1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD A10 7850K Freezing after GPU-Z opened

Discussion in 'GPU-Z' started by lasha1616, Jun 25, 2014.

  1. lasha1616

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi all
    i bought new APU, Motherboard, RAM, SSD, PSU. this is brand new and unopened. (on the paper everything must be ok but...)

    when i open GPU-Z, windows is freezing. no matter what OS is isntalled, Win 7 64 bit or Win 8.1 64 bit

    My PC:
    APU: AMD A10-7850K
    Motherboard: MSI A88X-G45 GAMING (Bios: V1.2b2)
    RAM: AMD Radeon R9 Memory 2400 MHz (Part number: R934G2401U1S)
    HDD: Samsung 840 EVO 120 GB
    PSU: 400 Watt (now i have EVGA 1000 P2 but nothing is changed)
    Monitor: DELL P2314H (connected by Display Port)
    GPU-Z Version: 0.7.8
    Windows 7 Ultiamte 64 bit (now i have Win 8.1 64 bit)


    everything you can see here


    MSI's technical support told me that this is not the hardware problem, this is soft problem
    what i have to do now?
     
  2. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    440
    Location:
    Texas
    Have you tried any games or anything on the system yet? You may have a stability issue that is being caused by a certain part not working properly. Ram is one of the leading causes for this so I would check in your bios that the ram settings match what its supposed to be and that the voltage is correct.
     
  3. lasha1616

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    thx for answer
    yes everything is working perfect, any games, any software (btw what i'm using everything works perfect) working without any problems. i even use several benchmaks for my APU and no one get failed.
    APU is not overclocked. in BIOS everything is default. RAM voltage is AUTO, also timings is set to AUTO (i can use XMP and AMP on 2400 Mhz)
    BIOS is flashed. i repeat, every software working normally, only what i suffer is BSOD but sometimes while i'm watching movies on youtube or in any media player (often occured in win 7) but on win 8.1 BSOD almost disappeared.

    this is taken while i watched movies on youtube. i had with Win 7 64 bit
    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B8SELDUqyFaMMS1Ob09oUHdLaDA/edit?usp=sharing
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2014
  4. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    624 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Have you tried a different version of the graphics driver? This is either driver related or the GPU portion of the APU is faulty. Do you have a cheap video card you could use to see if the problem goes away?
     
  5. lasha1616

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes i tried to install older graphics driver since this APU released but nothing is changed. unfortunately i have not any VGA to try what will be happen.
    btw i especially bought this RAM because it is designed for the AMD system. otherwise i could bought G SKILL memory....
    no matter what is the memory frequency, 1333 or 2400 mhz, the problem is not solved by frequency adjusting.
    i have no idea, why is that everything is working? any game what i played before, no one crashed. only this little soft called GPU-Z is enought to freeze my PC.
     
  6. GhostRyder

    GhostRyder

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,180 (6.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    440
    Location:
    Texas
    Odd, it must just be what ever is being called by GPU-Z is causing the issue. Peculiar because I see no online references for this issue so it sounds isolated meaning its something specific to your setup. If its not the ram then the chances are its a problem with something APU related... So no other software causing issues anymore or are there other things causing the issue because this is still sounding like an APU stability issue.

    Try the following:
    Remove one ram stick and then run your tests, if no problem occurs try the other and repeat process. Then try again with both sticks inside and see if the problem occurs still.

    Try running a CPU stress test like prime95 and a GPU stress test like 3dmark and let them run for awhile to see if anything happens.
     
  7. Exeodus

    Exeodus

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    624 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    A suburb of Chicago, IL
    Also try uninstalling the driver, then open GPU-Z and see if it still crashes.
     
  8. lasha1616

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2014
    Messages:
    7 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i will test my pc by prime95 but later... APU is stable at stock frequency. it is never crashed by itself, thanks god. i think gpu-z software is not fully compatible to AMD systems

    i unistall catalyst driver and then restart my pc.
    then windows is loading without VGA driver, so i opened GPU-Z and get freezing again. looks like driver is not problem.
     
  9. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    its not isolated, It just happened to me today just got new ram and my MB is top of the line so its the APU ill be contacting AMD and you should too
     
  10. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    its the APU everyting on my PC is brandnew and or is installed correctly
     
  11. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
     
  12. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,657 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Rochester area
    1. disable flash hardware acceleration will correct the BSOD its a known issue and its adobes problem not amd's tho you may wanna update the drivers to the LATEST to see if it corrects it else just turn the flash hardware acceleration off by right clicking on the video

    2. goto into the bios and take everything off auto set the ram timings manually to what they should be
    odds are the cpu may not handle 2400Mhz without tweaking the voltage most APU's only do ~2000 at stock imc voltage
    to get 2400 stable you will most likely need to give the voltages a slight bump try like 0.25 and go up from their

    this has nothing todo with gpu-z other then the fact that GPU-z tells the APU to throttle up and the imc is unstable at the required speed
     
  13. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my ram is at rated speeds @ 2133 the speed supported by the CPU everything else is fine its the CPU
     
  14. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    also this not only happens with GPU z of which i tried today but it happens from time to time while i'm doing nothing but watching a video
     
  15. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,657 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Rochester area
    read my reply nub
    and no offically APU's only support 1866
     
  16. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Motherboard Name ASRock FM2A88X+ Killer
    Front Side Bus Properties: Bus Type AMD K15.3 Real Clock 100 MHz Effective Clock 100 MHz
    North Bridge Clock 1800 MHz
    Memory Bus Properties: Bus Type Dual DDR3 SDRAM Bus Width 128-bit
    DRAM:FSB Ratio 32:3
    Real Clock 1067 MHz (DDR)
    Effective Clock 2133 MHz
    Bandwidth 34133 MB/s
     
  17. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
  18. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,657 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Rochester area
    you aren't listening nor understanding
    most APU's only support 1866 ram PERIOD it doesn't matter what the ram says or what the board says the apu only supports 1866 out of the box if you want more then that you will need todo some tweaking any ram kit >1866 isn't gonna be plug in play at least not in 100% of cases

    timings/chip quality variances in board compatibility all come into play at higher ram speeds
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2014
  19. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i retrack my statement then
    so what are we to do?
     
  20. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    what tweaking do i need todo
     
  21. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,657 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Rochester area
    I would start with bumping the following
    edit nm I found a video of that boards bios the setting you want is cpu-nb voltage up it by 0.25
    that should do it if 0.25 doesn't help try +0.050 or whatever next step up
    also ensure that the ram is running at 1.65v timings set to manual(and correctly set) DTC set to ganged
    Its also entirely possible the the ram is just bad AMD memory isn't that awesome you can safely up up to 1.68v and see that helps also giving the vcore a bit of a bump isn't gonna hurt either
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2014
  22. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    mind if i post some screen shots of f stream 4 u to look at?
     
  23. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    this is what my pc stats look like what do i need to fiddle with
     

    Attached Files:

  24. chaosAMD

    chaosAMD

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2014
    Messages:
    30 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    and CPU z
     

    Attached Files:

  25. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,657 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Rochester area
    increase the cpu-nb by 0.25
    increase the ram voltage to 1.65 looks like things as as I figured and the auto settings in the bios are incorrect
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page