1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Athlon 64 or Intel Pentium 4 ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by forest, May 18, 2005.

  1. forest New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    IM building a new PC and am not sure which to chose form. Intel or AMD. I like the Amd athlon 64 after reading tons of reviews about it but am still not sure which way to go. Curently i have an older intell chip and am looking to upgrade. Any suggestions would be great please
    I am looking at an Athlon 64 socket 939 3200+ (Is this a good choice or not ?)
    Any help would be greatly appricited !!! :)
     
    Last edited: May 18, 2005
  2. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    I would choose a processor that fits your buget and needs.
    So P4's are good for oc'ing, and all other multimedia stuff in the range your talking about such as 3ghz - 3.4ghz, however the athlon 64 is good at gaming performance but not much else so if you encode a lot of music then p4 for you. Remember the that processor you choose will not not have a great advantage over the other. So if you are strapped for money work out which would be cheaper, as once you choose which one you go with you are not going to be able to make much changes to it. For instance the athlons currently use ddr ram. But in the next few years the ddr3 motherboards will come out by then the socket will probably be different, but you could carry over what parts you already have such as agp graphics card, ddr ram and so on. Look at my spec and you will see that I plan to upgrade in the next 1~2 years. But for now I don't really need that much of a overhaul.
     
  3. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    0o we have had this in this forum only 1 week ago.
    but the end was that both are fast but amd is cooler and for future plans is amd better cause of upgrade ability from the socket 939 to x2 cpus or something
     
  4. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Are the X2 available yet?
    What is there temps in comparision to the amd64?
     
  5. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    981 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    I think it would be good to get opinions from someone with an Athlon64 as well... :D It is true that most AMD users swear by their CPU's, but I'll try to be very objective about it. It's true that it depends on what you're going to use your pc for? If you're only going to play games then I'd definitely recommend the Athlon64. However, the Athlons are not that much worse than the Pentiums in terms of other performance issues. I agree that Pentium is faster with things like Video and Music encoding... And due to its HyperThreading it is faster in business type apps that supports it. But you have to ask yourself what do you do most? I mean, I encode music and video as well, but not NEARLY as much as I play games for instance. And true, you'll have to make a choice and stick to it for at least a year or two because the motherboards differ, although you get normal Intel motherboards with 'normal' DDR RAM... ;) My sister has an Intel Pentium4 3GHz so I can compare between mine and hers so I know what I'm talking about. Athlon for games. Pentium for music/video encoding. Choice is yours... :D
     
  6. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    x2 will be there in summer or spring i said "future"
    and the amd 3200+ with artic cooler 64 goes to 35-34 deegre in cpu burn in
    while a 3.2 gig intel goes to 50-60 and

    The amd is better in ocing but :D i would only say when you update today buy an amd having fun ehilr updating in a few years
     
  7. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    981 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    But I've also read that once AMD go DDR3 or DDR2, they'll have to change socket structure because of the increase in pins from memory... So don't expect that 939 will stay forever! But it'll support the X2's when they become available and they're still as hot as a normal FX53 or something similar. (Not nearly as hot as Intel D)
     
  8. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    :D socket 1024 will come yep and intel will release also one new
    but the x2 will be better as far the games will get
    for ex: far cry producer are talking about one cpu rendering normal graphic and one rendering complex physical things
     
  9. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    sry
    and amd is living trough low latencys so ddr2 wouldnt be good atm
     
  10. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    I did manage to get a 775 lga Pentium 4 3.4ghz 500 series to 4ghz on a asus star ice, trust me cooler is good even with a uneven surface area strange.
    And the temps are 34 - 50, idle - load. So I don't know where all this crap about bad temps comes from since this was in the case with a temp of 28. Oh and it was stable btw.
    Then I went on to whip all the benchmarks in sisoft sr1.
    Right now that machine is being fitted with water cooling the TT aquarius 3.
     
  11. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    look at my :D and the other great results from amd and watch tomshardware.de for cpu rating sry but in this case intel isnt better
     
  12. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
  13. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    If you have lots of money you can be all flash ( and sad) and buy a EE that would make everyone around you jealous. Hehe
     
  14. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    981 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    Just think about it though... If the Intels beat AMD in 3DMark05 all it gives you is the ability to brag about it. But when real gaming performance comes into play the Athlons beat Pentium.
     
  15. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Its hard though because to compare considering the motherboards also play a big part of your system and the 955 set is what you would want but they are quite expensive, and right now the amd motherbaords are sort of in denial since do you go for the gimmick that is sli or do you go agp?
     
  16. zAAm

    zAAm

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2005
    Messages:
    981 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    South Africa
    I agree that the motherboard situation is really tricky these days... :confused: I don't want to switch to PCI-Express because I'll have to get a new graphics card, but that doesn't make a difference on the CPU performance. I also think that they play a part in overall system performance, but if AMD's motherboards are better than Intels (although they're probably not :D ) I don't think it would warrant the difference in gaming performance regardless because it would only suggest that AMD has a more adaptable or solid or sumthin architecture?? Since VIA and alot of other chipset makers make chipsets for AMD and Intel and I don't think they would skimp and make a worse Intel chipset??? ;) But I think it's all based on personal preference. I like AMD, you like Intel. That's it. Not one of us is going to pursuade the other so... :rolleyes:
     
  17. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    LOL, I was going to build a AMD system recently but scrapped it due to that the situation of the motherboards in keeping with a budget that make the machine better for gaming just so I could see the difference for myself.
     
  18. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    MSI seem to be the only ones doing a nforce 4 for P4 right now, about time that nvidia brought their gear to pentium, especially since pcie was intel technogoly, i think, and they went on about SLI which wasn't available to either cpu's.
     
