1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Amd 940be

Discussion in 'General Nonsense' started by Bluefox1115, Jan 8, 2009.

  1. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    anyone? :)
     

    Attached Files:

  2. DonInKansas

    DonInKansas

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,096 (1.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,265
    Location:
    Kansas
    I'm confused by this thread.
     
  3. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    lol. general nonsense. input on that setup? tempted.. :O
     
  4. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
  5. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    eh. i can't stand biostar boards. and the memory wont fit with my hsf. :p and also. nvidia card on amd/ati chipset? not a good combo. :(
     
  6. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    All I can say here is that is not much less expensive than an i7 platform.
     
  7. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    [​IMG]

    With your SLI 280 which is a bad idea because of the 295... the total would come to $1,294.94
     
  8. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,319 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    <---------Bought mine this morning. Hardware in system specs
     
  9. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    I personally would go for the P6T/ Deluxe/ WS board, and 6GB of Tri-Channel ram.. upping the anti from the $650 range to the $1000+ range just for board, CPU, and ram, hence my personal favorite choice of the AMD platform. :\ As for the GTX 280 SLI, I some how prefer 1GB, 512bit of the GTX 280 over the GTX 295, simply because it's a dual socket card, in which, only 1 set of ram is acknowledged, shared by 2 cores. ( the same as standard SLI of 2 cards) so the SLI of 2x GTX 280's would equate to 1GB of 512bit memory ackowledged for 2 gpus as opposed to 896MB 448bit memory ackowledged for 2 gpus. the GTX 295 is simply a GTX 260 with the 240 steam processors of a GTX 280. :\ Vendors, and GFX card companies themselves miscommunicate this by showing exactly what newegg has advertised.. "Stream Processors 480 (240 x 2) processing cores ", Memory Size 1792MB, Memory Interface 896 (448 x 2)-bit" for the EVGA GTX 295+ card. That's like the people on EBAY selling "super power computers" with a cheap "2.2GHz quad core CPU" and advertising it as "8.8GHz total processing power!". Hardware just doesn't work that way, it just splits the load, rather than multiply its features, except for the Core i7's, with their Hyper Threading Technology of simulating more cores, as the P4's did. By the way, this same concept applies(d) to the 9800GX2. :(
     
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2009
  10. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Dude you totally are missing the point, and I've got to call your fanboyism/logic crippling. Enjoy your P II.
     
  11. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    I understand the point of having 1 card vs 2 makes for more open space and such, but in my preference the 1GB of 512bit memory would be better than 896MB of 448bit memory. And missing the point of what? getting an Intel Core i7? I don't want one. I do top of the line AMD, and I see a lower price, and about equal performance to my eyes. I'm not gonna buy a junk board (my experience with gigabyte and biostar) and pair it with an awesome processor. If I bought an i7 920, I'd most likely buy the P6T6 WS or Rampage 2 forumla, and I wouldn't skimp on ram. I'd get 6GB over 3GB anyday, seeing how it's tri-channel and not dual channel. Building a computer is all about preference and budget. Quite honestly I'd rather spend $1200 on an AM2+ 940BE setup with 4GB of ram, top of the line board, and 2 gtx 280's, than spend $1000, maybe more for just a cpu, ram and board. I don't do a lot of compression and decoding, so I have no benefit or need for "8" cores, 4 cores will serve me just fine, and they are quite efficient for my needs, and at a fractional price. I've thought of the Q9550, and ddr3, but I see no need in spending twice as much for a board and ram. Fanboy? Yeah sure, I love AMD, because they keep competition going whether it be processors or graphics cards. I've owned and still own more expensive Intel systems, and just don't see the need to spend $xxx more for something that will give today's common games about equal performance.. say what you will, but if you plug a 9800GX2 in, it doesn't say 1MB+1MB=2MB, it says 1+1=1, that's the rule of "SLI". Hybrid SLI is somewhat different however, but I don't plan on mixing GPU's. if you want to be technical, it would be card 0, and card 1. just like core 0, core 1, etc.
     
  12. kid41212003

    kid41212003

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3,584 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    533
    Location:
    California
    Errrr, calling GIGABYTES junk hurt my feeling... LMFAO.

    Anyway, If you're not going to buy an 30"LCD, than the GTX295 will fill all your needs right now.

    You don't need 1GB of memory card with an 22" or 24" LCD.

    You might want to read some reviews?

