1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD 6000+ released

Discussion in 'News' started by Jimmy 2004, Jan 27, 2007.

  1. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Although the AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ wasn’t expected until the 20th of February, the company’s last X2 high-end processor before it begins to use its next generation architecture is out now. The processor uses a 90nm process and runs at 3.0GHz, with 1MB of L2 cache. It is essentially the socket AM2 equivalent to the FX-74, although this is slightly more expensive at the moment. Newegg is selling the processor for $599 and it is in stock at present, whilst Buy.com has set a price of $685.99 but it is sold out at the moment.

    Source: DailyTech
  2. Casheti

    Casheti New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    4,422 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    29
    :wtf: just buy a core 2 duo and be happy...
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,867 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,973
    It has to cost a lot less than $600 for it to get my attention.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    lol or you could just buy a X62....well actually the 5600+ x2 is cheaper than the X62 and is techincally the same chip. From what newegg specifications reveal atleast.
  5. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    That sounds pretty good...

    The "AM2 version" of the CPU I have for Socket939 here, pretty much! Same cache size too, & I like having the extra (because I do some tasks that gain by it is why).

    :)

    * Probably some improvements over the AMD Athlon64 X² 4800+ (like HIGHER mhz initial clock, prior to overclocking :) , since 3.0ghz IS higher than what my CPU does natively @ 2400mhz/2.4ghz, but o/c's out to 2.8ghz pretty stably) I use here!

    (This new one has advantages, like being able to use more modern chipsets & AM2 DDR2 memory, not a huge gainer YET from what I understand, but still good to have possible imo vs. DDR-400 etc. et al)!

    If I had an AM2 based chipset, I'd look @ one of these @ the very least, as a POSSIBLE upgrade, once its prices dropped some.

    APK
    Last edited: Jan 28, 2007
  6. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    788 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    anyone else noticing that AMD is doing the same thing intel was doing when they were no longer leading the market? That is pumping clocks of older chips.
  7. bornfree New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    101 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This was a scheduled part number in the roadmap. AMD has so many new chips coming it can be overwhelming. Personally I feel the market is saturated so it's gonna take major techno changes to stimulate big sales gains by the PC industry from now on.
  8. Alec§taar New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    4,677 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Someone who's going to find NewTekie1 and teach hi
    Good point, & that brings up another one: NOTE, that above, I stated how my CPU (a 'close relative' imo of this one being mentioned in the news post) can o/c out to 2.8ghz, from 2.4ghz?

    I wonder how much this one can go, over its native 3.0ghz mark, when overclocked??

    :)

    * I'd take another 400-500mhz anytime, over the 'stock oem clock rate' of the CPU, personally...

    (So, I wonder how good of an overclocker it's be... I didn't see any data on that, & if it's there, I just overlooked it!)

    APK
  9. Greek

    Greek New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    572 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Leicester, UK
    i think amd are waisting their time with this, jus bring out some new tech
  10. DaMulta

    DaMulta My stars went supernova

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16,119 (5.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,454
    Location:
    Oklahoma T-Town
    I wonder what this compairs to the FX62 as/
  11. bhaskar15 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    146 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    :p other than getting this a core2extreme should be a better choice, but if prices fall down this should be a good choic :D
  12. breakfromyou New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2005
    Messages:
    298 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    virginia, usa
    stupid idea.

    AMD, stop releasing uber expensive processors that don't even have a chance against Intel's offering in the same price range.

    Thanks.

    btw: don't expect these to overclock very well at all.
  13. PyroInc New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    682 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    w0rd
  14. xman2007

    xman2007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    634 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    well from benches and reviews a standard non oc e6300 will be at par with a x2 4200 at the least so this x2 6000 should realistically be able to swap blows with the e6600/e6800 imo, and at the right price aswell. wait for the next gen k8's and amd will probably be back at the top of the processor tree, although i feel another am2 X2 is a little too little too less tbh
  15. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    This is a nice addition. Personally, I dont feel AMD is doing what intel did. They just have a roadmap to follow and they are delivering on the promise made to its consumers. A plethora of chips for all types and choosers. the 65NM will be awesome, but I cant wait until the 45nm comes out in later 07, 1st half of 08 (they are ahead of schedule on these)
  16. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,867 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,973
    Yep, it is an easy way to get performance, well easier than designing a whole new architecture. They also seem to be taking a page from Intel's book and adding an L3 cache to boost performance(on the K8Ls). If it works, use it.

    I don't know, but something tells me this is already pushing the upper limit of clock speed for these chips. I wouldn't expect even 400-500Mhz, honestly(on "normal" cooling of course).
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  17. boecke

    boecke New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2007
    Messages:
    95 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Get some more Socket 939's on the AMD line and i'll be happy, screw this AM2 crap.
  18. Namslas90 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    4,851 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    555
    Location:
    Earth
    The most sensible reason for this release is to use up leftover cores/components. The large cache production lines were shut down a while ago to retool for the new 65nm technology. These are possably left over FX series cores without the larger double cache. SO, why throw them out when you can rename them and sell them.
  19. EviLZeD

    EviLZeD New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Messages:
    818 (0.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    amd are probably trying to keep there fans more intrested buy releasing new processors
  20. Dippyskoodlez New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,061 (1.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    230
    Location:
    Ohio
    my 3700+ did 3ghz OOTB.

    No way this is "pushing" their better yields. :confused:
  21. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    They already did test with a X62@3ghz and a X6800 and it lost out to the X6800 at stock and the X6700 and stock I believe.
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,867 (6.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,973
    I think it is, so we will just have to see.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (8.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I'd consider this as an upgrade if it was like $300-350, but at it's current price, I could just buy a new mobo and a core2, overclock it, and have more performance.
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,673 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    remember 4ghz p4s :roll: still 3ghz native is pretty niec you have to admit and will do well in people who dont oc's computers
  25. InfDamarvel New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    500 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    If would have been better if AMDs 65 nm had helped with o/cing. Then people could buy this and hit 3.4ghz and stuff lol.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page