  19. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    doh again asus has there nforce 4 mobo intel rdy and an sli aswell but k
     
  20. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    and we arent talking over ee things we are talking over an 3200 or an 3.2 intel but in this case a new system amd is better 3200+ venice beats intel and the mainboard i would refer an abit fatality
     
  21. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    You can buy a 3.4f for the similar price of a 3200, £150~, not happy that oem seems to have dissappeared as an option. I never use the offical heatsinks cause I know they will suck.
     
  22. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    :D i bet wit you that my sys a 3200+ performs better than a oced 3.4
    and what are you talking?


    Pentium® 4 Processor 530J
    Boxed, FC-LGA4, "Prescott"3000 MHz1024 kByte800 MHz (Quadpumped)Sockel 775

    € 179,-Pentium® 4 Processor 540
    FC-LGA4, "Prescott"3200 MHz1024 kByte800 MHz (Quadpumped)Sockel 775

    € 214,-Pentium® 4 Processor 540J
    Boxed, FC-LGA4, "Prescott"3200 MHz1024 kByte800 MHz (Quadpumped)Sockel 775

    € 219,-Pentium® 4 Processor 550
    FC-LGA4, "Prescott"3400 MHz1024 kByte800 MHz (Quadpumped)Sockel 775

    € 269,-Pentium® 4 Processor 550
    Boxed, FC-LGA4, "Prescott"3400 MHz1024 kByte800 MHz (Quadpumped)




    and amd site

    Athlon 64 3000+
    OPGA, "Venice"1800 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 129,-Athlon 64 3000+
    Boxed, OPGA, "Venice"1800 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 147,-Athlon 64 3000+
    OPGA, "Winchester"1800 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 119,-Athlon 64 3000+
    Boxed, OPGA, "Winchester"1800 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 144,-Athlon 64 3200+
    OPGA, "Winchester"2000 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 174,-Athlon 64 3200+
    Boxed, OPGA, "Winchester"2000 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 189,-Athlon 64 3200+
    OPGA, "Venice"2000 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 184,-Athlon 64 3200+
    Boxed, OPGA, "Venice"2000 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 194,-Athlon 64 3500+
    Boxed, OPGA, "Winchester"2200 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 274,-Athlon 64 3500+
    Boxed, OPGA, "Newcastle"2200 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 264,-Athlon 64 3500+
    OPGA, "Venice"2200 MHz512 kByte1000 MHz (HyperTransport)Sockel 939

    € 249,-Athlon 64 3500+
    Boxed, OPGA, "Venice"2200 MHz512 kByte




    u get a 3500+ venice for an 3.4
    or would you tell to go on a 478 system?? lmao
     
  23. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice 90nm (Socket 939) - Retail (ADA3200BPBOX) (CP-118-AM) £146.82 Including VAT at 17.5%

    Intel Pentium 4 "LGA775 64-Bit Prescott" 3.4F (800FSB) with HT Technology - Retail (CP-077-IN) £164.44 Including VAT at 17.5%

    Intel Pentium 4 540J "LGA775 Prescott" 3.2GHz (800FSB) with HT Technology - Retail (CP-058-IN) £149.81 Including VAT at 17.5%
    see the price gap isn't that big, might as well go the f model.


    Oh and don't mock the 478 system, I reahced 3.5ghz with no problems except the noise of the fan. And it was enable to beat its older brothers including the 3.6ghz P4, I don't have any other results but those included in sisoft.
     
  24. gR3iF

    gR3iF New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2005
    Messages:
    1,807 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    Hamburg
    :D i htik the question is answered well but ltes say amd has better future options k?
     
  25. Morlak New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2005
    Messages:
    164 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Doint know about which one is better for oc'n ^^ but my P4 650 3.4Ghz overclocked to 4.09Ghz temps stay around 37-38c, not 50-60. See the pic below. Under load (benchmarks) temps only rise to 41-43. Intels do use a lot of power, over 100 Watts for this one. 600Mhz is not a bad OC in my book.

    Anyone even half-way serious (like me) about overclocking should at least water-cool their PC (CPU and GPU at least) and be done with it, no matter what kind of CPU they have. The Tt Big-Water Kit like I have is like $129 (US). Not expensive IMO for what it does.

    Everyone is hyped over the new dual-core CPUs, but software will have to be modified to take advantage of it. Intel already has their dual-core processor out, and so far Im not a big fan. I just built this PC several weeks ago, and what made the Intel my choice was support for DDR2 RAM. The DDR2 Ram is already out-performing the DDR type. My hope is I will upgrade the CPU and memory at least once in the next 4-5 years before I build yet another one. This time around, I built it completly from scratch. No parts from a previous system.

    I may be wrong but gameplay at least for me, seems outstanding. 6598 3DMarks at last count make for very nice high-detail gameplay at resolutions of 1280x1024 and above. I am currently using a ATI 9250 card while ViperJohn modifies my 850XT with a cold plate, fans, better heatsinks, and volt mods that should produce over 7k 3DMarks. Don't ask about the performance today lmao.

    AMD and NVidia have the highest performance in games with SLI support (9-12k 3DMarks). I have not seen a dual PCI-E board for intel yet, but Im sure someone (likely ASUS) will make one soon. Now to get to that 9-12k range will take quite a bit of room (Phase-Change Cooling), and who knows how much cash. see pic 2. My wife would never stand for that kind of setup lol. Considering what they have done to get that high score I dont feel bad, or disapointed with my scores at all.

    One nice bonus of getting AMD cpus used to be the cost, now AMD and Intel prices are very close.

    I have already had one pissing match here about this very subject, and Id rather not have another one with "my pc will beat yours blah blah" My sig has pictures of benchmarks so compare away all you want, and please lets not fight.
     

    Attached Files:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page