1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD 45 Years old today!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by RCoon, May 1, 2014.

  1. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,473 (8.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,615
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    In case anyone cares.

    Anyone got some glory-days stories about any of their original hardware?
     
    Pixrazor, broken pixel, PHaS3 and 4 others say thanks.
  2. bubbleawsome

    bubbleawsome

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2014
    Messages:
    187 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    77
    That's pretty neat. Imagine being a chip designer that long. Lol.
    /first post outside of DC forum. :)
     
  3. natr0n

    natr0n

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,973 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,019
    My 1st AMD system was a k6-2 500mhz on a VIA board. o_O
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  4. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,864 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,341
    The first PC i ever built out of college was an AMD64 rig. I think it was something like a 3200+ I dont exactly remember doing much with it because i had no idea about overclocking back then and the tech courses i was doing didnt teach you about that stuff - everything i know about overclocking I pretty much learnt on Guru3D or TPU. I joined TPU when the whole overclocking craze was starting to die out. back then it was quite a bit more complicated to OC and people used to refer to it as a 'dark art' because you were risking your hardware. These days overclocking is quite simple.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  5. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    689 (0.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Rīga
    Speaking of middle age crisis :D

    My first AMD stone one was this one... later got a Pentium Pro

    AMD Am486 DX4-100SV8B 01.jpg

    I just remembered, do you recall fake CPU's? Those were times :D
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2014
    jmcslob, stinger608 and RCoon say thanks.
  6. T-Bob

    T-Bob

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    106 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Savannah, Georgia
    I still have a socket939 based system in service. It has a FX60 CPU on a DFI LanParty motherboard with an ATI chipset. That is the first chipset to support ATI Crossfire.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,260 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,711
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Hmm, I don't recall the first AMD that I had but I do still have an Asus Super Socket 7 motherboard sporting a K6-2 350. :peace:

    Purchased both of them brand spanking new..........God I think I paid around $300 for them at the time. If I recall correctly I added in 4 megs of ram........Crap, that was another $100 or so at the time.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  8. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,747 (1.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    I owned the first ever manufactured CPU that breached the 1GHz. It was the AMD K7 1GHz Thunderbird processor. Loved that thing, it was super fast and very efficient per clock even back then.

    I wish AMD would return to its former CPU glory days. APU's aren't bad, but their CPU part is so-so.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  9. Devon68

    Devon68

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2014
    Messages:
    617 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    I still have my first PC from 2004 running a Athlon 2200+ on a 462 socket. For non gaming needs gets the job done. I even used it for rendering in 3DSmax for a school project.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,235 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Awesome. Long Live AMD. Fight the dark, we are with you!
     
  11. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    4,956 (4.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,561
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    My first was a K6-2 266. Wish I still had it. But I have everything from a Slot A to my Am3+ . I have always been an Amd w/ Ati/amd guy.



    Happy Birthday AMD :clap::clap::toast::toast: Hope many more to come.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. robal

    robal

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Messages:
    485 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Hampshire, UK
    My first PC was 386. I used it for years before realizing it had AMD's chip, not Intel.

    [​IMG]
     
    jmcslob says thanks.
  13. torgoth

    torgoth

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2013
    Messages:
    110 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    My first PC had a Duron 950 mhz <3 followed by Athlon XP 2600+ < hot mofo
    then I had a am2 4400+ and after that I joined the evil side :/
     
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,019 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,731
    Location:
    US
    Last edited: May 3, 2014
  15. biowiet

    biowiet

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Netherlands
    After long suffering with a celeron in 2004 I moved to AMD and that rig is still running as a file server. It's a MSI K8N Platinum used to run with Athlon64 3700+ (San Diego, 1 core) originally 2200MHz overclocked to 3Ghz. Now it has an X2 4600+ on default. Graphic card and ram was updated couple of times. The old CPU is still in the drawer. The main rig I use is a Phenom 965 on 3800Mhz, I built it 4 years ago upgraded ram, ssd and graphics and it still does the job pretty well. I hope there will be some good AMD APU when upgrade time is coming... but that won't come too fast, I'm still happy with this. I think I will wait until the next good generation and than invest again for a couple of years.
     
    Last edited: May 3, 2014
  16. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    324 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    191
    Location:
    Jyväskylä, Finland
    Late cheers for AMD! Gotta open a can for beer! :toast:
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  17. vladv New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    AMD ftw for me = FX-60 + DFI LanParty NF4 SLI-DR Expert !
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  18. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    7,260 (3.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,711
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Have that exact same board! Awesome motherboard............Now if I could just find an FX-60. :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,396 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697

    i had the budget model of that board, and did the pencil mod to the northbridge to unlock SLI >:D


    i might still have a really old AMD chip in the house (386 era), it may have got thrown out a few moves ago.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  20. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,154 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,114
    Location:
    Oregon
    My first real build was a K6-2 350
     
    xvi says thanks.
  21. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,396 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    nah damint, i threw the CPU out.


    all i can remember from it was that it said AMD on the front, but had intel copyright stuff on the back - it was an AMD CPU for an intel 386 or 486 socket.

    the back casing had come off, and you could see inside it to the shiny CPU stuff.
     
  22. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    5,154 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,114
    Location:
    Oregon
  23. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,380 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,230
    I had a 386, and then 486, K5, went to Super/7, Slot 1, Socket A, 478, 754, 939, 757, AM2+ and here I still sit other than computers I setup.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  24. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,396 (11.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,697
    in the pentium 1/2 days (when i was old enough to have my own PC) AMD had CPU's that fit in the intel sockets.
     
  25. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,535 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,640
    The first pc I built was in 2004. I went with a AMD Athlon64 3200+. Those were grand days indeed:)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page