1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Amd 5800k psu

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by ELiTRiGG3R, Mar 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    Can I use a 5 yr old PSU rated 350 peak and 300 with AMD 5800k, i won't overclock, no graphic card, IDE 7200, 1 DVD player. Usage is 1 and a half year 24/7. It is of Delta electronics Model no. 350AB A , most of the things that came with the computer were of good quality.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    You could get away with using it for temp but I would suggest picking up a new PSU early
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,768 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,878
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Short answer, no.
    Long answer, get a rated PSU with more power.
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,739 (9.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,213
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    He is just asking if it would work coon which it will but for how long would be the question.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,768 (8.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,878
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Not long, i wouldnt dare buy a new processor and hook it up to an old unrated PSU. Could be saying goodbye to a processor if it gets stressed and/or just plain dead.

    EDIT: i notice you're asking the same question in another thread, please try to keep it tidy and keep the questions in one thread, if only to help yourself
     
  6. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Yes it should if it meets the spec. Without listing any information about the psu, none of us here can help you find a definitive answer.
     
  7. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    631 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    That particular Delta is just fine for your build. For budget units such as that one, Delta uses a grab-bag of capacitors, but they're mostly Elite, Ltec, Su'scon and Teapo. Point being, if it was never stressed much, and if it's not buried under a ton of dust, you should be just fine for at least 2 more years. And when it does decide to croak, it won't take anything with it, so no worries.
     
  8. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
  9. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    it will work just fine. delta makes excellent PSUs. i have a 250 watt that could pull an athlon and a 4650! and it still works after 5 years!
     
    ELiTRiGG3R says thanks.
  10. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,251 (1.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    It will work fine.
     
  11. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    For 3-4 years.
     
  12. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
  13. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    MSI FM2 55 E33 is the mobo
     
  14. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    Bhai, it will work well. dont worry. 300W alone is more than enough for a system without a graphics card.
     
    ELiTRiGG3R says thanks.
  15. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    But it is very old and have considerable amount, but I will clean what is possible.
     
  16. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    dont clean. you will only risk ruining it. i have a 6 year old delta 250W that could power my AMD Phenom ii 945, an ATI 4650, 2 hdds, one dvd writer, and a m4a 785dm-pro.
    it used to serve as my back up, when i was hopping from one local brand to another. before i got the corsair i.e. Corsair has spent 2 years already and still no hickups! *touchwood*


    comparing delta to other local indian brands like zebronics, and techcomm and frontic is plain idiotic.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2013
  17. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    So you are saying that it is good???
     
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,885 (4.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,111
    it is epic.
     
    ELiTRiGG3R says thanks.
  19. zilla New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2008
    Messages:
    25 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Try it and see, monitor the rail stability especially the +12v. Play some games, reboot 2036 times (kidding lol). :) 350W 'quality' PSU should be fine - the caveat to that is that there aren't too many quality 350W PSU's. Try it and find out.
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    A quality 200W powersupply can and will run a 5800K based graphics-cardless system. He doesn't need anything more than that delta at all. We are talking about a midrange CPU/GPU combo that doesn't pull 125W all on its own with some minor paraphernalia.
     
    ELiTRiGG3R says thanks.
  21. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    Even the manufacturer can't tell you that. It depends on how much load you've been putting on it, how clean it is, how many times it's been moved, etc... If it's been well maintained and treated good, there's no reason a PSU can't last for 10+ years.
     
  22. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    It is having considerable dirt, never been transported, and has a pestium d, geforce 210, sata 7200, 1 DVD Drive.
     
  23. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    get one of those air duster cans and blow it off. Don't blow with your mouth lol. You might get your saliva in there and mess some things up.
    For some reason, old PSU are sensitive with shock so they will work as long as you don't move them around. Even a small amount of shock will break them easily. I've had 2 old PSU died because removed them and placed it on a table lol. They were over 5 years old but it was working great until that small shock of placing it on a table.
     
  24. ELiTRiGG3R

    ELiTRiGG3R

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2013
    Messages:
    254 (0.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    India
    I have a vacuum cleaner with blower option will it work.
     
  25. tokyoduong

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2013
    Messages:
    478 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    119
    I guess it could but I don't recommend it. Just use it til it breaks.
     
    ELiTRiGG3R says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page