1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Bulldozer - My Future Setup!

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Super XP, Aug 29, 2010.

  1. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    This is what I am thinking about building for my future Bulldozer based gaming PC.

     
  2. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,825 (1.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    cool?... being that some of those parts aren't released can't really commit on how good it will be. it at least looks very nice.
     
  3. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Hmm fair enough you didn't ditch that 932, after all you've done to it! ;) You got me worried for a moment till I read the post!
     
  4. mdsx1950

    mdsx1950 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    2,107 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    413
    Location:
    In a gaming world :D
    Nice! My only future upgrades going to be 4x HD6870s or 2x6970s :D
     
  5. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Jeez and I'm still fighting to replace that old g92 card I'm using! :banghead: Well tbh, its gonna be hard upgrading since I don't game anymore and if thats so, its old games like total war, company of heroes etc. Maybe crysis 2 will be a nice excuse!
     
  6. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    :laugh: My HAF-932 hasent had enough gaming hours, I'll make sure Bulldozer takes care of that :D
    Not even a little dabble with Left 4 Dead 2 or something :eek:
     
  7. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Why not go with a tad bigger SSD (maybe 60 to 100GB) and the new H70 to cool that beast? Also, I like what you have going there but would like the WD 640 Blacks in raid and a 2tb Green for backup. Just suggestions. Looks like a beast though. Makes me want it :roll:
     
  8. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,926 (2.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    looks like a solid setup. I just question the H-50...
     
  9. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    In terms of whether it's going to be compatable with Bulldozer or not?
    Bulldozer should run cooler than our current Phenom II's from looking at AMD's slides.
     
  10. DanTheMan

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    210 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    46
    Location:
    Houston,TX
    Sounds like a very nice setup Super XP but a rig like that deserves to be hooked up to a 55" LED TV - not a 24" monitor
     
  11. ERazer

    ERazer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2009
    Messages:
    1,543 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    492
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    loving the build! 750tx still ftw :toast:
     
  12. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,434 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    Looks like Bulldozer's going to be a repeat of Thuban...
     
  13. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    And once Bulldozer wipes out Sandy what will you say then :cool:
     
  14. bpgt64

    bpgt64

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2008
    Messages:
    1,434 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    193
    Location:
    ATL, GA
    I'd reserve judgement untill they refresh there performance lineup. Which there not supposed to be doing untill the end of 2011.
     
    wolf says thanks.
  15. slyfox2151

    slyfox2151

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,606 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    i would swap those 2 250GB wd drives for more dense drives... say the 1platter 500/667 drives.


    Samsung 500GB F3 for example.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
  16. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,541 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    938
    You might want to look deeper into the bulldozer architecture before assuming it will match sandybridge where relevant to you. It's heavily oriented for business markets because that's where the real money is and that's where they've been clobbered by intel. Prioritizing multi-threading over single, which will negatively affect most games.

    http://www.realworldtech.com/page.cfm?ArticleID=RWT082610181333&p=1
     
  17. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,542 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    exactly, massive +1.

    All this talking up products before theyre realesed reminds me of sports fans arguing about who is going to win before the match, completely and utterly useless, nobody can possibly win the argument.

    It would be nice if people could just wait until all the cards are on the table to comment, instead of saying things like "...once Bulldozer wipes out Sandy..." (just an example nt300, there are hunderds of these lately)

    I've been noticing more and more of this lately, above all Sandry Bridge vs Bulldozer, and Nvidia not being able to do a thing about ATI's 6000 series.

    Honestly I expected more from some of our members.

    back on track... Nice possible build Super XP :toast:
     
  18. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.51/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Havent you read the details? multithreading gets a nice boost of performance and with AMDs turbo mode they should get even more performance in single thread apps and games.
     
  19. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    There's talk that the HD 6800 series is going to be super fast, perhaps only one will do for my future setup unless Northern Islands gets released that is :toast:
     
  20. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    We did not compromise single threaded performance to achieve better multithreaded performance.
     
  21. cheezburger

    cheezburger New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2010
    Messages:
    265 (0.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    unless they can increase their l1D and put L1I back in the core or they'll never able to beat nehalem...bigger cache means better performance. it doesn't matter if the die size will increase to 400mm^2. as long as it's high end market demand. go for it. who f*** cares about mainstream user anyway?
     
  22. JF-AMD AMD Rep (Server)

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    163 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    229
    I wouldn't bet on that.
     
  23. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Pretty much every company in the world who actually wants to sell stuff cares.
     
  24. assaulter_99

    assaulter_99

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,792 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    277
    Gotta disagree there.

    Exactly, companies usually target the sweet spot, cause its these chips that sell most. For example, intel's chips that outclass all other cpu's, the extremes especially, sell but don't sell loads like for example the middle range chips like the i5's and entry level i7's etc. Thats where the companies get more revenue. That is, if you have the brains to buy a decent chip and OC it! ;)
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  25. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,148 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    911
    If cache is so important then explain why the the Pentium D was dog slow compared to the Athlon X2 which had less cache.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page