1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD A10-5800K APU for Socket FM2

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by cadaveca, Sep 15, 2012.

  1. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    So does AMD. But the main VRM, which is touted in so many board marketing lists, is what IS powered via the 12V-EPS, so that's what I test. :p
     
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,020 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    dave thanks for the impartial and honest review. Most around here blow things out of proportion.
     
  3. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,167 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    87
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    It's all good... I totally understand, I thought overall your test approach, and read was all very good keep it up! Always a fan!

    That’s really the take away we all need to hold such chips to.
    Trinity provides ample, while balanced performance for mainstream general computing/graphic tasks in a small efficient package. There are plenty of folks for home/office machines that APU’s are the cost effective solution. Verse the i3’s and entry Z77 mobo's aren’t so cost effective... then if you want two monitors it’s a discrete card minimum $20-30. While you want something more in the realm of this A10-5800K (still efficient and half-height) you’re at least $40-60.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  4. mediasorcerer New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2011
    Messages:
    979 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    225
    Location:
    coast ,melbourne
    I believe amd have done quite well here mostly, thanx for the review, good read!

    At least we have more choice now, that's always a plus.

    Ps@cadaveca=thay are exciting , i agree big time, i have a good feeling this series will end up being excellent all rounders one day if not right now, bet most folks wouldnt feel the difference on the cpu side of things very much, but will notice it on the gpu side regarding intel v amd etc..

    Dollar for dollar~exactly!!!
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  5. kukreknecmi New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    9 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Which board have u used for fx-4100?
     
  6. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    ASUS Crosshair V Formula.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • 005.jpg
      005.jpg
      File size:
      179.3 KB
      Views:
      1,420
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2012
  7. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,542 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    With it, comes this(right now):

    [​IMG]

    :banghead:
     

    Attached Files:

  9. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,542 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    I am not far from the canadian border. It may not be as cold here yet but we are getting there fast. We got a big northern front tuesday that droped us into the 40s. Currently 39F with 69% humidity.

    I personally don't mind the snow much. Cold weather just gives me excuses to overclock and bench too.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    You right there that CPU performance is underwhelming to say at least. But this is not "professionalist oriented CPU" i might say as it's like always AMD oriented towards budget gaming and this really hit it's sweet spot if you could buy unlocekd model for 120USD and mobo +8GB ddr3 came up only around 220USD

    A10-5800K certainly isnt something ment to be core of your rendering farm :D
     
  11. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    In fact Piledriver doesnt have better IPC over Llano as you misstated. They have somewhat improved IPC, which now seems only ~2%, over their older bro Bulldozer

    Piledriver == BD architecture
    Llano == K10 (aka Stars) architecture

    And K10 had higher IPC than Bulldozer. Only thing improved in Piledriver is cache latency and improved pipeline. Beside memory controller that evolves with every new generation ... now it's capable of ddr3-2100 instead ddr3-1866 in first Bulldozers
     
  12. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    It's never been a real crossfire ... neither in IGP+GPU days with HybridCF nor now because nowadays you cannot crossfire HD7660D featured in A10 series with newer GCN (aka SIMD) just with old VLIW5 and HD6670 is 480 shaders VLIW5 engine and already highly clocked with its own 128bit GDDR5 memory so it would outperform or be slightly better than HD7660D even if this was a standalone product on same frequency.

    This so called crossfires are nothing more than "GraphicsOnDemand" feature and marketing to sold out old GPUs that become unpopular since they're almost 2yrs old and HD7700 is vastly superior product. Ofc is better to buy i7-37700K and HD7770 along with it but only HD7770 costs almost as A10-5800K and i7-37700K costs three times more. So A10 is great budget solution for occasional gamer, which could have decent performance budget PC for half price or even less than it would pay for latest i7+HD7770.

    Foolish CFX in this rig is just vasting money on already well performing computer. And if someone have a higher budget he can buy itself HD7770 and still outperform CFX w/ HD6670 which is nothing more than deception to clean out stocks of old GPUs.
     
  13. vagxtr

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2007
    Messages:
    180 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    It's something called compromise.

    Piledriver is already huge chip and if it has selling price of 120USD top then they wish to cutdown expences just like intel with Ivy Bridge wich isnt so better CPU over old Sandy Bridge, but carries as always with intel some new instructions and huge leap forward with GT2 (HD4000) graphics.

