1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD APU with 1600mhz or 1866mhz?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by camoxiong, Jul 9, 2012.

  1. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Which well be better with an AMD APU CPU and what is the differences between those 2 RAM Speed with the APU?
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Memory speed makes little difference for most software, so there is not much difference in the grand scheme of things. Amount of memory is generally more important then it's speed or timings.
  3. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    I mean the AMD APU, will it make any differences with the APU with the 1866mhz ram?
  4. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    The AMD A4 APU's support up to 1600mhz (but it will still boot with 1866mhz memory, just running at 1600mhz, but that makes little difference as mentioned) the A6 and A8 line of APUs support 1866mhz natively meaning it should boot at those speeds.

    http://www.amd.com/us/products/desk...s/Pages/a-series-model-number-comparison.aspx

    Everything should work fine.
  5. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    992 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2012
    INSTG8R says thanks.
  6. DarkOCean

    DarkOCean

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,615 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    349
    Location:
    on top of that big mountain on mars(Romania)
    Last edited: Jul 9, 2012
  7. devguy

    devguy

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2007
    Messages:
    1,239 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    171
    Location:
    SoCal
    If you're using the APU graphics and not a dedicated graphics card, and you are wanting to do things using the GPU (like games and stuff), then faster memory is worth it.

    For CPU benchmarks, you'd be unlikely to see much of a difference at all between ddr3 1066 and ddr3 1866.
    radusorin says thanks.
  8. seronx

    seronx

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    992 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    USA, Arizona, Maricopa
    It depends on the application.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Most of the time for the CPU it isn't the RAM speed that is lowering performance but the HDD speed.

    HDD -> RAM

    HDD latency -> ~10 ms to ~20 ms (10,000 ns)
    RAM Latency -> ~4 ns to ~6 ns
    Slowest SSD -> ~0.5 ms (Most ssds you can get now are in the ~0.01x range which is about ~1x ns)

    If the memory benchmark has to read the HDD/SSD first those devices are going to be a bottleneck and make the RAM speeds with different cas latencies perform the same regardless.
  9. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Well, I want a a8 3780k with a r6770 in dual graphics mode. What well be better 1866mhz or 1600mhz?
  10. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Neither... or either....


    there will be no difference.
  11. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    WRONG
    the APU relies heavily on memory bandwidth for graphics the faster/tighter timings the better
  12. HossHuge

    HossHuge

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,024 (0.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    EDM, AB, CAN
    I hope you mean a HD 6670 cause you can't run a hd 6770 in dual mode with an apu.
    CaptainFailcon says thanks.
  13. CaptainFailcon New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2012
    Messages:
    194 (0.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    41
    a single 6770 will be faster
  14. Zen_

    Zen_

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    493 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    112
    Everything I've read indicates that there is a tangible benefit using faster memory. Even on my A4-3400 with the gimped graphics, there is a noticeable improvement running 1600 MHz memory @ 1866 with looser timings.

    I would caution you away from trying an APU + add in card though. The A-series APU's are an awesome value if the integrated graphics are enough, but add in cards sorta defeat the value. Unless the system listed in your profile is sold or not working, just buying a 5770 or GTX 460 for under $90 will be a lot faster than an A8-3870k + 6670 in the hybrid crossfire mode, without the usual scaling limitations and quirks of crossfire.
    camoxiong says thanks.
  15. baggpipes

    baggpipes New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    45
    he right dont get that 6770 for that setup get the 6670... But i would do this, get a 6850 or 7770 for ur comp now... then upgrade ur cpu when piledriver hits... and skip APUs...
    Last edited: Jul 10, 2012
  16. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Oh shoot, I forgot, I mean the 6670. My bad. I was tired and I typed the wrong card.
  17. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,165 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    The faster the memory the more the iGPU on the APU will benefit from it, but only to a point with certain games.

    I think you were looking for this.
  18. pantherx12

    pantherx12 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,714 (4.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,699
    Location:
    ENGLAND-LAND-LAND
    The faster the memory the better.

    You'll need fast ram whilst playing games since your video memory will be there as well as usual memory etc.
  19. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    ok, now i get it. because Anquinus link the comparison chart
    Aquinus says thanks.
  20. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    it doesn't matter since hes not using the APU.
  21. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,165 (6.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,022
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    He asked a question, it doesn't mean he needs the hardware for us to answer it. :slap:
  22. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    655 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Fresno, CA
    Yeah, because my next build is an apu build on a budget

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page