1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD A8-3870K Cracks 6 GHz with All Cores Enabled

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Feb 2, 2012.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Overclocker "Christian Ney" of the HWBOT community claims to have cracked the 6 GHz clock speed mark with an AMD A8-3870K APU, with all four of its cores enabled. The feat consisted of a clock speed of 6067.7 MHz achieved using a base clock of 258.2 MHz and multiplier of 47.0x. The memory was clocked at 3505 MHz, just 95 MHz short of a world-record. The chip was put through a scorching core voltage of 2V. Supporting components included GIGABYTE A75-UD4H motherboard, and GeIL EVO Corsa DDR3 memory. The setup was cooled sub-zero. CPU-Z Validator rejected this submission, probably because like us, it finds 2V vCore and 258.2 MHz base clock unreal for Llano, since it uses a common 100 MHz clock domain for BClk and PCIe.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: MyDrivers.com
     
    w3b, hellrazor, Super XP and 5 others say thanks.
  2. Volkszorn88

    Volkszorn88

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,191 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    312
    Awesome Processing Unit.
     
    w3b, hellrazor, Super XP and 6 others say thanks.
  3. Drugsh

    Drugsh New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Messages:
    24 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    i wonder how much is the gpu clock?
     
  4. TheLostSwede

    TheLostSwede

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2004
    Messages:
    932 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    If you look at the second picture you'll see that they're using a discrete card...
     
  5. timmyisme22

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    64 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Location:
    Yakima, Washington
    It's an APU so it's still a fair question (even with the discrete). Anyone know if they disabled it to attain this clock?


    I'd prefer to see a high CPU/GPU clock and test it out with the sub-zero cooling. Would be much more awesome to see the result.
     
  6. NC37

    NC37

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,187 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    266
    Heh, I built a rig for a relative with that board.
     
  7. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,553 (11.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,644
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    For APU's embedded GPU and a discrete GPU to work in tandem, the display will be plugged to the motherboard, not the discrete graphics card (as pictured). So the embedded GPU is likely not enabled.
     
  8. R_1

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    449 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    DIMM cooling looks insane! :rockout: I wish somebody produced superconductor based PCB and embedded superconductive vias in silicon wafers.
     
  9. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,682 (1.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    736
    Location:
    Portugal
    :eek:
    Damn!
    That's impressive.
    I also didn't know those GeIL EVO Corsa RAMs could clock that high. :wtf:
    Those DIMMs were cheap here a while ago. Real cheap. Enhance version though, but still cheap.
     
  10. nonkX3 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2012
    Messages:
    17 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Somewhere in Central Java
    oh how i love the asus background behind it :p
     
  11. leonard83 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    6 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shanghai
    Gigabyte A75-UD4H`s still the best in A75MBs
     
  12. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    412 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    pretty evil oc.
     
  13. badtaylorx

    badtaylorx

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    478 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    really......a llano

    who knew??? :rockout:
     
  14. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    damn thats awsome
     
  15. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    381 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    2v is a lot of juice!
     
  16. ironwolf

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    270 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Pensacola, FL, USA, Earth
    Finally, all cores enabled. That's what kind of good stuff I was hoping we would see, none of this one or two core action crap.
     
  17. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,946 (4.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,068
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, enabling the IGP portion of the APUs does seem to affect memory/core clocking.
     
  18. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,359 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    This is pointless. Not even us enthusiasts use LN2, dry ice, or whatever other extreme to cool our parts. That's saved for people looking to break records. 99.9% of us use air/watercooling...and some MAYBE phase-change.
     
  19. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    472 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    It wasn't intended to be a practical application, just a demonstration of maximum clock speed (like comparing a Corvette and a nitromethane dragster).
     
  20. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    472 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Apparently they can, with a sufficient application of liquid nitrogen. :)
     
  21. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,273 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,074
    2 volts :laugh: Unreal! :shadedshu
     
  22. Thefumigator

    Thefumigator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    412 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    also dependent on how stable could the integrated memory controller be at that speed.
     
  23. Rowsol

    Rowsol

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    567 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    2v holy shit!!!
     
  24. faramir New Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    203 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    My sentiment as well. Those crappy FX "records" mean very little - this is an actual record. It also shows that Athlon II architecture wasn't nearly as bad frequency-wise, there was hardly any need to go for extra-long pipeline in new architecture.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  25. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,445 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,474
    Thumbs down..

    This is a record actually considering this is an APU with All cores operating at 6 ghz each.

    I Dont see what the problem is when an Athlon XP took 1.8-2.0 VCore just to reach 2.6-3.0GHz

    AMDs love the voltage.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page