1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Athlon 64 x2 5000+ cooler

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by mihajloWR, Sep 24, 2012.

  1. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Hi. I have one question : I just bought amd athlon 64 x2 5000+ without cooler because in my PC there is amd sempron 3400+ with stock cooler. When I inserted new athlon, the speed of fan was at maximum and PC would restart after several minutes. After that I used hwinfo, looked at temperature of athlon and it was starting from 60°C till ~95°C and shutdown. Is that just a cooling problem or something else? Normal temperature at sempron is around 44°C.
    Motherboard is GIGABYTE M61PM-S2, CPU is sempron clocked at 2.41GHz and temperature is around 48°C.
     
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Did you replace the thermal paste after installing the new CPU? this could have caused your issue. I have used stock coolers even aluminum based on those types of CPU's with decent temp at stock.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    No,there was small amount of thermal paste on athlon, but I doubt that would cause that high temperature,or?
     
  4. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,582 (10.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,090
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    That is probably the main cause of your heat problems. I would stop using this machine until you have cleaned both the CPU and Heatsink and reapplied thermal paste. Old thermal paste drys up over time and will not work if reused.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Ok, but my sempron, which is in use right now and it is clocked at 2.41GHz, has temp. at 45°C and has just a little bit more thermal paste on it than athlon.
     
  6. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,202 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    45 is still hot for that CPU, and the temp is only measured at one point only. Apply the thermal paste properly, make sure you know what you are doing before messing with your quipment.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    wrong, temp is measured every few seconds. when it is not clocked temp is about 38°C, with small amount of thermal paste. thank U all for answering.
     
  8. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,202 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    Of course it is measured at every few seconds. What I meant is that it is measured at one point and not at various points on the cpu. Do you understand the word points?
     
    mihajloWR says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    What other points should I measure than?
     
  10. Chevalr1c

    Chevalr1c

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,202 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,383
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    No need to. Only keep in mind that that is the reason that the paste must be properly applied. At the point of measurement, the temp may be good but a different point may be to hot because of the lack of thermal paste. Hence our remark that leftover paste won't do the trick.

    So: just make sure how to correctly apply new thermal paste.

    Video:

     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 20, 2013
    mihajloWR says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,017
    you seriously need to know a few things before messing around with computers. even small seemingly unimportant details can mess up your system.

    get a cooler master htk-200 and use it properly to the heatsink.

    dont use the thermal paste that is used for common electronics.



    and if you still need something better, get a cooler master hyper tx3
     
    mihajloWR says thanks.
  12. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i will have stock cooler for tht athlon in a few days, and buy therml paste and than post here results. thanks for advices all.
     
    de.das.dude and brandonwh64 say thanks.
  13. hat

    hat Maximum Overclocker

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    16,920 (5.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,064
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah, you have to clean any re-apply thermal paste any time you remove the cooler for any reason. It doesn't matter if the old paste is still there. It's a one time fit, once you put paste on the CPU and put the cooler down on it you're done. Even if you take the cooler off to check the spread immediately after putting it down the first time, never powering the system on, and put it back down again, even the new paste you just applied will be messed up because by doing that you introduce lots of air pockets between the cpu and heatsink surface. Reusing old paste that's been there for who knows how long is much worse.

    So, tl;dr always clean up the old paste and reapply new paste any time you take the cooler off for any reason. Swapping chips, changing the cooler, whatever.
     
    mihajloWR says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    ok, new cooler, new thermal paste and still got the issue. but this time after few minutes it just start to rise temperature til 105°C and shutdown :(. When i put back sempron together with the new cooler, temp are not over 45°C
     
  15. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,652 (4.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,017
    did you remove the sticker from the base of the heatsink?

    also did you clean the previous paste off with a piece of cloth?

    are you sure you are mounting it properly?

    a couple of pictures of what you have done will help.
     
  16. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    i have managed to solve it,well,part of it..
    1.no,i cant take any pictures, i am sorry :(
    2.if you mean by the sticker the rounded sticker at the top of the cooler,no,i have not removed it,should I?
    3.yes, I cleaned it and added new paste
    4.temp are cool (till 50°C) but when i load CPU it goes up to 70°C and i stopped here ( tried flash game on facebook -.-" )
    5.I updated my BIOS version from f2 to f8
    6. this is my mobo : GIGABYTE GA-M61PM-S2
    7.how to unlock vcore to reduce it? it is on 1.344 V
     
  17. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    wrong..still getting high temperatures..it loads one core to almost 100% a the other one nearly 10-20%, so i guess that could be the problem maybe??:banghead:
     
  18. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Welcome to TPU.

    When he asks "Have you removed the sticker?"; he means that many heatsink manufacturers place a sticker on the bottom, or CPU contact area of the heatsink. (I've made this mistake before)

    Every time you remove the heatsink, you must replace the thermal paste. Cleaning the CPU and heatsink with 90% rubbing alcohol works great.

    When you reseat the heatsink, make sure you don't accidentally remove it from the CPU, as this may cause problems the the TIM (thermal paste). Make sure the heatsink is properly seated, and the locking cam is closed so it seats firmly on the CPU. Also ensure the fan connector is properly plugged into the CPU_Fan connector on the motherboard.
     
  19. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    no,there is no sticker at the bottom.
    the cooler stays firmly, it is the same cooler (new stock cooler for amd athlon x2 64 5000+ ) I used on sempron 3400+ and it cools him well, but not athlon..
     
  20. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,781 (3.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,338
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    does the heatsink sit right? maybe its a little bit loose and check your fan too
     
  21. DannibusX

    DannibusX

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,527 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    979
    Location:
    United States
    Oh, well the issue may be that the Athlon is too hot for the Sempron heatsink.

    Where are you located?
     
  22. Raw

    Raw

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    454 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Vodka

    Or maybe some of that 100 proof Vodka I am smelling would work...lol
     
    DannibusX says thanks.
  23. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    no vodka :)
    the cooler is original for athlon..i am hearing noise from CPU, like it is working something, like when loaded but only firefox is turned on. I am from Croatia.
     
  24. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    4,952 (2.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,988
    Location:
    Oregon
    What cooler are you using. In fact list all your specs in the UserCP please.

    Yep you cant use a Sempron heatsink on an athlon 64
     
  25. mihajloWR New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2012
    Messages:
    21 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    is hwinfo good for that?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page