    Your build is really incomplete, and unbalanced.
     
  13. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    If you think I don't know how SLI works you're mistaken. I've been asking questions of people who have a 295 and it performs exactly like a GTX280 SLI. Have you owned a GTX260? Have you seen an overclocked GTX260 do 3D or CAD that is more GRAM intensive than games? Have you seen an overclocked GTX260 in games? I'm guessing the answer to these is no. The bandwidth does about as much as giving myself head. Sure it does the job but the chiropractor's bill just isn't worth it. As for your 4 vs 8 virtual core... you can turn HT off. It's still faster. If gaming is your excuse for spending the SAME amount of something you won't be able to upgrade later and does less then like I said. Enjoy your P II. You're still missing the point.

    I know you've seen this: P II not AMD3??
     
  14. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,109 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,651
    This is a better deal.

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Yuck MSI board :p i almost puked :cry:
     
  16. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,109 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,651
    Apparently you haven't a mature pallet then. Anyway they have Asus on there for cheaper. In the end what I posted is a better deal.
     
  17. Xazax

    Xazax

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3,425 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    401
    Not a fan of any MSI boards after i had two Socket 478 boards fail on me and MSI 680i do an epic fail....
     
  18. HolyCow02

    HolyCow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,638 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    New York
    i love MSI boards... I won't do Asus for much of the reason you won't do MSI, except mine was with bios and my 754
     
  19. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,109 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,651
    Ok nevermind the brand. Whatever brand you pick with a 790GX chipset will be better for the money. I mean 1,300 bucks without a case, PSU or anything else is insane. The components he picked are not worth their prices they are asking.

    For gaming or everyday use the system I posted is way more than enough for a few years.
     
    Bluefox1115 and Binge say thanks.
  20. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Mailman has the right idea for PII guys give him a break. My place on the issue is if you're going into P II then don't get within the price range of the i7.
     
  21. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    PII AM3 isn't out until Feb/ March, I know that. The part where a dual gpu on single card fails is with AA and AF and high res, that is where the extra memory and bandwidth come in. I have a few new toys to play with, and running 1900x1200 with AA and AF on medium to high on a GTX 295 would work, 2xGTX280's will dust it, especially when they are OC'ed. The larger amount of memory is key. Reviews and benches show the differences in different games and apps. Also, I plan on folding with those bad boys, so 2x 280's will yield quite high PPD, since I can unlink the SLI through software.. :D As for i7. I'd be spending about $1200 on 2 grpahics cards, quad core, 4gb ram, top of the line AMD SLI board, where as I would be spending about $1500 to $1600 with the 280's, and the i7 920, p6t deluxe/oc palm and 6GB of Corsair xm3-1600. $300- $400 savings with AMD, and with an avg OC of 3.7 to 3.8, I think an Ultra 120-extreme would get me somewhere around 3.8, maybe higher depending on the chip. My Ultra 120-X, gets me better temps than some WC setups.
     
  22. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    I already have a case, PSU, and the rest already available. I shoulda mentioned that.. and I hate Patriot memory. every kit (around 7) I've tried on different setups, don't meet their stated advertised spec. I'm tired of dealing with RMA's, and not just getting a refund.. :( plus their heatsinks wont fit under my cooler. And for some reason, RAID doesn't seam to work too well on the 790GX boards in my experience. Anyone know something I don't on the RAID issue and AMD chipset?
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  23. Bluefox1115

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    Messages:
    751 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    RI, USA
    This is starting to sound like Scientology. What point am I missing? That I don't want an i7? i7 and AMD are both scheduled for a remake yet again to their platform, so upgrade what? the proc? lga-1366 wont be compatible with the new setting coming out due to the pins.
     
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,109 (7.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,651
    Ok forget the brand ram. It's not the point. You're not getting your monies worth with the rig you want to build. A PII isnt in the same league as the intels. You use AMD for a different bracket. Spending 1,300 bucks on an AMD system is nuts unless you have some crazy water cooling or something going on AND thats included in the price.

    As for the 790GX having problems with RAID and such I haven't read that anywhere. As a matter of fact its considered one of the better chipsets on the market currently. Keep in mind man that just because something costs more does not mean its any better. In the computer world 2 seconds faster rendering something is considered "blowing away" the competition. However in the real world the only difference it makes is in your pockets.
     
  25. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You need to stop acting like a victim.

    These are only suggestions... strong suggestions, but just suggestions.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page