1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD budget build - need advice

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by flightsimmer007, Jan 20, 2010.

  1. flightsimmer007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Used mainly for FS2004, don't have the cake nor the need for a rig that runs FSX. Private Pilot working towards instrument certification, mainly used for instrument training. Runs 25-30FPS on my POS Inspiron 710m laptop with all settings minimized, looking for a bit of a step up.

    Have: XPpro 32bit, cd, cheapo monitor, will be run @ 1280x1024
    No idea on the vid card, have spent hours trying to figure that out. I'd like to keep it <600USD.

    Thoughts & ideas?:

    HD - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822136074
    MB - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128392
    VID - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150351
    MEM - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820231150
    CPU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103680
    CASE/PSU - http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboDealDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.315680

    maybe OC in the future when I figure it out

    Thanks
     
  2. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (4.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,616
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    I'm not very knowledgable on AMD builds, but I can take a moment to welcome you to TPU :toast:
     
  3. codyjansen

    codyjansen

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    321 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    i would get a caviar black drive
     
  4. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Flight Simulator '04 is not a very demanding game, that 4850 and AMD Phenom II should be able to handle it with ease. I would personally throw in two more gigs of RAM and maybe switch out that PSU. But as i can see, its a combo deal and the reviews are pretty good, so it may not be all that bad.

    Playing that game at 1280x1024 with that rig should go very smoothly.

    Agreed, haven't built an AMD system since Socket 939. Haven't looked at anything AMD since then.
     
  5. flightsimmer007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Wow!! That was quick, much appreciated!! I figured I was good, just needed a confirmation. i5 builds were a bit out of my range, and I really don't need anything spectacular.

    Thanks
     
  6. SL1DEmemphis

    SL1DEmemphis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    81 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    we have something in common. I am working on my PPL and am building a rig that will run FSX so I can work on Pilot-ATC procedure and instrument training also.
     
  7. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Location:
    Norway
    get a HD 5770 instead of 4850 ;)
     
  8. flightsimmer007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    @SL1DEmemphis: Nice!! Take your time getting your certifications, even if you had everything you needed today (if this is a career choice), the job outlook isn't that great, hopefully in a few years it should get better. Using the sim in general is fairly useless for PPL, eyes out the window for the most part. I've never played FSX, so I don't know how the ATC experience with it is. If you nail instrument procedures with the sim, less time ($$$) spent in the plane, you could save thousands. Of course no gaming rig can emulate the real deal, actual is much more fun, but if you're on a budget (me), its very helpful. Best of luck!
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2010
  9. flightsimmer007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    I've been comparing these two for the past week, I'm beyond confused. I've been on tons of forums, read about a billion reviews/articles, and still cannot reach a conclusion. Is there really that much of a difference? Is 128bit vs 256bit the dealbreaker? Would my CPU be a bottleneck? I picked the 4850 above mostly due to price/performance, but I'm easily swayed.

    for 5770 I was looking here:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161310
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150447
     
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Upon still owning an HIS card, I will state even though their RMA process can be a pain sometimes, it's a no questions asked process if you fill otu the paperwork correctly and have ability to fax paperwork.

    Someone else will have to chime in about XFX's RMA services.


    Also, I would like to say, switch out that 770 board for 785G or a 790(if you got the funds). Not that the 770 runs on teh hot side of things, it's stock cooling can be lacking sometimes making it seem hotter than most of the AMD chipsets, so if you're into overclocking I think a 785G would do you justice.

    Oh and look at the 720BE for $20 more for the extra thread, for longevity purposes.

    @wiak

    Even though I agree the 5770 is a nice card, the 4850 may serve him/her well enough for what the use is going to be for.
     
    flightsimmer007 says thanks.
  11. SL1DEmemphis

    SL1DEmemphis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2010
    Messages:
    81 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1

    yeah, it is a career choice. I'm in school for a couple more years, hopefully enough for the industry to pick back up. I have about 10 hours in the air in a C172, so I have quite a ways to go. I have to get my PPL, inst., and Commercial to graduate. going to be a long couple of years. lol.
     
