1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD AIB Partners Said to be Working on "HD 7970 X2"

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 25, 2012.

?

Which name do you like better?

  1. HD 7990

    17 vote(s)
    22.7%
  2. HD 7970 X2

    58 vote(s)
    77.3%
  1. Totally

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    80 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Right where I want to be
    2304 shaders, that would've been nice
     
  2. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Québec/Montreal

    Attached Files:

    cadaveca, OneCool and TRWOV say thanks.
  3. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,864 (1.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    679
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    X2 is much better but it only should get this name if it is 2true 7970s.
     
  4. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,725 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I think it is important to distinguish dual GPU cards from single GPU cards so I prefer the X2 moniker.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. sergionography

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    283 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    amd doesnt need to answer to gk110 since its not even going to be a geforce card
    it will be a tesla add in card for compute
    nvidia has to pack a monstrous chip with a bunch of wimpy kepler cores to get the compute power they require
    kepler did great in gaming situations there is no doubt in that, but not in compute, thats why nvidia is in dire need to release gk110

    on another note amd is totaly wasting time showing off how great hd7970 is in compute when they havent yet released a fire pro version of it -__-
    I just dont know what in the world are they doing. i guess amd has no interest in promoting add in discrete cards for compute because they wanna push for HSA platform (thats the only explanation i can think of)

    edit: I do have to note that amd doesnt restrict features in gaming cards much like nvidia does with drivers in cuda and double precision and what not, as for amd opencl acceleration is enabled across the board as far as i know as well as double precision operations being enabled in tahiti so i also wonder if that has anything to do, and whether amd will keep the firepro line
     
  6. Dj-ElectriC

    Dj-ElectriC

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,315 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    874
  7. perryra1968

    perryra1968

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kaiserslaurern, Germany
    That photo above of the 7970X2 watercooled is my screen saver now.....OMG, that is beauty.
     
  8. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    478 (0.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    361
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Nope, that's not 7970X2 / 7990.
    Just 2 x HD7970 with SWIFTECH KOMODO block and HD7900-XFIRE X 2 bridge.

    Here : http://blogs.amd.com/play/2012/05/23/aftermarket-cooling-for-overclocking-and-silent-enthusiasts/
     
  9. OneCool

    OneCool

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2005
    Messages:
    850 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    Look behind you!!

    tis bad ass :rockout:
     
  10. rvalencia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    89 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    http://www.atomicmpc.com.au/News/299279,amd-gives-the-7970-a-boost.aspx

    "When questioned as to why AMD were launching a GHz edition now, and didn't originally, they explained that yields are now better, their average voltage required to hit 925MHz is much lower than it was on early ES revisions, and most chips are happily hitting 1250MHz now. It's time to let the GPU stretch its legs a little as yields improve"

    7990 could use the new 7970 "Ghz Edition" stepping.
     
  11. perryra1968

    perryra1968

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kaiserslaurern, Germany
  12. repman244

    repman244

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,129 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    462
    FirePro's are optimized for OpenGL, and rape the normal gaming cards in CAD. I bet that AMD is waiting for better yields and chips so they can use low voltage on the workstation cards, well that's just my guess.
     
  13. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,725 (6.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,400
    Location:
    IA, USA
    They can sell a $200 chip for well over $1000 in FirePro. There's no way any company would throw away that kind of profit margin.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,602 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,375
    whats the difference? Dont ya like change?
     
  15. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,809 (0.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    550
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    x2 all the way.
     
  16. r3zn0r New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    has it ever occured to you guys that they no longer use the x2 as since the 4000 series the dual gpu has never been 2 of the same spec single gpu... so unless it really is 2 7970's they will not call it that...
     
  17. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    994 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    219
    Location:
    USA, Arizona
    The 7990 should be the higher end of the 7970.

    7970 X2/7990 X2 sounds awesomer.
     
  18. sergionography

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    283 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    ive always thot the same thing, especially considering the number of cores/die size ratio
    pitcairn has 1280core and 212mm2 die size 1280/212 = 6.037
    tahiti has 2048 cores and 365mm2 die size 2048/365 = 5.61
    and note that both tahiti and pitcairn have pretty much the same front end so in reality tahiti should have a bigger value in core/diesize ratio, but offcourse tahiti does have a wider memory controller but still i dont think its that significant
    now lets assume tahiti does have 2304 cores then 2304/365 = 6.31 see that? XD
    i wonder if thats the case


    this^ tho the higher end 7970 will probably be ghz edition
    well with amd claiming yield is way better now they are probably able to get tahiti to run at 925 with much lower voltage allowing for an hd7970 x2
     
  19. blibba

    blibba

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    834 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    184
    Location:
    Oxford, UK
  20. rvalencia

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2011
    Messages:
    89 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8
    Tahiti supports proper 64bit DP FP compute.

    [​IMG]

    AMD could have it's own Geforce GTX680 based on Pitcairn's GCN design.
     
  21. sergionography

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2012
    Messages:
    283 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    40
    isn't that a driver tweak tho? As far as I know the GCN compute units/clusters are the same all across the line up, unless I'm missing something please explain
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page