1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Also Readies 3.50 GHz Clocked Phenom II X2 Part

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 21, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,965 (11.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Apart from the 3.70 Phenom II X4 980, AMD's next, and probably (hopefully) final wave of Phenom II processors will include a 3.50 GHz clocked dual-core part, the Phenom II X2 570 Black Edition. This socket AM3 chip will be based on the "Callisto" silicon, which is essentially a "Deneb" quad core die used in X4 parts, with two of its four cores disabled. The chip features two cores clocked at 3.50 GHz (17.5 x 200 MHz), 512 KB dedicated L2 caches per core, and 6 MB shared L3 cache. The integrated dual-channel memory controller supports DDR3-1333 MHz on AM3 socket, and DDR2-1066 MHz on AM2+. As a Black Edition part, the BClk multiplier is unlocked, to help with overclocking. At these speeds, the TDP is rated at 80W.

    [​IMG]

    Source: DonanimHaber
     
    WarEagleAU says thanks.
  2. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    Good for a budget gaming rig i guess?
     
  3. Lionheart

    Lionheart

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    4,077 (1.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    837
    Location:
    Milky Way Galaxy
    Unlock it, then u have a nice quady:toast:
     
  4. mcloughj

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2005
    Messages:
    307 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    that's what I was thinking. Unlock the two cores and then fine tune with the unlocked multiplier. If the if you already had the mobo and ram but an old processor this would be a nice little purchase...
     
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,212 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Home
    You probably want the Athlon II x4 rather than this if you are not a gambler.
     
  6. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,916 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    no. phenom ii is more fun. but true x4 is a little hard to resist.
     
  7. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Singapore
    This just in: Amd's New dual core can be unlocked to a full-fledged 16 core mangy cours CPU! Further more upon unlocking and overtclocking it, the CPU automatically calculates the meaning of life and then sings it out and at the same time bakes a cake for you.
    People have gathered in front of retailers demanding one. There are talks of riots...

    /sarcasm
     
  8. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,916 (4.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,121
    almost feel for it. :/

    let me guess... who can make fun of unlocking.... hmm....rivals? :laugh:
     
  9. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Singapore
    Naah. I'm a total AMD fanboi. But I think their time will be better spent bringing us Bulldozer than another useless SKU.
     
  10. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,212 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,995
    Location:
    Home
    This chip is a result of manufacturing process improvements, not architectural changes. From what I know, the architecture team is not bothered with the Phenom II line as of now.
     
  11. Hustler New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    100 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    You would have thought that by now, given how mature the manufacturing process is, that no dual core 5xx part should fail to unlock to a fully stable quad.

    It's not like the early days when some 5xx's were genuinely faulty quads, or fully working quads rebranded to meet dual core demand from retail and OEM.

    Surely by now, a 570 like this would be a guaranteed quad unlock?....
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,556 (11.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,828
    its not guaranteed, but the odds would be fairly high. remember that if they actually did test refinements to the design (to make it cooler, less power, whatever) then that increases the chances of something going wrong, thus making it more likely for a bad core or problems to appear.

    so while the refinements can increase the odds of an unlock, the experimentation needed to get those better odds, can also cause WORSE odds...
     
  13. DigitalUK

    DigitalUK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Messages:
    503 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    Location:
    UK South
    AMD giving the phenom II's a good send off. Bring on the bulldozer
     
  14. lashton New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    63 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    hmmmm

    I think AMD should refresh thier entire line when llano and Bulldozer are released, Kill the Atlon line and with bulldozer out demote the Phonom series to thier budget line and milk the 45nm fab for all its worth, so we can get bcheap quad cores for real budget prices and have cheap buget cores that perform on par with Core i7, death to intel!:toast:
     
  15. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Nonsense. ;)
     
  16. lashton New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    63 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5

    whats nonsence about it, it would be a good idea
     
  17. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    you can get a quad for under 100€, which is cheap... killing the Athlon Line, would be like Heresy, and continuing to use 45nm, is like beating a horse that is dead for months... we need the next architectural shrink, if AMD actually want to COMPETE with Intel:D
     
  18. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    I'm happy to say I'm one of the precocious X2 BE buyers who have unlocked (and overclocked) as X4 BEs. Best damned $90 I ever spent (give or take).

    Nevertheless I hope AMD retires the current line of 45nm chips. They're positively trounced by the top picks in the i7 litter. One of my closest friend's bought an i7-930 only a few months after I bought my 550BE and I easily beat him in performance per dollar, but his rig beats mine in performance.

    Has AMD finally started cutting the links to the extra cores (preventing unlocking)?
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  19. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    i doubt so... in my opinion it was a clever tactic to sell a part of their procs under worth, to be able to slip thru economic regulations ;)
    (like here in Germany, where Walmart never was able to take Foot, due to its Business methods beeing illegal here (selling things under worth))
     
  20. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    Yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn bring on the bulldozer PII needs to die now, I can see the attraction in this dualie, I guess... though the earlier press release about the 3.7ghz quad, it was the same 3 months ago when they released the "highest clocked quad" at 3.6ghz to me it's either them getting rid of PII bins or desperation because Bulldozer isn't available for another 3 months and they still need to sell chips (the latter sounds more plausible tbh) but it is nothing new IMO

    I love AMD and am hoping that BD lives up to its expectations as it would be nice to go back to AMD with the performance at least on par with Intel as it's been too long now :eek:
     
  21. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Singapore
    Killing off sales of athlons and phenoms, once the new architectures come will be stupid. Did intel kill the core2's when i7 came? No. They kept producing them and selling them at a lower price and people kept buying them. If there is a market for it, you don't let go until you bleed em dry! Corporations are like lawyers :p
     
  22. lashton New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    63 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    milk the 45nm for as loong as possible make them the new budget CPUs kill the athlons, that i think would be good idea, what i would like to see, what i said before you just said above so how come I say sell them cheap is stupid but you say "No. They kept producing them and selling them at a lower price" thats ok, i think you are confused ;)
     
  23. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    what do i want with even cheaper procs? they are dead cheap by now, and probably will even fall in prices the next 3 months.... what i want, is good performance, for a normal price... i had a phenom 955 for years and i tell you:
    its too slow for my taste.
    Maybe youre a buy and forget user, but me as Enthusiast rather pay more for something good, then pay less for something not on the level of current tech...if you want budget, then i suggest you get yourself a VIA board with presoldered proc...:laugh:
     
  24. (FIH) The Don

    (FIH) The Don

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,823 (3.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,910
    Location:
    Viking Land
    VIA is not budget..... get one of the first atom boards used, or an old P4:wtf:
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  25. HalfAHertz

    HalfAHertz

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    383
    Location:
    Singapore
    I thought that by "kill them off" you meant stop producing them :eek: my bad
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page