  12. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Location:
    Norway
    HD 5770 is faster than 4850 and it has DirectX11, triple monitor support, HDMI Audio Bitsteaming, 40nm process, GDDR5 and so on read the tpu review :)

    http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/HD_5770
     
  13. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    I build mostly on AMD platforms and on budgets. I suggest...
    Go to a larger hard drive (save the hassel later)
    Upgrade that motherboard to a better chipset ( 785 or 790)
    Get the 720BE for the extra power down the road. It also is a simple overclocker.
    The 4850 will be more than enough to do what you need. Put the saved money twards the hard drive.
    Being you are going to run a 32bit OS 2GB is fine.
    The case and PSU will be ok. Might recommend a good PSU, the system is only as good as the power being provided.
    Something I came up with.
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2010
    flightsimmer007 says thanks.
  14. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    He's just trying to play Flight Simulator '04 at 1280x1024, a 4850 is literally more then enough.
     
  15. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,192 (5.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,979
    Location:
    Home
    Does he need 5770? It sounds to me that he doesnt bother with up to date games, in that case a 4770/4850 would suffice.
     
  16. flightsimmer007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
  17. blkhogan

    blkhogan New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,315 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    648
    Location:
    If I told u.. I'd have to kill u
    You will have a very nice mid to low end gamer. It will be a great improvment over your laptop. Plus you have a rig that is easly upgradable down the road. Enjoy :toast:
     
    flightsimmer007 says thanks.
  18. MKmods Case Mod Guru

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    5,697 (2.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,748
    Location:
    Nevada
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010
    flightsimmer007 says thanks.
  19. FuzzyDunlop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    sorry but imo you dont really need a 650w corsiar for that setup.
    500w brand psu would do fine too...

    im running e8400/4gb/2x 160gb hdd/ hd4850 setup with 400w psu almost 2 years without problems.
     
    flightsimmer007 says thanks.
  20. flightsimmer007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    I've been spending way too much time on this, it's driving me nuts trying to figure it all out. Decided to ditch AMD for i5-750. For the price and possibly better performance, AMD doesn't seem to stack up. Yes/no?

    Extreme budget i5 build:
    ps - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16817139004
    mem - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16820231134
    vid - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16814150323
    case - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16811129066
    cpu - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16819115215
    mb - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16813128401
    hd - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16822136075

    Will I have any issues with that gfx card and the mb? Or any other issues for that matter?
     
  21. FuzzyDunlop New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    23 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    maybe drop that i5 for i3 (2 core)? and save some cash for extra 2gb ram+ better gfx. im not sure if FS gains something from 4 cores... ask around in fs forum.
     
  22. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814102824 Little bit cheaper and on par performance to what you chose.

    Regarding cases, get with our very own moderator, sneekypeet. He is a case reviewer and all his cases he sells are either brand new or near mint.

    Also if you hate waiting for rebates: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817702010

    You made a good choice on power supply though.

    Oh and i3 530 isn't much slower in performance compared to i5 750 so you can look at that option also, which would potentially open you up for possible upgrades later on if needed.
     
    flightsimmer007 says thanks.
  23. flightsimmer007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    CT
    Thanks for the links, I'll check them out. Yeah...serious case of A.D.D. here, just one question:

    Will I have any compatibility issues going with this board and gfx card?

    GA-MA790XT-UD4P - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128378

    EVGA 9800 GTX - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814130339

    In all this research (could be wrong here) i've done, it seems that amd builds don't play nice with nvidia, but it seems that this particular flight sim runs better on nvidia...any thoughts?
     
  24. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    The card will work fine on that board.(or any board that has a PCI-E slot for that matter)
     
    flightsimmer007 says thanks.
  25. BraveSoul

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    988 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    164
    only when u get 2 nvidia cards on motherboard with amd chipset, otherwise u r good to go,,
    GeForce 9800 GT is a good card
     
    flightsimmer007 says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page