1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Announces the Radeon R9 295X2 Graphics Card

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Apr 8, 2014.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,381 (11.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,608
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    AMD announced its flagship graphics card for this generation, the dual-GPU Radeon R9 295X2. Based on a pair of fully-loaded "Hawaii" GPUs, the same ones that drive the R9 290X, the card features a premium built with an air+liquid hybrid cooling solution. Each of the card's two chips feature 2,816 GCN2 stream processors, 176 TMUs, 64 ROPs, and 512-bit wide GDDR5 memory interfaces, holding 4 GB of memory. The total memory amount on the card is hence 8 GB. It uses a PLX PEX8747 PCIe gen 3.0 x48 bridge chip to marshal data between the two GPUs, and the rest of the system. The best part, it draws power from just two 8-pin PCIe power connectors. AMD is asking US $1,499 for the R9 295X2, which is half that of NVIDIA's upcoming GeForce GTX TITAN-Z. It should be available for purchase on April 21.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
  2. Chaitanya

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    389 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    Pune
    I won't be surprise if crypto-coin miner buy tons of these new cards. Sadly AMD won't be getting any share of profit in case the prices of these cards skyrocket like the did in case of R9-290/x. Neither gamers will benefit out of that situation.

    Edit: I think the radiator might be a touch too thin for cooling those monster GPUs. I have a R9-290 in my office that we use for OpenCL programming and that card runs too hot even with an AC.
  3. Kalroth

    Kalroth

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    7 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    The GPU scrypt mining scene is nearly dead, and the ROI of this card is so low (if any) that most miners will avoid it. If the price on this card is jacked up, it won't be because of demand.
  4. Patriot

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Do we need press releases for all of the different reference cards?
  5. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,712 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,309
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    yep, since different brand you cant put all into one page even the products are the same
    btw i would like to see it in full water cooled or full air cooled with triple slot maybe
  6. Patriot

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    Why not...
  7. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,712 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,309
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    i guess for brand, they would like has own space for displaying their product.
    in other words it will help the brand to promote their product.
    so every new stuff launched we gonna have many press release from various brands
  8. dados8756 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    19 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    someone help me answer this... its okay for monsterous gpu card only have 2 caps on pcb @_@" ?
  9. Patriot

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    164 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    It has a lot more than 2. Not all capacitors are shaped the same way.

    [​IMG]
    dados8756 and xvi say thanks.
  10. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,947 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,073
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I don't need it, but I NEED it. You know?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,101 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    804
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Does this card allow me to kill somebody in BF4 even before they spawn?
  12. night.fox

    night.fox

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    812 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    387
    Location:
    south korea
    seriously?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. xvi

    xvi

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,947 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,073
    Location:
    Washington, US
    I thought that was how you play the game.
    Loadout with machine gun, spawn on contested flag. Are you alive? If yes, hold left mouse, flail wildly.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. nem

    nem

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    44 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    Cyberdyne CPU Sky Net
    almost all capacitor used in the graphics card are ceramic capacitors so the electrolitics and solids capacitors each time they are less used in graphics card high end
  15. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,101 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    804
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    I don't see why would somebody need a $1500 card? FirePro or profressional grade is understandable.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page