1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD 7970 owners, what does your VRM 1 and 2 temp reach during long gaming sessions?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Phusius, Oct 1, 2012.

  1. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    I am at 1100/1500 1175v 20% slider

    VRM 1 105 Celsius after 2 hours of Shogun 2 or BF3

    VRm 2 about 80ish


    What are your VRm temps with a OC like mine after some good gaming sessions?
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,655 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,048
    Ambient temp is 25c (it's a bit warm in here) Clocks are 1100/1575

    [​IMG]
     
  3. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    erocker you must not have read me fully, I did not mean idle, I meant after some heavy duty gaming, like bf3 for 20 mins or shogun 2 for an hr.
     
  4. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    ummm furmark tends to get cards a little hot...
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,971 (6.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,226
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    uh yeah, to the point it can destroy cards haha!

    Erocker also has his 7970 watercooled so that can make the difference too.
     
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,655 (13.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,048
    Hotter than any game could. That is definitely not idle. That is 100% load. During gaming for a couple hours temps would be about 2-5c less. Actually, I did run furmark after playing Borderlands 2 for a couple hours. As you can see on GPU-z, this is where the temps settled.

    Btw, I wouldn't recommend running furmark on your card. Your VRM temps are already very high for some reason.
     
  7. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    thanks erocker, I can not figure it out. my voltage is lowered, and the heatsinks on the vrm are on nice and good. Also, I have read others VRM's getting this high, and others replying that 120C is there limit. So I am not sure what to do, I don't seem to have any issues when it does get that hot, but still I do not like it... and my room gets warm because of it. Blasted. May send my card back to MSI for replacement.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012
  8. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,324 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Like people said, erockers card is WC'd, it makes a difference, mine are WC'd and I'd be surprised if they ever break 40c. Might want to see what others on air are seeing. Those temps might be normal.
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2012
    Phusius says thanks.
  9. Kaiser Kraus

    Kaiser Kraus

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    62 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    I have a reference Sapphire HD7970 which have it OC'd to 1125/1575 on 1.125v. I have my fan set at 60% while gaming and vrm temps are at 76~80 degrees. You should try to lower your voltage because I think that seems to affect your cards temps adversely. Also, adequate case ventilation can alleviate those high temps. If all else fails try raising your fan speed while gaming (I use MSI afterburner for that matter).
     
  10. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Yeah that is why I made this topic actually. 7970 owners come on wake up!!! :rockout:
     
  11. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Crap mate sorry I was gonna do some logging while playing Borderlands earlier. Aida64 which I made a page for on my G15's LCD only shows one VRM sensor. Only GPU-Z sees two. Off the top of my head when paying attention to it. It seems to match my GPU temps most of the time.

    WIll get back to you with solid results when I am am gaming next.
     
  12. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,583 (10.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Yes thats one thing that pisses me about the MX5500 keyboard, that its the almost same as a G15 rev2 but none of the apps will work with mine. Would love to have CPU/GPU temps on my keyboard.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    I am using an XFX R7970BEDD running at 1050/1425, 1112mv (stock voltage), powertune +20% and custom MSI AB profile. I purchaced it in february.

    I found out about the version of GPU-z that reads VRM voltages yesterday so I had it running on background during a few hours of Guild-wars 2 and Shogun 2.

    The maximum GPU temp was 68c with fans at 55%.
    Max VRM1 temp: 70c
    Max VRM2 temp: 55c

    The maximum temp I have ever seen on my card is 73c with furmark, a long time ago when i tested it.

    Using a screen with 1900x1200 resolution and a Corsair 800D obsidian case with H100 cpu cooler and aftermarket fans for custom airflow.
     
  14. BigMack70

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    498 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    My VRM temps never go above 55C during heavy gaming. The Lightning 7970s have amazing cooling on the VRMs and memory chips!

    I'm running two 7970 Lightning cards in crossfire at 1195/1800 at 1.21 vcore and 1.63 vram. GPU core temps will go up to ~80-85C when both cards are under full load for a while, but the VRM and memory chips stay nice and icy cool.

    The VRM cooling is why I traded in my original 7970 (an XFX DD BE) for Lightning models... not interested in a VRM blowing up in a year or two.
     
  15. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380

    I tried 1112v, same clocks as u, 114c vrm 1 and 95 on 2...

    so yeah this card is going back to Msi for a replacement, thanks all for the input.
     
  16. Kaynar

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    615 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    163
    Phusius your VRM temps are indeed very high even for a stock card.

    Though many users in few forums that I read mention VRM temp that are around 100c (especially with some bad aftermarket coolers). It depends on many things, but for example there was a french website that reviewed the XFX 7970BEDD card and said its worst ever card cause VRMs are around 100-110c (but mine never go above 70).
     
    Phusius says thanks.
  17. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Yeah, I was not too worried about 100 Celsius since the cap is 120, but now that i am seeing 114 it is getting RMA'd.
     
  18. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    \

    Well it's nothing to do with my keyboard. It's AIDA64 not seeing the 2nd VRM sensor. AIDA is just awesome for the G15 support(It's an almost antique now V1 still working without fault) Basically AIDA gives me 4 blank pages I can set up with whatever data it can give me.

    Page 1 is the "General" one/ CPU,VRM,GPU,SYS temps. CPU clock and Volts, CPU Utilization(4 cores)

    Page 2 is GPU. Temps, Clocks, Fan Speeds, VRAM usage.

    Page 3 is Fans.

    Page is 4 is Voltages(Tho I never really finished that one)

    For the first time in YEARS I have let my AIDA64 license lapse But it expired in June so not like the 7970 wouldn't be in the database. My hardware should all be in there so no need to renew my license.

    ANYWAYS.

    Phusius I should prolly know this but your on a reference cooler? Just waiting for some mates to get free so we can jump back into Borderlands and I'll get some data. Already have GPU-Z running and set to log.
     
  19. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    No I am using a Arctic Cooler with 3 fans on it.
     
  20. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,684 (6.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Is everything installed correctly on the cooler?
     
  21. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    But was it a reference card? My Sapphire for example has it's own heatsinks for the VRM and RAM.

    [​IMG]
     
  22. Phusius

    Phusius New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1,318 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    380
    Yes, it was reference, and yes all the heatsinks are installed the thermal glue that came with the Arctic.


    mine just has the individual squares and such, its the very original launch card
     
  23. Frogger

    Frogger

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,180 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    313
    That stuff a B*tch to get off for the RMA Good luck
     
  24. manofthem

    manofthem

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2011
    Messages:
    5,951 (4.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,370
    Phusius, what did you do to your card!? I'd try to throw up my numbers for you but since they are wc'd, it won't help all that much.
    I hope the RMA goes well for you, GL with it! I've never had to send anything to MSI; I hope they're accommodating.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  25. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2,834 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    426
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    OK may be too late to be of any use but playing a decent session of Borderlands 2 in a rather small warm room VRM1 peaked at 60 and VRM2 at 59. That is stock 1000/1450.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page