1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Adds Twelve New Opteron Processors

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Apr 22, 2009.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    AMD has extended its 45 nm Opteron processor line-up with new energy-efficient chips fitting within a 40W power envelope, designed for very dense data center environments such as those built for cloud computing or web serving. Available immediately, the new Opteron EE chips include the 2.1 GHz Opteron 2373 EE with 6 MB L3 Cache and the 2.3 GHz Opteron 2377 EE with the same cache size. Since they are part of the Shanghai Opteron architecture, the new EE chips have the same features as all other Shanghai Opterons and are not cut-down versions.
    AMD today also launches a total of ten other Opteron CPUs, that enrich the company's server HE (55W), standard (75W), and high-performance SE (105W) power bands. These are the 2.4 GHz Opteron 2379 HE ($450), the 2.4 GHz Opteron 8379 HE ($1165), the 2.5 GHz Opteron 2381 HE ($575), the 2.5 GHz Opteron 8381 HE ($1514), the standard 2.8 GHz Opteron 2387 ($873), the 2.8 GHz Opteron 8387 ($2149), the 2.9 GHz Opteron 2389 ($989), the 2.9 GHz Opteron 8389 ($2649), and the two Opteron SE 2393 and 8393 SE with 3.1 GHz clock speeds and $1165 and $2649 price tags respectively. All ten CPUs have 6 MB of L3 cache.

    Source: AMD
  2. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    thats quite a few at once.
  3. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    3.1 ghz with 105 W....
  4. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Wonder how well those top end ones would clock.
  5. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    Most likely like any Phenom II AM3.

    If the revision is changed, they would clock better, there might be a small increase in power effeciency, and everything if they havnt changed the stepping, currently on 940BE C2.

    But the changes that gets done in same stepping/revision is very minor, you can start to see changes when a new revision comes out.

    Suspecting 955BE to have a new one.
  6. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,321 (4.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,371
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Might be close to the PII 940, but remember it's clocked 100mhz greater and is rated 20W lower. The 940's do clock great, but AMD was touting real close to 4Ghz on air, and that is just really hard to make happen. I really think these would probably be able to do it though, we'll see in time I guess.
  7. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,109 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    806
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    nice. i want one.
  8. spacejunky New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2007
    Messages:
    96 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    TX
    those prices are high.
  9. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,109 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Sorry but i have a stupid question... Why is an Opteron proc so expencive?
    And also whats the real difference between a $2000.00 Opteron, and a $190.00 PII precessor?
    :eek:
  10. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    Ability to use Registered/ECC/FB Ram and Alot more of it, also the 8 series opteron is 8 Way processing, so its expected Server CPUs as of SKT F and then 771/15** to be Pricier.
    fullinfusion says thanks.
  11. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,109 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,920
    Thanks Eidair.... But how would it game and encode video?
  12. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,245 (4.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,412
    well for one multiprocessor environments are not good for Gaming, they are good for loads of data processing, Workstations etc, these processors are purpose specified compared to desktop components. Even skulltrail falls short, it's just a glorified server platform.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page