1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD A8-3870K and A6-3670K up for Pre-Order

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Dec 5, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,433 (11.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,619
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Later this month, AMD will finally launch its much overdue unlocked A8 and A6 series APUs in the FM1 package, that are geared for overclocking. The A8-3870K is clocked at 3.00 GHz, and the A6-3670K at 2.60 GHz. The two are quad-core APUs, and differ by the core clock speeds and integrated GPUs. While the A8-3870K packs Radeon HD 6550D graphics with 400 stream processors, the A6-3670K has Radeon HD 6530D graphics with 320 stream processors. The two were listed for pre-order on ShopBLT, with the A8-3870K priced at US $143.77, and the A6-3670K at $121.50. It is expected that prices of A8-3850 and A6-3650 will drop after the launch of these two chips.

    [​IMG]

    Source: CPU World
  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Been waiting to see these start on pre-order. Time to wait and see what APU's can ACTUALLY do when overclocked.
    Mussels says thanks.
  3. jpierce55

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,335 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    The APU's are starting to get interesting.
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,158 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,477
    if i was building a system for anyone in the coming months, these would probably be at the heart of it.
    OOZMAN and chron say thanks.
  5. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    3,444 (2.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    922
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Wouldn't mind a HTPC based on the A8-3850 for some 720p gaming action also.
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,671 (6.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,981
    Location:
    some AF base
    Hmmm....
  7. chrone

    chrone New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2011
    Messages:
    11 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    planet earth
    if it can be overclocked to 3.6ghz without raising the vcore, and still the c1e and cnq are enabled, would be great! :D
  8. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    368 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    95
    I bet these 32nm Athlon II cores will clock like crazy.

    This is cool, but what I really wish intel would have released an unlocked version of the i3 sandy.
  9. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,232 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,151
    This is what I have been holding off for too. I have built three quad core systems in the last year and have since held off customers for the latest gen FM1's to play with.
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  10. Casecutter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1,141 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    So. Cal.
    While probably nice to play with, I don't care to invest in a mobo that will be a one dance wonder. With Trinity destined for FM2 it kind of takes the wind out to the FM1. But still if the pricing works and it "fits the bill" an A8 HTPC that provides some decent 720p gaming it has merit.
  11. Shihabyooo

    Shihabyooo

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    566 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    A sad excuse of a country called Sudan.
    That was quick ! ... not.
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Once again the price is right . AMD can get tons of fast cash with little improvement in performance ! AMD seems to be stagnant , In a rut ?
  13. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,254 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    Why same price for lower clock?
  14. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    TPU review?
    damric says thanks.
  15. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,377 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    just a shame they dont support more pciex lanes for me ive seen 2x16 as the max on any of the a75 mobos
  16. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    Surely that could be split to 4x8 ?
  17. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,377 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    563
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    yeh and id have that but no mobo has more then 2 pciex16 slots that ive found i actually only want 2x pciex16 and 1x @4xpcoex so 3 in total but ive not seen any that does that

    for xfire + a pciex ssd

    then again just found this aahhh google

    ASRock A75-EXTREME6 Motherboard - AMD Socket FM1 - AMD A75 FCH Chipset - 4x DDR3-2400 - 3x PCIe x1

    http://www.getprice.com.au/ASRock-A...4x-DDR3-2400-3x-PCIe-x1-Gpnc_37--58572079.htm
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2011
  18. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,094 (2.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    913
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I think AMD is going to blow intel out of the water going this route with some super chip.

    Intel isn't going to even know what hit them.

    AMD-"yeah we aren't competing with Intel like we used to.... because we are making highly powerful and advance Hybrid CPU's now."
  19. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,859 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,961
    3870k :wtf:

    Are they stealing a page from Intel's naming book there?

    AFAIK, Llano only gives 20 PCI-E lanes. Most of the dual slot boards are actually one x16 slot, and one x4 slot. Some do two x8 slots instead. There really wouldn't be a way to do more than 2 slots, they'd all have to be x4 slots.
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2011
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  20. v12dock

    v12dock

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,548 (0.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    i7-3770T :wtf:

    Are they stealing a page from AMD's naming book there?
  21. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,610 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001
    No, ATi:

    [​IMG]

    erm.. themselves.
  22. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,859 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,961
    Probably...
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  23. Aldv3x New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    As if these APUs werent awesome enough. My A8-3850 idles at around 10-15C, 30-40C on load, 70C while running minecraft(Lol?? Not kidding!). Overclocking this a little bit ought to use up some of that heat headroom in exchange for some awesome performance increases. AMD has a great product on their hands. I believe that they should straight up quit on the low-end CPUs and only make APUs and socket FM1 CPUs. Everything FM1 so far has blown my socks off. The Athlon II X4 (FM1) outperforms the best AM3 one by about 15% and costs like 2/3.

    Seeing as everything FM1 so far has been locked, it should be interesting to see an unlocked CPU for this socket. I see no reason not to get one of these, since its like $5 more than the 3850 and clocked higher. That is, if the 3850 doesnt drop in price.

    Edit: For anyone looking for extreme performance, wait for the A10-5800 this spring or the A10 5850K this summer.
  24. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,101 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    450
    I didn't know you could live in a room that is at 5C. Those idle readings are incorrect like with most of AMD's CPU's.
  25. chron New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    569 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    I actually may BE building a system in the coming months and appreciate the input.

    I've got a mortgage now so I have to be smart about my money. It seems like AMD might be the way to go.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page