1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD 4400+ overclocking/overvolting

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by overclocker, Feb 14, 2007.

  1. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    HEy guys i have overclocked my 4400+ to 2.6 but i have to go from 1.350 volt to 1.550 is this bad ? my temps never go over 50 maybe around 45C on high load so good or bad ?
     
  2. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    800 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    I don't have a X2 myself, I'm actually about the buy that same processor with 2mb L2 cache. But I've herd its not recommended to go over 1.45 with X2's. How true this is, I do not know, maybe somone else can confirm this. Are you running stock cooling?
     
  3. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    yes but mine came with a pritty good stock cooler 4 heat pipes so 1.45 mines 1.55 :(
     
  4. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    eny 1 else know if 1.550 is safe volt for a 4400+ ?
     
  5. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    I guess know one knows :(
     
  6. tim12379 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Yea its definatly safe
    I wouldnt go much higher though, unless it lets you OC alot more.

    You should be able to get waaay more than just 400 mhz with .2 extra volts though.
    See if you can get the cpu higher. Leave the vcore at 1.55 though.
     
  7. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Know offens but you only have 2 post and how do you know its safe? and welcome to TPU :)
     
  8. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    800 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    the reason I herd its sunsafe is the thermal threshold of X2s is far less than optys because X2s are optys that didnt pass some heat tests. But thats what I herd I dunno how true it is. Which is why you usually hear people killing X2s with voltage not optys.
     
  9. tim12379 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2006
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    lol none taken

    Ive been running my 3800 inbetween 1.50 and 1.55 volts since I got it over half a year ago.
    Also there was a period of like 3 months during that, when I couldnt find any temp monitoring programs, and I still had my stock heatsink, and so then when I finally found a program that could monitor my temps, I saw them shooting up into the 60's when it wasnt even on full load.
    But it was fine for me fo the couple months that I didnt know about that (I bought a good cooler as soon as I found out though, and my temps on full load are usualy around the low - mid 50's). Then for the past 2 months I have been dual folding, 24/7 with the cpu being on 100% load the entire time, and its been fine for those 2 months.

    Then when experimenting, and trying to find the highest speed the cpu could get (which was 2.9, succesfully booted into windows, and saved the cpu-z validation file before it crashed :D ), I had the vcore set upto 1.8. While it was only at 1.8 for maybe 20 minutes, It didnt get fried fo those 20 minutes.

    Anyways im willing to bet my cpu that 1.55 is safe for X2's :toast:
     
  10. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    ty bro for the info very helpful but my comp keeps crashing even on 1.45volts i rased all my over volt options about .10 volts for like the ram and stuff and its stiff crashes it will ren PC MARK and 3Dmark 05 and i get a nice 7300 cpu score in 3dmark but ill be surfing the web and looking up stuff and boom it just dies and reboots
     
  11. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    Similar problem here, it turned out the HDD was failing and finally failed.

    1.55v on a X2 4000 should not be a problem, as long as it stays under temp.
     
  12. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Well i have a 2X 4400 and at 1.475 i can get 2500mhz and what for the mV on the DDR ram be ? i have it set to +20 is that ok and could changing the timings do enything to help?
     
  13. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,152 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Woow man i just ran 3Dmark 05 on my comp and i got a better score running my cpu at 2500 then at 2600 at 2600 i got 7300 cpu score and at 2500 i got 7700 weird eh?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page