1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD A10-5800K APU for Socket FM2

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by cadaveca, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yeah, if you don't need a lot of 3D power, just 2d and VGA playback, and combine with Windows8 and AMD RamDrive, SSD or mehcanical storage, and there's value there that potentially cannot be beat.


    I am not aware of actual retail APU pricing yet though, wasn't out when this was written, and I haven't looked this mornin, but I think AMD might be willing to stay below what Intel offers, price-wise.

    Intel offers more CPU performance, since they castrate or bin from IVB all the way down to the low-end...it's all IVB. All with the smae basic GPU core, so you're left with most users with i5 and i7 chips having iGPUs sitting unused.

    AMD offers a customized solution. It'd be interesting to see how APUs transition to 22nm or whatever AMD ends up using for the next-gen.
     
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I am tempted to start looking into one of these for my HTPC...but I just purchased the intel bracketed swiftech :cry:
     
  3. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,899 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,417
    An i3 + 7770 is more than an A10 + 6670. And you can change resolutions on a desktop.

    Are these for gamers? No, they are not. But for avarage joes with occasional gaming they are excellent.
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    PSH!


    Just get one to put under a pot. You know you wanna. :p


    :laugh:
     
  5. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    So I guess it depends on what you want.

    If a system without a discrete GPU is for you, then the APUs are good for your laptop in a desktop case.

    If you want to additionally play games at decent resolutions and quality, then core I3s with a discrete GPU are most definaltely the way to go.
     
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    I have it sitting in the closet just begging to be used. :slap:
     
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I could defend AMD here, but that's not my job.


    :D

    I know you do. :p Heck, it's gonna be -30 outside soon, here, too. It's 42f here right now, and probably won't get warmer at all today.
     
  8. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Thursday and Friday have a chance of snow I can't wait to at least get some cold water benching in.
     
  9. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,181 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    I agree that if mild/entry gaming is the goal you don't go APU! The FX-4100 with 7770 is an excellent start. I don't see i3 as a value proposition, as a good mobo (Z77 ATX PCI-E w/two slot) that OC's hurts the pricing in many case; enough that someone could almost justify moving to the 7850 1Gb and then AMD system pulls away. But that not about APU’s... as what we’re dealing with here.

    I just wanted these APU vying against the i3-3220 with HD 2500, and then say both GT 520 and a 6450, while lastly the i3-3225 with HD4000… those would present unequivocal weight. All this i7 3770K or a i5 3210 mobile and 7850m, aren't in the realm of what this competition is about. This wasn't a educational review, and it's like TPU has to scrap together odds and ends for a dog and pony show…

    Honestly I expected more, and I’m not faulting cadaveca in any way! To me TPU should have stepped-up and purchase if need be the right stuff to provide pertinent results.
     
  10. parkerm35

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    mITX

    Am i the only one who can picture one of these in a tiny little ITX case running games and anything else you want to through at it. I'm talking about cases that are about as big as a Nettop, but with the ability to play games. I'm sure the A10-5700 will be perfect for something like that, or maybe desktop all in ones. The possibilities are endless. On a more serious note, these chips are more than powerful enough for the average joe, my wife who likes to surf the web, watch movies, do her spread sheets and play games (world of warcraft) :shadedshu, is there a CPU out there that is better suited to her? My son does his school work and plays flash games and a spot of mine craft, is there a better CPU out there, i don't think so, i really don't.

    Just ordered two of these, and the more people who are anti AMD open their eyes and see what a great product it is (i'm talking about the people who will set out to spend more even know they don't need it, just so they don't have an AMD CPU) and buy it for what it was intended for, you never know, next time with all the extra $ for R+D, you might just get a pleasant surprise.
     
  11. mtcn77

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Gpu

    I went ^^,
    when - I presume - what I saw was "2x Gigabyte Radeon HD7950 OC" on the introduction page. Maybe it was a seraph, but it really had some oomph.
    Thank you cadaveca (& Wizzard).
     
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Your welcome.


    And yes, I did test with dual 7950's. And no, the A10-5800K is not a great match, but yes, it is MORE than capable of making things work..albeit suboptimally. However, you will find specific numbers with that particular combination from me in the near future.

    I left that in there on purpose.:D

    You see, enabling of AMD Dual Graphics does affect CPU performance a little bit, as a bit more driver-level stuff must happen. With high-power VGAs, this becomes exacerbated by the alrge volume of inter-GPU communication, and extra PCIe-Memory traffic.

