1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Athlon 2 X2 vs X3

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by saadzaman126, Mar 11, 2011.

  1. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Hey Guys,

    My build looks like:

    PowerColor HD 4830 512 mb
    G-skills 4gb of gddr3 1333 Ram
    AMD Athlon 2 X3 445 3.1 Ghz
    ASUS M4A78LT-M LE MOBO

    I just wanted to know for medium level gaming, SC2 and some other games along with just regular word processing and internet surfing is it worth while to get X3 i won't be OC'ing and I'm just curious whether the third core will make a difference? And how hard is it to unlock the 4th core?

    Thanks
     
  2. streetfighter 2

    streetfighter 2 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,658 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    732
    Location:
    Philly
    You might want to consider consolidating your threads a little bit. :roll:

    The benefit of going from 2 to 3 cores is probably not that noticeable with regard to daily use for an average user. I say this because not all programs will actually utilize the extra core. On the other hand some applications and newer games take full advantange of the extra core and the difference could be quite substantial.

    tl;dr- Word processing and web browsing shouldn't be particularly consuming for a modern day CPU so the difference between 2 or 3 cores should be unsubstantial; Games could be a different story...

    Unlocking depends on the motherboard but it usually involves nothing more than setting the "ACC" feature to "automatic", or something quite similar.

    EDIT: It appears that the ASUS M4A78LT-M LE supports ACC (Advanced Clock Calibration). Here's a nice guide to unlocking cores.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2011
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  3. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    id stay with the x2 and put whatever money you save into a better video card


    edit: hooray 2000th post
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  4. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    i was gonna upgrade the vid card later after playing sc2 for a while. whereas processor i dont wanna upgrade for a while unless absolutely necessary. I do do photoshop and programming occassionality and on average have like 20 tabs open on google chrome

    will the 2x vs 3x effect movies and whether they lag or not when i play them?
     
  5. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,222 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,525
    without OCing or a better CPU, a faster card isnt worth it.


    get the x3, learn to overclock.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  6. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    blah blah im hungover and tired and cant think right now. For a new build, the 4xxx series is last last gen. Why buy old now when you said it yourself your gonna upgrade in a short while anyway.

    But processor wise, i went from an e8400 (Dual core) to the q9550(quad) and havent noticed much if any improvement.

    Didnt even think of that, how slow is the athlon 2 if its maxed out by a 4830
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2011
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,222 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,525
    movies have almost nothing to do with a video card. a mere radeon 4200 can handle 1080P video playback through DXVA, and the skys the limit if you're using the CPU to render it.

    CPU is usually key with movie playback, but any modern dual core can handle 1080p so long as you use modern codecs.

    as to your edit: athlon II's are phenom II's with low clocks and no L3 cache. they're decent OCers, which is where you get the price/performance out of them.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  8. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    yah but the x3 does have l3 cache and it has 3.1 ghz
     
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,222 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,525
    i'll look up its specs


    edit: no, it does not have L3 cache. only 1.5MB of L2
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  10. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  11. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    ok how about transfer rates? cause im always trasnferring movies to my xbox or large projects onto usbs? is any of that processor based?
     
  12. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,222 (11.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,525
    no. hard drive.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  13. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    this might sound like the newbest question ever but I was just wondering if a 3.1 to 3.2 ghz would change anything? It's only like a 2-4 dollar price difference between the x3 445 and x3 450
     
  14. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    987 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    wont notice,, but for the peace of mind go with it :)
    ,, whats your monitor resolution?
    _______________________
    [​IMG]
    antec1200 filter mod | 4x4 Best off road games
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  15. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,610 (3.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,229
    My x3 445 unlock both cores and level 3 cache. :)
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  17. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    ya but the odds of getting a chip with the L3 unlockable arent something id bet $70 on. From what ive read, most dont have it.
     
    saadzaman126 and Dogshitjoint say thanks.
  18. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  19. Dogshitjoint

    Dogshitjoint New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    170 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    @/In a place where you aint ;) :)
    I were one of those that were unlucky on unlocking...:ohwell:

    So I jumped on teh speedwagon & got me a nicely recommended 965BE & I don´t l00k back It´s soooo fast:rockout:

    @TS I dont rec. ya teh x3 go x4 instead with L3 cache u won´t regret it, but hey its´s your cash/decision:cool:

    //Dog
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    12,437 (4.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,469
    Get an AMD Phenom 2 X4 or AMD Athlon 2 X4 and a Radeom 5850, 4 Gigs of Ram, Windows 7 (Not Home Editions) a SSD and a HD,
    790FX Motherboard, Sound card optional and a cool case
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  21. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    If you can unlock the 4th core on an X3 is it a permanent solution? or like is it very unstable and you can only do it for a short amount of time like overclocking. I ask this because I'm going away to school in September so if o do unlock the core and leave it will it crash on my parents while I'm gone?

    Also the 790FX chipsets on a mobo, what does the chipsets do?
    And what's an SSD? -_- (retard question, I know)
     
  22. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,150 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    912
    Yes you can possibly unlock the 4th core on the X3, cache or both. But it's not 100% guaranteed. I wouldn't buy any processor just for that reason alone.

    There is no guarantee that a unlocked core on the X2 or X3 will work to a level that's stable.

    If it's unstable the chances are the computer will lock up or render you a blue screen of death or some other nasty, but not all unstable CPUs behave the same, some will happily run for hours without issue but will suddenly crash, you might play Crysis for 10hrs without issue but crash within 2mins of Battlefield Bad Company 2, unstable CPUs are really unpredictable which is why you have to torture test it in Prime95 to make sure its stable just like with an overclock. You can attempt to put some extra voltage through it to stabilise it, if that doesn’t work you'll probably have to turn the unlock off via the bios.

    The chances are that your parents browsing the internet or using Microsoft Office or something else that’s mundane is unlikely to be enough to expose an unstable processor.

    I'm not going to go into what a chipset does, you can do a Google search that will explain it better than anyone here. 790FX is a good chipset, but its getting old and its pretty expensive, I would look at the 880G/GX or 890GX/FX.

    SSD is a solid state hard drive. It's basically a hard drive with no moving parts. One advantage is that there is no noise and another is better access time. But they're expensive and aren't going to improve performance enough to justify the price if all you're doing is medium gaming, word processing and browsing the web.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2011
  23. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,081 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    759
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    how? more cores isnt faster in this case. the 445 doesnt have L3.
     
    saadzaman126 says thanks.
  24. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    I went from a x2 250 to a x3 445. I noticed a pretty good increase in gaming. There is an upside to adding cores. Im running a bit of a stronger gfx than you are at the moment.
     
  25. saadzaman126

    saadzaman126 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    415 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Funny you mention that, those are the two im deciding between, the X2 250 and X3 450.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page