1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD 8120 fx not stable at 4,5ghz

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by The3chosenone, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I am shocked it didn't catch fire the second he overclocked that 8120 :roll:
  2. The3chosenone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    71 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well I'm just trying to figure out if it's the actual problem. I know one is heat and two it may be the psu. I would buy me a new psu but that means I wouldn't have enough for the water cooling kit. I'm just trying to go as far as I can with what i have
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,617 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Before you do anything, and spend $100+ on cooling, pick up a new power supply. Itll be so much better, and provide much stable power for when you start overclocking.

    CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2...

    Well trying to go as far as you can on a very cheap power supply and trying to jump right to 4.5GHZ is not the way to go. Im pretty sure a 8120 at 4.5GHZ will pull close to 200w just in itself lol
  4. The3chosenone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    71 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Well if I get a new psu I can't get a new water cooling system. I'm running off my Christmas money right now lol
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    do you really wanna see all your hardware go up in a blaze of "factory smoke" when that crapola Psu Decides to go thermal Nuclear
    Get the psu and a set of Good high CFM HIGH static pressure fans you will be surprised what a difference changing the fans on that H50 will make Odds are you won't hit more then 4.5Ghz either way cooling or not the 50 should do a "reasonable" job once you get the voltages set correctly
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  6. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,617 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    exactly. Power supply first. My rule of thumb is buying the best power supply you can, never cheap out on them since they are the heart and soul of a system. Atleast thats how i think of them. Then get 2 pack deal of the new Corsair SP120 fans and run your H50 in push pull. That would make quite the difference. Maybe get some new TIM and reseat the H50.
  7. The3chosenone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    71 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    the HX-750 is a bit excessive for what he _really_ needs
    SeaSonic M12II 620 Bronze 620W ATX12V V2.3 / EPS 1... Plenty of power and then some
  9. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,617 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Dont waste your money on that right now lol. You need a power supply.

    List:

    1. Corsair HX750 80 Plus Gold Power supply CORSAIR HX Series HX750 750W ATX12V 2.3 / EPS12V 2...

    2. Corsair High Performance SP120 Fans 2x Pack Corsair Air Series SP120 High Performance Edition ...

    3. Arctic Cooling MX-4 Thermal Paste/Compound to reseat H50 ARCTIC MX4 Thermal Paste - 4gram

    That should be a good start for you.
  10. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    don't bother with a custom loop you aren't ready my Yong Padawan
    and yes I have had PSU's shoot fire out the back and frie 70% of the system in the process its not fun and its not cheap
    you are getting the rocket-hot temps because the voltage is probably on AUTO and shoving 1.55v though it LOL

    steps to overclocking enlightenment
    1. replace Power supply with something thats not gonna go BUZZZZZZZZZZZZappp POP POP Perooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo~off
    2. install some better fans on that H50
    3. set the voltages to something SANE
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  11. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,617 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    like i said. Get the best you can LOL. The HX750 Gold is on sale for $129. and then another $10 with a MIR. Spend the extra for a better PSU, more power, higher efficiency, and better voltage regulation and ripple.

    Get that shit on video. Id love to see that haha.
  12. The3chosenone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    71 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    And there goes my Christmas money... and damn dude. But I wanted to get a custom water cooling kit so I could learn more and I just wanted to put it together because it looks cool. Not to mention I'm sure my temps will be a lot lower than they are now.
  13. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    whats the point if it looks cool but doesn't go fast
    you can always add a Custom water loop later :)
    if you replace the fans with good quality HIGH static pressure ones the H50 should keep the 8150 under the Recommended MAX of 62C @ 4.5Ghz
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  14. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,617 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    You need a stable and good PSU before you need cooling.
  15. The3chosenone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    71 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    True true, but if I'm upgrading my cpu cooler why not taking it to the next step? The colder the better right? And If my cpu cooler is failing now,I don't think adding fans will help much.
  16. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    out of Curiosity what is the EXACT model of PSU
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH THE COOLER
    THE VOLTAGES ARE PROBABLY NOT EVEN CLOSE TO BEING SET RIGHT
    NEVER USE ANY KIND OF AUTOMATIC OVERCLOCKING IT NEVER FUCKING WORKS :banghead:
  18. The3chosenone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    71 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Is this good? My father had one and I'm thinking about buying it, but could I add another radiator to it to make it colder? And my volts were at 1.4 It was working until I rendered a video then it crashed and hit 70c.
  19. The3chosenone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    71 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  20. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
  21. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    9,617 (6.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,043
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Whats better cooling going to do when the heart of your system(Power supply) cant even supply the power to the CPU to handle those clocks anyways?
  22. The3chosenone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    71 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not ignoring, I already put the psu in the cart. I'm just asking should I get a better cooler or get different fans for the one I have now.
  23. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    take the custom whole water cooling idea and throw it right out the window
    first up you need to get your voltage issues "both power supply and motherboard setting related under control)
    MxPhenom 216 says thanks.
  24. The3chosenone New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2012
    Messages:
    71 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Okay, I have a question about the voltages. If you were to under power it than the recommend settings would it mess up? I have it at 1.1 instead of 1.3 on stock settings which is 3.1ghz. I can go to best buy and pick up the psu.
  25. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    /me sighs
    Get the new Psu installed THEN worrie about cooling you don't even know if your CPU is a decent overclocked to warrant spending 150 bucks on water cooling in fact there are a lot of really good air coolers that are better then the H50

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page