    Piledriver is 10% bigger than Llano that also comes with cost, probably not much as 32nm is now perfected from days of early Llanos.

    And did you nag Intel when they obsoleted their s1156 platform after only 10 month on market? Only bad thing is that customers "get used to it" as FM1/s1156 were never highly adopted. For me more crazy thing is existence of AMDs s754 for a long time while had no real CPU upgrade at all. It was fair cheaper to abandon it and skip to s939 than to have costly upgrades with poorer performance. ofc s754 was still great budget solution for office use and AMD was milking their Athlon64 branding in those days.

    Well you could wait and see HD7000 integration in 9-12 month time in Steamroller. And maybe DAMN really went smart as they said in AssetSmart campaign and will sell out us new chips every year with 20-30% improvement.

    After all people use to buy crippled down Intel CPUs which are 80-100% expensive and not even have HD4000 w/ 16EUs but cut down HD2500 (6EU) versions not to mention how HD4000 is far inferior than even HD6410D used in A4 Llano series (160 VLIW5) and this 6xVLIW4 blocks are 30% better than best 5xVLIW5 blocks we had in A8 Llano series branded as HD6550D with 400 unified shaders. After all it's fair price and hopefully it make intel to lower their extreme prices on i5-3470 and similar and i7-3770K ofc
     
  14. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,020 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    Knowing the lead intel has, they wont lower prices at all

    btw combine your last 3 posts
     
  15. Rei86 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    172 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    whelp its not a A10 but just purchased the A8-5600K from newegg for 10bucks off for the HTPC.

    Just waiting for the MSI or ASRock FM2 ITX Mobo
     
  16. bim27142

    bim27142

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    448 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Pilipinas!
    All stock and with no discrete GPU, how much power draw from the wall outlet you think will this have given the following specs:

    A10-5800K
    ASRock FM2 mini-ITX mobo
    G-Skill Ares 4x2 1600
    Samsung Spinpoint F3 HDD (500GB)
    Silverstone ST50F-ES PSU
    LiteOn ODD (DRD-RW)


    The reason I'm asking is that I am thinking of building an HTPC with the above specs (some old parts recycled, e.g. HDD, PSU, RAM, ODD).

    Also heat and noise of the stock HSF... Any ideas?

    By the way, I'm also thinking of putting all these in a CM Elite 120 case.
     
  17. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,542 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    Check for yourself. This handly little app has been pretty accurate for me.
    https://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculator.jsp
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,381 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,684
    those software PSU calculators always calculate high, so keep that in mind.
     
  19. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,542 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,695
    They probably do but in my case it predicted what I would use within 50 watts. I have tested. I have a killawat
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Or, you could simply look at the numbers I posted in the review for full system power consumption, and go with that + 25%.

    ;)
     
  21. ThaSpacePope New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I just purchased a 5800k & an asrock uATX board and found this thread by googling overclocking results of the igpu. If 1600 3dmarks can be achieved with it at stock i'm hoping to get 2000 hitting 1000mhz core or 1050, etc. I don't have the board but we shall see.

    The big advantage here though and the reason I'm quoting you is because throwing a $30 6570 DDR3 in there would in theory almost double the 3dmarks for one damn cheap gaming system all around. For $225 for mobo, cpu & 6570 and say 3000 3dmarks and a quadcore thats incredible. It might run bf3 at 1080p on medium. I eagerly anticipate seeing what it can do. I think you're throwing out the baby with the bathwater by saying the scalability just isn't there with a low end crossfire. It might be with the overclock.
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2012
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,020 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    they provide a minimum spec and a recommended spec
     
  23. ThaSpacePope New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    47 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Dave,

    I have a question about this article now. On page 2 you suggest that only the A85X can utilize crossfire. However it seems that the A75 can also crossfire at least in the FM1 chipsets. Can you clarify this in the article? Did amd disable crossfire on D3 hudson and only allow it on the a85x?
     
  24. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,020 (4.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,641
    is it crossfire or dual graphics. Because Ya FM1 you had 2 8x slots because 2 out of 3 would become 8x8 with a 4x or 16, 0, 4
     
    cadaveca says thanks.
  25. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,052 (4.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,208
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    A75 only actually supports AMD Dual Graphics. My test A75 board is a Gigabyte A75-UD4H, and it does NOT support Crossfire.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page