    For a single 7950, an APU can lead to quite decent performance, for sure. I have to complete more testing too explore that exact configuration a bit more, but ultimately, an FX chip is always going ot be the better option, due to the inclusion of L3 cache.
     
    mtcn77 says thanks.
  13. mtcn77

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Against FX4100

    The performance seems ubiquitously close. I was hoping to find out if there have indeed been IPC & memory controller improvements compared to Bulldozer. This cpu definitely undercuts FX4100's discrete gpu gaming front.
     
  14. PopcornMachine

    PopcornMachine

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,563 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    459
    Location:
    Los Angeles/Orange County CA
    48 FPS at 1366x768, mainstream quality is important how on a desktop?

    Not saying I'll forget it, just saying it isn't all that impressive.
     
  15. Rei86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Just purchased a Prodigy off of newegg and a OCZ SSD for the living room. Was waiting forever for the new trinity and since its finally here I'm just waiting on a ITX mobo to go with it:D
     
  16. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
  17. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,181 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    90
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    Here’s the thing so many of the reviews are using the Intel Core i7-3770K Ivy Bridge 3.5GHz (3.9GHz Turbo) with Intel HD 4000 because of harmonious clock speeds, then again that’s a $329 part, and yes a A10-5800K can't match in CPU throughput that’s understandable.

    However, HD 4000 can’t do anything close to what a $125 A10-5800K can provide in graphics. It’s all what you think your needing more, and how much that costs you. The problem is the real match is with the i3-3225 Ivy Bridge 3.3GHz with HD 4000 as $145 part.

    That the straight-up challenge, and not any reviews I reading are doing that match-up here it is at Hexus.
    http://hexus.net/tech/reviews/cpu/46005-amd-a10-5800k-trinity-apu/
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Actually, a fair compare would be the 2120 or 3220. I got as close as I could with the 3210m. but then, I could not enable the iGPU, so i had to use the built-in 7850m.


    Unfortunately, since this is really just a hobby for me, I don't have a big budget or the contacts to be able to get what I need, when I need it. Most reviewers are stuck in the same boat, so we do what we can.


    And...AMD says the same thing too, that that was their target, the 2120 and 3220. Dollar for dollar, if you want 3D perforamcne in that price range, than AMD has the better solution. Not everyone needs the 3D, but not everyone needs Intel's CPU grunt, either. At least now you have a choice.
     
  19. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,651 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Location:
    Mexico
    I think these desktop APUs would make more sense on slim ITX cases, like the CM Elite 100 or the Antec ISK. On a case that would take a full height graphics card I'd go Intel/discrete GPU.

    Heck, I don't understand why are we getting full ATX FM2 boards. :confused: mATX, maybe, mini ITX, sure, but full ATX???
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Rei86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Because I love how the Prodigy looks.

    Replacing a very nice looking Silverstone GD05 which looks like a entertainment media piece with a Prodigy just because I think it looks good. Also getting a Prodigy just in case if I wanna do something wild in the future.
     
  21. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    392 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    I was looking at getting one of these to put in a slim itx type enclosure, but the TDP and more importantly measured power draw is too high. Its nuts that the 5600 draws more power under load than an i5 with a discrete card..

    (I'm working with a 60W power budget).
     
  22. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    which GPU with Hybrid Crossfire with this APU
     
  23. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,651 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Location:
    Mexico
    6450, 6570 and 6670
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,528 (1.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Excellent review, Dave. These chips perform right where I suspected they would.

    It's been a while since I bought an AMD chip, but I'm itching for an HTPC build with some gaming possibilities. Now all I do is await some MiniITX boards to compare.

    Also, the price point makes this a no brainer for me.
     
  25. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,643 (0.62/day)
    Thanks Received:
    173
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    We don't call it Cinebent for nothing, folks!

    Where's some x264 encoding? Handbrake and the like is a joke.

    Since we know what we're doing, undervolt it and the power sucking under load goes away (I said it before and I'll say it again, AMD can't/won't bin).
    That would be nice to have in the review for people doing HTPC builds.

    Also, intel pulls power from more than 12V. We still can't measure those damn things accurately for the cpu only (another 5-15 under load I'm guessing, but I don't know how the igpu affects this).
     
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page