1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

AMD Catalyst 10.12 Performance Analysis

Discussion in 'Reviews' started by W1zzard, Dec 18, 2010.

  1. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,075
    Nvidia doesn't have a built-in overclocking utility. You have to use a 3rd party overclocking utility. When using a 3rd party overclocking utility with ATi cards clocks can be adjusted until the card blows up.
     
    bear jesus says thanks.
  2. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,589 (10.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,092
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    I installed 10.12 and the new beta cat but i am going to uninstall and put 10.12 and old cats back cause that new CCC sucks IMO, there is less features
     
    Magikherbs says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well the main problem for me and my setup is that MSI afterburner and EVGA precision just don't work . I can not get them to work and well it maybe because I have windows 7 64 bit OS . nVidia cards third party software has always worked great but now that I have ATI and CCC it just seems to suck . I wished they would fix this for advanced users and get us a good over clocking tool that has all the bells and whistles we advanced users want and need .
     
  4. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,306 (2.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,189
    Try advanced view.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,075
    Is your card an ATi reference design? How does MSI Afterburner not work? It's definitely not a Windows 7 x64 issue. Don't bother using CCC if you want to clock past what it gives you. ATi caps the OC limit to obviously protect from people burning up their cards.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  6. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I have .
     
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I do not know they are XFX HD5770 cards both are the same . Well it locks my computer up and then I have to hard boot . Should I just install the drivers and not CCC then ?
     
  8. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,678 (13.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,075
    Go into CCC and reset everything to default. Untick Overdrive and manual fan control. Download the latest MSI Afterburner and install it. You will have to go into Afterburner.cfg and change "EnableATiUnofficialOverclocking" from 0 to 1. Start the program up and give it a go.
     
    trickson says thanks.
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Ok I will give this a try thank you .
     
  10. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Well that fucked my computer up really bad ! It locked up dumped my desktop and just fucked it all up now I do not know what to do I think I have to reinstall windows 7 now . It is just a mess now !
     
  11. Super XP

    Super XP

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,754 (0.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    538
    Location:
    Ancient Greece, Acropolis
    I don't agree, I like the new layout. This is a beta version so hopefully we will see a lot more settings to play with.
     
  12. dir_d

    dir_d

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    848 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Location:
    Manteca, Ca
    I think theres something wrong with your overclock, if you are sure its stable turn off c1e or anything else like it, it causes alot of problem with ATI cards.
     
  13. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,147 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    04578
    he might have to disable the ultra low power state in the registry im sure everyone here has forgotten that anyone who has it turned out will have MSI afterburner lock up when overclocking with dual cards from Ati
     
  14. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    Wow I guess I will just have to stick with what I have it aint much but at least I do not loos my desktop or files ! Man what a job getting it all back up and running !
     
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,147 (4.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,786
    Location:
    04578
    i know the feeling trickson afterburner didnt like my setup at all either after jumping through the hoops i actually flashed my cards to have no real oc limit and just used afterburner to up voltages worked wonders for me
     
  16. niko084

    niko084

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    7,636 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    729
    Definitely cool to see such an in depth comparison between driver versions.

    Although most results show such a small difference on most tests it could even be standard fluctuation. Some of course showing obvious gains.
     
  17. $ReaPeR$

    $ReaPeR$

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    143 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    Athens-Greece
    this review was a great idea Wizzard :) keep up the great work!
     
  18. Wshlist New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Location:
    EU
    Thumbs up for doing this test, it's amazing no others do this sort of thing much.
    And I was already curious what those 12a did for the HD69xx cards in practice but I could not find any info before this, and it's interesting it seem to do very little, not quite what I expected but very elucidating.

    Thanks for the testing.
     
  19. RejZoR

    RejZoR

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2004
    Messages:
    4,629 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    931
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Got awful image tearing in BioShock 2 with MLAA with or without V-Sync so i went back to Cat 10.10e. Also textures weren't as sharp as i wanted them even with all optimizations disabled.
    Though i was using many settings that were not meant to be seen in CCC.
    Will try again today to see how it works. Though it's strange that MLAA is causing tearing, considering it's used very late in the rendering pipeline so it shouldn't interfere with anything.
     
  20. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,797 (3.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    546
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    I too never thought or seen that drivers made that much difference. It seems to have done that here, though not by a huge margin. Nice to see some improvement.
     
  21. SolidEther

    SolidEther New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2010
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    10.12 and CCC2

    I use a Sapphire Radeon HD4870x2, and I have used it for about a year and a some odd months (since a short time after it was released.) The only time it ran odd- slightly unstable was when using catalyst drivers near launch. THe driver disc included with Sapphire cards usually have worthless premature drivers that may not function at all (like the Sapphire HD 2600 Pro 512 MB AGP, it has PCI-e drivers included I believe) The cards both work perfectly now that I have found the right drivers THe AGP HD2600 just uses the AGP Hotfix and it always works great.

    I used 10.9a since its release as a hotfix for the Dual GPU Cards HD4870x2,HD4850x2s and 5970 cards. It works beautifully, but I wanted to try 10.12 w/ the new CCC2 and it worked. The graphics weren't as smooth-they looked more aliased than the 10.9a's no matter what settings. I wanted the 10.12s to work I like CCC2. I want AMD to release an individual CCC2 download and I could uinstall it and the 10.9a driver and see if they mesh well. I will try 11.0 on release, but I think this 10.9a is perfect for gameplay. All games I play (All CODS) AVP, SC2, DAO and all DLCs, Spore, Chr. of Riddick-Assault on D.A. Far Cry 2, HAWX, DOOM3 and R.O.E., Sins of a Solar Empire. Only problem is the Overclock on 10.9a CCC won't downclock the memmory back to 2D sppeds. I have to use RivaTuner to O.C. 10.12 had a noticable framerate drop at times and and some stuttering. I run all options at highest detail w/ 4-8x AA and Quality Adaptive AA. on a 1920x1080 HD 16.9 LCD LG Flatron W2240T (same brand as in this techpower review test only smaller size) and my Rig is pretty juiced (see specs if you care) so I am pretty sure I can compare faults in the drivers, also I always clean install/ remove drivers with Driver Cleaner Pro and a cleaned registry.

    Drivers 10.12 and 10.9a, 10.8b Do stop the problem of Regular 3D speeds running on BOTH gpus during 3D mode and drops BOTH gpus to 2D mode after the game exits. One of the most annoying and frustrating issues with dusing proper drivers for Dual GPU cards. As it is PC Gamer says an HD4870x2 is the 5th Best card on thier HOTTEST HARDWARE thermometer page as of thier FEB 2011 issue. Drivers allow it to be that way without the right driver the card only runs one gpu in 3D in half of the games making it a bigger, hotter HD 4870. I've installed DX 11 already, when more Direct X 11 titles release and make more and more use of the fancy Tesselation and Morphological AA and other stuff I will get a 5970.
     
    Last edited: Jan 7, 2011

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page