1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD 7850x2 dual core CPU info?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by BlackMagic, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. BlackMagic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y. - Lake Ontario
    I have a very old system laying around here and thought what the hell, I'll try and get it up and running. Whoops, it does run, I mean run better (faster). It is an AMD type which I am not at all familiar with.

    Presently it has a AMD Athlon X2 4200 cpu in it (it came with a 3800+ cpu originally). I want to build something for my teen grandson that will play COD: BO's when he's over. He already has a good machine at his home and plays the game regularly over there.

    I already know I won't be able to turn on much eye candy in the game, thats ok. Just want the game to play!! 30-40 fps would be great.

    I found a AMD X2 7850x2 BE dual core cpu on the Egg for <$50.00 and ordered one.
    I might have to buy a new-old mobo though to take full advantage of this 7850?

    The machine now has an Asus M2N-4 SLI AM2 board, maybe I need an AM2+ board to see any speed advantage?

    I have a Xiggy Dark Knight laying around here I could use for cooling. Maybe oc her a little?
    It has a PNY Xlr8 - 8800 Nvidia gpu in it.

    Am I flogging a dead horse here?
    Did I blow $50.00?
    Must I spend another $50-70 to get where I want to be?
    Is the AMD X2 7850x2 BE a good upgrade over the Athlon X2 4200?

    I don't know, just asking for opinions...
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2011
  2. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,937 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,358
    BlackMagic says thanks.
  3. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    I don't see the 7850 listed on ASUS's list of supported CPUs for the M2N4-SLI. My guess is it's compatible anyway, but you'll need to have a relatively recent BIOS. There may be some minor performance gains if you got an AM2+ board, but not enough to be worth the additional cash (IMO).

    The 7850 is quite a bit better than the 4200+ but I don't really know about the performance in CoD:BO. I hear it's strongly CPU bound game which may present a problem even for the 7850, but I don't know. My guess is it will play decently on slightly reduced settings.
    BlackMagic says thanks.
  4. BlackMagic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y. - Lake Ontario
    OK, that sounds good because if I remember correctly, the 4200+ that's in her now was sort of decent for everyday general use. Spreadsheets, Word, etc.

    Maybe this thing will work...lol.
    It's worth a try.
    ;)
  5. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,867 (6.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,060
    Location:
    Ohio
    I used to have a 7750BE that I overclocked to 3GHz on 1.30v. Running am2+ cpus in older am2 boards is possible, but flaky.
    BlackMagic says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. BlackMagic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y. - Lake Ontario
    Yea, I'm reading that myself online.
    I guess I might have to buy a new mobo if it winds up being flaky, as you mentioned.

    Here is one I have in mind...http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131595

    ???
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I have that mobo on one of my servers and its very very stable and fast. If you are lucky you might be able to unlock the extra 2 dormant cores on that 7850 CPU and make it a full functional Quad core.

    8800 GPU I guess should be fine to handle the game with that CPU with decent fps.

    sent pm on few boards I have (if you like to buy used)

    :toast:
    Last edited: Dec 30, 2010
    BlackMagic says thanks.
  8. BlackMagic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y. - Lake Ontario
    That sounds awesome, now how does one go about trying to "unlock" cores?

    :laugh:
  9. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,438 (1.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,496
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    You bought the wrong CPU for unlocking cores. Can you cancel the order? This CPU should unlock to a Phenom II quad core on that Mobo.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. BlackMagic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y. - Lake Ontario
    Naw, too late, its already on the road via UPS.
    Due in Monday the 3rd.

    Oh well, guess I'll just have to see what this thing can do.
    As I said, it's only for Friday night gaming for my grandkid.
    And he's now got his first car...lol. He probably won't be spending too much time here anymore.
    Cars, girls, G4 cell phones, you know the deal.
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,052 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    790
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    If you go thru the bios you should see something like core unlock or core boost (don't remember), just enable and the mobo will do the rest. If it doesn't boot up, clear the bios and restart the machine.

    Like Buck mentioned with the 7850 its only a remote chance. With the newer AM3 C3 stepping more chance to unlock.
  12. BlackMagic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y. - Lake Ontario
    Follow up, AMD 7850 Black Ed. cpu received today from the Egg.
    The machine won't boot at all, nothing, nada.
    The mobo is getting power ok, I get a green light on the board.
    When I hit the power on button the machine starts and runs for about 5 seconds and shuts right off.
    I reflashed the BIOS to the latest BIOS (ver. 1301 released 6-2010) as it had an old ver. (301)
    I cleared the CMOS via battery removal and jumper.
    Still nothing.
    Put in the 4200+ and all is fine, working great.
    Funny thing is, and I don't know for sure, but the new cpu looked like it may have been used. It had a very slight polished marking on the top surface. Sort of like it may have been installed once before.
    Upon inspection with a good loop and lighting, I examined the pins. They look new.
    So I don't know where the hell I'm at now.
    I can't prove I have a dead cpu from the Egg and I don't have a AM2+ board to try it in.
    Only have the AM2 board.
    I don't think I want to spend more money buying a newer board and then find out the cpu was defective all along.
    Any suggestions on what I may have missed?
  13. THRiLL KiLL

    THRiLL KiLL

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    711 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Seattle
    BlackMagic says thanks.
  14. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,271 (2.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    854
    Location:
    London, UK
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2011
  15. THRiLL KiLL

    THRiLL KiLL

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    711 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    140
    Location:
    Seattle
    doing some research, having a back screen after upgrading the processor is common.

    here is the generic awnser that asus gives in the fourms:



    manual:
    http://dlsvr03.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socketAM2/M2N4-SLI/e2670_m2n4-sli.pdf
  16. BlackMagic New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2010
    Messages:
    70 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Upstate N.Y. - Lake Ontario
    I took your advise and RMA'd it, same day as received.
    NewEgg was great about handling it.
    I should have looked closer on the Egg's site and sorted User Feedback by Negative Results before buying it.
    :toast:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page