thanks.
  2. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,684 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,779
    Location:
    Chicago
    Rock n' Roll but where's a damn Skyrim CAP?

    This is seriously weak tea.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,156 (12.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,683
    CAP's can and are included in the drivers themselves, especially hotfixes. If CFX isn't working, try the RadeonPro workaround.. it works pretty well.
     
  4. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Gah these other games don't matter, why are they fixing something that isn't broken (Single GPU configs) and totally neglecting our crossfire issue. This is annoying the hell out of me.
     
  5. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,684 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,779
    Location:
    Chicago
    Well as far as my testing goes it apparently is working but there's no official support and as such you have review sites telling people to use single card with AMD for "best performance". And it could likely work better, regardless. Any enthusiast worth a crap with two cards will of course test both ways for themselves, but still...

    And, to random, they aren't "fixing" anything. This is a performance driver. Single card improvement are great too and will also make CFX setups run better as well ultimately (and are to be expected as well for a brand new game anyway) but yeah we need some official CFX support. Like a week ago.
     
  6. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    It is really frustrating since Skyrim is a single player game, once they release a bloody profile we'd already most likely have finished our first play-through. Although something tells me even if they release a proper crossfire profile we won't see too big of an improvement, I have a feeling it has to do with the game itself.
     
  7. N-Gen

    N-Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Messages:
    643 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    On 11.10 Skyrim seems to be using both cards for me, so I guess a CAP would just be a slight scaling tweak, nothing to be too excited for probably, unless your CFX setup doesn't work with it.
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,156 (12.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,683
    RadeonPro is really simple to use for this. I honestly don't see "no CFX support" an issue here. Besides, nobody has tested this driver with CFX yet.:laugh: I will be in a few minutes when I get home.
     
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,246 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,534
    f**k the corruption - fix the motherf**king crashing for BF3 plz.

    I crash like 120% more when im running 11.11's
     
  10. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Seems to disable crossfire for me in Skyrim, although it's a definite step-up from negative scaling.
     
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,728 (11.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,947
    naww poop :(


    crossfire works for me in 11.11, lets see how it does with these in skyrim
     
  12. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Definately got a nice boost in performance with crossfire enabled while playing skyrim using this driver.. less dips, less lagginess according to radeonpro benchmark and gameplay is smoother..
    Average fps increased over previous driver.
     
    Mussels says thanks.
  13. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    Are you using a specific profile in radeonpro for crossfire? I ran the game without any crossfire tweaks etc. just used TESV.exe, the second card had no usage.
     
  14. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Running Cfx bioshock profile, also make sure you enable catalyst in Radeon pro otherwise it only utilizes about 5-10% of second card (at least in my case) .
     
  15. random

    random

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    686
    At the moment I am finding running my single card to still stomp on my crossfire setup, even when renaming TESV to Fallout3 (which I've found to be the best solution for me) and getting around 70-80% utilization on both my cards it is still somewhat jerky compared to running only one card. :banghead:

    Update:
    Link: http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles/Pages/Catalyst1111aperformance.aspx

    Twitter
    @CatalystCreator - Please note that Skyrim CF can't be resolved through a CAP update - needs a driver fix - trying to get this resolved ASAP



    Big fail on AMD's part, "As soon as it's finished" yet NVIDIA had a beta driver up and running before or on release of Skyrim to enable SLI.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2011
    Mussels says thanks.
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,156 (12.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,683
     
  17. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,246 (4.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,534
    whoops....crashing in the middle of BF3.

    Back to 11.9's!!

    [​IMG]
     
  18. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,684 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,779
    Location:
    Chicago
    3dsage you claim the driver helps crossfire but you're still using a Bioshock profile in RP?

    I think a real test of these drivers should not include Radeon Pro at all. I am going to play for a bit now with Afterburner OSD logging to file with 11.10 WHQL before installing new driver.
     
    random says thanks.
  19. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    So your getting higher fps with single card over cfx? my single card vs. cfx is about an avg. 10-15fps not much but allows me to add more eye candy also im not getting any jerkiness except for once in a while.
     
  20. Darkleoco

    Darkleoco

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2011
    Messages:
    1,598 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    247
    Location:
    Cullowhee, North Carolina
    Shouldn't be your drivers Freedom...
     
  21. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    I was running 11.9's before this.. Not sure what your question is, but yes im still using bioshock profile.
    All that I noticed is an increase in fps, I didnt have any issues running cfx in skyrim before this :confused:
     
  22. bckai New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    What do you mean by "enable catalyst" in RadeonPro? I can't find that particular option anywhere.
     
  23. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Its under "Advanced" tab, check the Catalyst AI box. Even if its enabled thru Catalyst Control Center, cfx isnt being fully utilized according to RP's cfx utilization bars (only about 5-10% of 2nd card is being used ).
     
  24. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Cfx not working in Skyrim, so fps was worse. Cfx not working well in BF3, my 4890 got stuck at 500mhz on the core. I don't use any extras, just afterburner to check usage.

    Reverted back to 11.11 + CAP2.
     
  25. 3dsage

    3dsage New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,797 (0.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    330
    Location:
    NW Burbs of Chicago
    Just throwin this in here , so it doesnt look like im bs'ing anyone.

    [​IMG]

    11.11a , Modified Ultra,x2 AA, x8AF with some mods done.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page